Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
belly917
New member
New member

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: buffalo ny

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:10 pm    Post subject: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

We've recently upgraded a few computers to prepare for upgrading our version of archicad once monies become availiable. Unfortunately that might be a while, so we need to make due with ArchiCAD 10.

Our newest problem on these computers is that the 3d Model disappears in openGL mode when you stop panning. The model appears properly in perspective or axonometric while panning, orbiting or exploring, but the second you click to begin working with the model, it disappears. You can select items if you remember where they are supposed to be, and you can modify them, but you can't un-select them until you go to a 2D view and come back. Has anyone else had this problem, and or a solution?

Computer specs:
Windows 7 Professtional 64bit
Intel core i5 570 (quad 2.66ghz)
8Gb DDR3 Ram
Nvidia Geforce 210
ArchiCAD 10 1188 USA FULL

Also happens on my home machine:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Intel Core2 Duo
4Gb DDR2 Ram
Nvidia Geforce 8800
ArchiCAD 10 1188 USA FULL

_________________
ArchiCAD 10 - 1188 USA Full
(5x) Win 7 Pro 64bit
(3x) Win XP Pro
(2x) Mac OS 10.5
(3x) Mac OS 10.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    
vistasp
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 700
Location: Bombay, India

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:38 am    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

Have you tried updating your Nvidia card drivers?

You can look for recommended drivers on the Wiki page (but this is for v.14) or use the old compatibility database.

Hope this helps.

_________________
= v i s t a s p =
bT Square Peg

http://archicadstuff.blogspot.com
http://www.btsquarepeg.com

| AC 9 - 18 INT | Win7 x64 |
| i7 4770 | 16 GB | GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) 
belly917
New member
New member

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: buffalo ny

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

vistasp wrote:
Have you tried updating your Nvidia card drivers?


The work computers are brand new week old builds, and the drivers are clean installs of the latest drivers downloaded directly from nvidia's website. ver8.17.12.5721

My home computer got a fresh install of Windows 7 at the start of the year. Nvidia drivers were also a clean install downloaded directly from nvidia's website. But they haven't been updated since.

vistasp wrote:
You can look for recommended drivers on the Wiki page (but this is for v.14) or use the old compatibility database.

Hope this helps.


These are such a small sample set that the newer GeForce 210 doesn't appear, but the 8800 does, although from a different manufacturer. It's supported for archicad 14 in windows 7 64bit, and it is claimed to work in windows xp 64bit with archicad 11.

Regardless, I appreciate your help.

_________________
ArchiCAD 10 - 1188 USA Full
(5x) Win 7 Pro 64bit
(3x) Win XP Pro
(2x) Mac OS 10.5
(3x) Mac OS 10.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    
vistasp
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 700
Location: Bombay, India

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

There have been some threads about such problems before:

model disappear in generic perspective view

and

3d window going blank when orbiting

_________________
= v i s t a s p =
bT Square Peg

http://archicadstuff.blogspot.com
http://www.btsquarepeg.com

| AC 9 - 18 INT | Win7 x64 |
| i7 4770 | 16 GB | GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) 
belly917
New member
New member

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: buffalo ny

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

Thanks for those links, I'll keep watching them.

Unfortunately no solutions were presented, although one user claimed the problem starting coincided with a driver update. Installing an older driver may be a solution, but I fear the magical driver may be too old and therefore incompatible with windows 7.

Thanks for the links, I did attempt to search the forum for this issue, but I was doing it quickly and obviously missed these.

_________________
ArchiCAD 10 - 1188 USA Full
(5x) Win 7 Pro 64bit
(3x) Win XP Pro
(2x) Mac OS 10.5
(3x) Mac OS 10.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    
A.I.T
New member
New member

Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

Have you had any luck since your last post? I have the same problem. When I am orbiting, flying-through, etc, the model shows up, the second I stop doing anything it disappears... I have tried installing older drivers as mentioned in the other threads, but have had no luck. If there are any suggestions or ideas I would be more than happy to hear them.

Thanks.

_________________
ArchiCAD v10 - 1188, Latest Library, Win 7 x64 Professional, AMD Phenom II X4 3.4ghz, Nvidia Quadro FX 1800, 8 ghz RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
TMA_80
Active member
Active member

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 458
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

afaik, AC10 and Vista were not compatible ( i guess it's the same with win7 )

the solution to this issue was to right click the application icon (or the Archicad executable file in program folder ) and make it xp compatible or something similar....

_________________
AC12_18 |Win7_64bit|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
A.I.T
New member
New member

Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

Great, that seems to work for the time being...

However it seems that it also doesn't take full advantage of my hardware, as the elevations/sections/etc take longer to generate...

I am hallucinating, or is this true?

Thanks again,

_________________
ArchiCAD v10 - 1188, Latest Library, Win 7 x64 Professional, AMD Phenom II X4 3.4ghz, Nvidia Quadro FX 1800, 8 ghz RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 5504
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

ArchiCAD 12 was the first version that supported multi-processing, so yes, it is possible that Sections/Elevations take longer to generate in AC10.
_________________
Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
ASUS G73SW, Core Quad i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB RAM
60 GB OCZ SSD + 750 GB 7200 rpm HDD
Win7-64 Home Premium ENG
AC13-AC18 (64-bit, latest build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
belly917
New member
New member

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: buffalo ny

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view Reply with quote

TMA_80

Clicking properties on the archicad 10 program icon and setting compatibility for Windows XP SP3 works. Thanks for the response.

I could have sworn that I've tried this before, apparently I only tested it when I was trying to solve the lack of PDF publisher issue that we are also having.

Thanks,
Phil

_________________
ArchiCAD 10 - 1188 USA Full
(5x) Win 7 Pro 64bit
(3x) Win XP Pro
(2x) Mac OS 10.5
(3x) Mac OS 10.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> Archicad 10 + Win 7 64 bit = no 3d view All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy