Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> BIM Control Center Error
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Jody S Keppers
New member
New member

Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Duluth MN USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 6:58 am    Post subject: BIM Control Center Error Reply with quote

I recently installed R13 and the BIM server on my Dell Precision laptop. Teamwork worked wonderfully (just on my machine, no actual sharing involved, with ArchiCAD and the BIM server both on the same machine) until I shut down and restarted my computer. Now the following error pops up if I try to launch the BIM Control Center:

"BIM Control Center Error! Teamwork Monitor Service is not running! Please reinstall BIM server or restart your computer."

Trying to open a Teamwork project from within ArchiCAD, the BIM Server is listed as "offline."

I tried reinstalling the BIM server, but nothing changed.

Any thoughts?

_________________
KeppersDesign Architecture

AC 19, MacBook Pro retina display, 16GB, 751GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:18 pm    Post subject: Re: BIM Control Center Error Reply with quote

If you go to the Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL) do you see the three Teamwork Services listed in the Services Tab Page of the Dialog?
See attached image.



TeamworkServerMonitorService.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  40.57 KB
 Viewed:  643 Time(s)

TeamworkServerMonitorService.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Jody S Keppers
New member
New member

Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Duluth MN USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:11 pm    Post subject: Re: BIM Control Center Error Reply with quote

No. None of them are visible.

I've done some more work on this, and it seems to be a problem with my antivirus software (AVG Internet Security 9.0). When I disable AVG and restart, things work fine. Teamwork still works if I then restart AVG. But Teamwork will be broken again if I restart with AVG active.

I'm trying to figure out how to tell AVG that Teamwork is ok. I'll let you know if I figure it out. Feel free to tell me if you know the magic solution!

Thanks!

_________________
KeppersDesign Architecture

AC 19, MacBook Pro retina display, 16GB, 751GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:28 pm    Post subject: Re: BIM Control Center Error Reply with quote

You are probably on the right track.
Anti virus softwares have done such things to AC before.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Jody S Keppers
New member
New member

Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Duluth MN USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:04 pm    Post subject: Re: BIM Control Center Error Reply with quote

I have the solution. For others who have AVG and may run into the same problem, here it is:

Open the AVG User Interface

Open the Residential Shield Component control panel

Under "Residential Shield Settings" click "manage exceptions"

Set the "Residential Shield Directory Excludes" to include the BIM Server
folder (probably under Program Files\Graphisoft\Bim Server)

Click OK to accept changes.



BIM Server now works as it should after a restart.

I suppose there might be a way to eliminate the conflict without excluding the whole folder, but I had no success excluding only the BIM Server Manager.exe, BIM Server Control Center and TeamworkServerMonitorService.exe files.

I hope this helps others save some time!

_________________
KeppersDesign Architecture

AC 19, MacBook Pro retina display, 16GB, 751GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> BIM Control Center Error All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy