ArchicadWiki - the ArchiCAD Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ArchiCAD >>> Trim to Roof
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
alglover
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:12 pm    Post subject: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

Good afternoon Folks,
Am new to this forum and to ArchiCAD, Using Archicad 12 the now.

Am trying to prove to my employer it (archicad) is a worthwhile purchase, and he has given me the task of creating a model for my latest project, vs AutoCAD.

I am progressing slowly, but getting there.

I have just created the turf roof from a mesh, was going to use the "trim to roof" command, but when I do, it does a really messy job...see pics...
Any suggestions?

The walls have varying wallhead heights, have looked at Solid Element operations, but think the trim to roof would be the best option...I need the walls trimmed to the underside of the roof, not the beams underneath (if that makes sense)

Sorry for all the Questions on my first post...any help is hugely well received!! I MUST PROVE TO MY BOSS IT IS WORTHWHILE!!!! lol

Shout me if you need anymore info....Cheers for all help in advance.

Alistair



Unit with Roof.jpg
 Description:
Unit with roof and extended walls
 Filesize:  66.67 KB
 Viewed:  221 Time(s)

Unit with Roof.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
alglover
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

Ooops forgot to mention, have tried trim to roof and get some weird and wonderful results...

Is there any way of making this tidier?

See attached pic



Trimmed to roof results.jpg
 Description:
This pucs shows the results of the trim to roof command
 Filesize:  80.93 KB
 Viewed:  196 Time(s)

Trimmed to roof results.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Peter Clark
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Mar 2007
Posts: 1808
Location: Wiltshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

Hi Alistair,

Welcome to the forum!

For a roof of that complexity, I'd use Solid Element Operations (SEO) rather than 'trim to roof'.

Select all the walls and set them as the Target, then set the roof as the Operator with 'Subtraction with upwards extrusion' method. Have a look in the help files for detailed info on this.

You can even adjust the roof afterwards and the walls should still automatically be trimmed as long as it overlaps the walls.

Good luck!

_________________
AC15 32-bit 4056
Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit - 2x Dualcore AMD Opteron 2.60GHz - 4Gb RAM
Nvidia Geforce 8800GTX 768Mb - Apple 30" Cinema HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
alglover
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

Thanks Peter for the response...
After posting, I saw inadvertently a thread that explained this, I gave it a try, but still got the same issues you see in that elements of the internal partitions still poke up through the roof.

The roof is rather messy, after I turned it from a mesh to a roof, underneath isn't continuous at all, it is very segmented, I think this may be part of the problem....Any advice on tidying up the roof?

See pic of underneath the roof..

Cheers again for all help...



Underside of Turf Roof.jpg
 Description:
Pic to show underside of roof showing segmentation...
 Filesize:  68.07 KB
 Viewed:  195 Time(s)

Underside of Turf Roof.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Peter Clark
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Mar 2007
Posts: 1808
Location: Wiltshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

Yeek! Shocked

There is a way to tidy up the underside, but it is a little laborious. You have to select each pair of adjoining roofs, click the shared edge between them so the pet palette appears, and select the 'set roof edge angle' button (top right). When the dialog box appears, select the 'mitre joint' option which will set the touching edges of both roofs to a nice neat mitre. I'm not sure why the mesh to roof tool doesn't do this automatically for you? Sounds like a bug to me.

Also, looking at your roof, is there no way to reduce the number of tiny roofs planes? It's a little difficult to understand the overall geometry from the pictures, but it might save you some work in the long run.

Hope that's clear enough!

_________________
AC15 32-bit 4056
Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit - 2x Dualcore AMD Opteron 2.60GHz - 4Gb RAM
Nvidia Geforce 8800GTX 768Mb - Apple 30" Cinema HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
alglover
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

Hi Peter,
Once again thanks for helping,
I tried clicking each set of roof panels and clicking the joining face, I get the pet pallet up, but there is no option for Set roof Edge Angle, I only get Edge Setting, (which I assume is the same thing), but there is no option within that pet pallett option for mitre joint....I maybe being daft...Should this be done automatically?

No way of reducing the planes as the roof is an undulating turf roof, the idea is that the unit is built into the hillside and the turf roof should mimic hill contours to allow the building blend into the surroundings.

Cheers in advance.

Alistair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Peter Clark
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Mar 2007
Posts: 1808
Location: Wiltshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

This picture might help. You can do this in either the floorplan window, or the 3d window - whatever is more convenient.

Don't forget to select both roofs before you click on the shared edge.



roof_mitre1.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  81.12 KB
 Viewed:  192 Time(s)

roof_mitre1.jpg



_________________
AC15 32-bit 4056
Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit - 2x Dualcore AMD Opteron 2.60GHz - 4Gb RAM
Nvidia Geforce 8800GTX 768Mb - Apple 30" Cinema HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erich
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 846
Location: Portland, Oregon

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Trim to Roof Reply with quote

Just a thought...

Given the free form nature of that roof you might want to go back to using the mesh instead. Then to get the thickness you need, since meshes have a flat bottom regardless of what happens above, make a copy of the original mesh, lower it by the thickness of your roof and SEO the copy from the original. Then you can use the original mesh and SEO away the walls for the appearance you want. The only issue here (as far as ArchiCAD is concerned) is that meshes can get testy with multiple SEO operations. When this issues arises for me I have found that making a few smaller meshes corrects any issues.

_________________
Erich

AC 16 4010, AC 17
Mac OS10.8.5
15" Retina MacBook Pro 2.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ArchiCAD >>> Trim to Roof All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy