Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Products >>> revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TMA_80
Active member
Active member

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 495
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:17 pm    Post subject: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

Hello everyone:

someone had to create this topic Wink

here are some links to see what's new in the conccurent products:

autocad 2010:
http://heidihewett.blogs.com/my_weblog/2009/02/autocad-2010-wow.html

(download the preview guide)

revit 2010:

http://bimboom.blogspot.com/

on thing is sure, they've done a good job...i'm sure GS will too.

In revit, the panneling tool feature seems intresting ...parametric rules

[edit] i've created this topic then deleted it but it seems always available trough google searching , so ..i repost it...
with a little update: have a look at the autodesk press release especially the video presentation ( the second one )....

_________________
AC12_20 |Win10_64bit|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
blobmeister
New member
New member

Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 36
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:33 am    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

WOW, i'm impressed. I really like the new freeform modeling tools. Since Autocad is always one release ahead of Revit, I assume Revit is getting subdivision surface modeling tools in the next release too.

This is great news Archicad. We are probably getting something similar this next release. After all, Archicad was the first with the advanced curtain wall tool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Peter Clark
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Mar 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: Wiltshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:43 am    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

Ha ha ha! Revit 2010 already!!!! Laughing We are barely into 2009! Why not call it 3010 or something really futuristic!

Anyway, I wouldn't form all your opinions from the reviews of an Autodesk marketing manager, and a Revit salesman! What else are they going to say? I'll be more interested to hear the views of real users once it's released in a month or so.

_________________
AC15 64-bit 4056
Win 10 Pro 64-bit - i7-6700K 4.00GHz - 16GB RAM
Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 4GB - Apple 30" Cinema HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Bricklyne Clarence
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 677
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:28 am    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

blobmeister wrote:
.........
This is great news Archicad. We are probably getting something similar this next release. After all, Archicad was the first with the advanced curtain wall tool.



.......how in the world do you figure that?

Revit 2009 got a brand spanking new Mental Ray renderer along with free-form modeling tools like the Sweptblend tool, and we're still stuck with Lightworks v0.25 and Nudge. The Curtain Wall in AC is great, but let's be frank, it's nowhere near what the new CurtainWall (or even the existing one) in Revit2010 or the subdivision Freeform modelling tools in AutoCAD, AUTOCAD 2010, can and will be able to do.

How is that keeping pace, or even competing?



....the great hilarity of it all is that in that same blog (the Revit3D blog) that was referenced to in this thread, if you scroll a bit further down, there's a poster who makes a kind of mocking warning to anyone considering switching to ArchiCAD by referencing this very Talk Forum and quoting some poor AC user lamenting the fact that ArchiCAD user wishes always seem to end up appearing in the next version of Revit rather than in any version of ArchiCAD.

How true. How so very true. And sad too.

He also makes some pointed, and clearly accurate observations of GSHQ's attitude (or apparent lack of thereof) in this perpetual slide they seem to have engineered themselves into.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ruivenda
Guest
Guest

Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:21 pm    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

I had to agree here... Graphisoft continues to not develop Archicad has it supposed to be, and Autodesk, with all their's downsides, continue to develop greatly Revit.

Has so, I've used Archicad in the past, but not anymore, because it simply is to stick in the GDL objects, and so very limited compared with revit.

Course Revit has downsides, and Archicad has very good features, but I can live better without Archicad best features than without Revit freedom to model and to develop my designs.

It's sad, because I'm a MAC user and preferred Archicad, because AUtodesk doesn't have Revit for MAC, but even so I continue to believe more in Autodesk capabilities to develop Revit, than Graphisoft to develop Archicad. Archicad is losing badly for the competitors, and doesn't give any sign to change it...

Now I'm a much more happier BIM user with Revit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Rakela Raul
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:48 pm    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

hold on guys, i just want the us lib fixd, relax Shocked

Seriously, looks nice and I feel some kind of envy and exploring desires again

_________________
MACBKPro /32GiG / 240SSD
AC V6 to V18 - RVT V11 to V16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger   
therevitgeek
Guest
Guest

Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Location: washington

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:49 pm    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

there's a lot more information here on Revit Architecture 2010

it's almost a complete redesign, new UI, new conceptual design features, the poster's right, sketchup users & 3dsmax users for schematics are going to have a hard time coming up with reasons not to switch.

http://designerati.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/revit-2010-details-become-public/

i love both archicad & revit, but archicad has to keep up with other BIM products!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Harry M
New member
New member

Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Location: Perth Australia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:42 am    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

Hmmm... spline and sketch up like freeform modelling, built in Mental Ray renderer, certainly very compelling.
I doubt if Archicad will be able to match this in next release until the base code is chaged so should/will probably focus on workflow, teamwork and production. 95% of projects can still be done well in Archicad

_________________
Archicad v12 Revit 2009/2010
MacBook Pro 2.4/4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Rakela Raul
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:21 am    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

Quote:
95% of projects can still be done well in Archicad


it sounds like we need freedom modeling tools for 5% of the architectural projects ?

I would like to believe that.....i had in mind 1%

_________________
MACBKPro /32GiG / 240SSD
AC V6 to V18 - RVT V11 to V16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger   
TurboGlider
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 623
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:15 am    Post subject: Re: revit 2010 and autocad 2010 Reply with quote

What are ArchiCad missing? There are one (or maybe two) things we need, a doubleslanted wall / roof, then you could do alot of the 'freeforms' we are using in the real world today. Why have the ability to create things that you couldn't built in reality in a BIM software??? Then you should use a 3d modelling tool, not a BIM software.
I would say that you could easily modell about 99.5% , if you know how ArchiCad works, of the buildings we are build in Sweden with ArchiCad standard tools, so the freemodelingtool, is that really that important?

_________________
Tobias Gustafsson, Sweden
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit [SWE] - AC 16-19 [SWE] 20 [INT] (since 6.5) - Cinema 4d Visualize R17 - Maxwell Render 3.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Products >>> revit 2010 and autocad 2010 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy