Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Rajesh Patil
New member
New member

Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:14 am    Post subject: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

which OS is good for ArchiCAD 11? Windows Vista Home Premium or Windows Vista Business or Windows Vista Ultimate? do reply as i am in need of same. Currently using windows xp pro with archicad11. Smile
_________________
Rajesh Patil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

The following web page:

http://www.archicadwiki.com/Archicad_11#head-6a54b9d8b90ee79de0cdea13ec185c6de989f09b

says:

Window Vista® Business, Executive or Ultimate Edition is required for ArchiCAD 11.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Piotr Dobrowolski
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 511
Location: Krakow - Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:15 am    Post subject: Re: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

Rajesh Patil wrote:
which OS is good for ArchiCAD 11? Windows Vista Home Premium or Windows Vista Business or Windows Vista Ultimate? do reply as i am in need of same. Currently using windows xp pro with archicad11. Smile


I would not suggest any Vista to anyone including the worst enemy.
In Your shoes I would sitick to XP...

Best Regards,
Piotr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Matthew Lohden
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 6609
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:20 am    Post subject: Re: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

I am sticking with XP for the time being, as are most people I know. One of my clients got a laptop with Vista installed and had to replace it with XP due to various problems (I don't remember the details though). I would wait at least until service pack 2 (as I did with XP back in the day).
_________________
Matthew Lohden
Consultant, SF CA

MacPro 8core 32GB Radeon 5870
OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion, XP32, Win 7x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Danj
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 179
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:53 am    Post subject: Re: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

Vista is terrible.

I went back to XP and found archiCAd to run alot faster.

My issues with vista were problems with UAC and certain addons that stored data, and that the data I would put in was not being saved.
Drag and drop of mod files did not work at all, both ways.
I had terrible problems with dwg / dxf files not importing, xrefing, etc into archiCAD, archiCAD would crash.

stay with XP

_________________
| PC | Intel i7 4770k | 16gig DDR4-2400 | nVidia GTX 1080 | Windows 10 |
| AC8 - AC19 | AC20 5025 NZE FULL |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger   
Thomas Holm
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 2827
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

Danj wrote:
...I went back to XP and found archiCAd to run alot faster....

Don't hesitate for too long...
http://weblog.infoworld.com/save-xp/archives/2008/01/save_windows_xp.html

_________________
AC4.1-AC18 v6000SWE-OSX10.9.5-MBP11,3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Jen Phelan
Guest
Guest

Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:19 am    Post subject: Re: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

Will Windows Vista Service Pack 2 allow Vista Home Premium to run Archicad 11?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:16 am    Post subject: Re: Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? Reply with quote

I have Vista Home Premium Service Pack 1 (SP2 has not come out yet) and AC 11 runs fine on it.
I guess SP2 will not contain any dramatic change that will cause this to change.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> Which windows vista for ArchiCAD11? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy