Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ArchiCAD >>> Missing attribute?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Thomas Holm
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 2798
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:43 pm    Post subject: Missing attribute? Reply with quote

I opened this small project, which I worked in and saved last time three weeks ago.

AFAIK, I have not opened, moved or done anything else with it since.

When I open it, I get the Missing Object dialog (see attachment).

W T F?



Skärmavbild 2011-11-03 kl. 14.34.47.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  13.82 KB
 Viewed:  3007 Time(s)

Skärmavbild 2011-11-03 kl. 14.34.47.png



_________________
AC4.1-AC17 SWE-OSX10.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
JaredBanks
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 589
Location: Seattle, Washington

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Missing attribute? Reply with quote

I had a similar situation in v14 back in early 2011. I'm still a little baffled by how or why it happened. But I figure out where the problem was and how to get rid of it. I wrote a blog post about it:

http://www.shoegnome.com/2011/03/06/high-low-you-backed-up-right/

Hope it helps.

_________________
Jared Banks, AIA
ArchiCAD blog @ www.shoegnome.com

ArchiCAD 17 and 18 US Latest Hotfixes / Updates
Mac OS X 10.10 | Mac Book Pro | 2.4GHz Intel Core i7 Quad Core | 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Thomas Holm
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 2798
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Missing attribute? Reply with quote

Thanks Jared!
You've got an interesting blog there!
I think you're right, I might have renamed something without thinking. Alzheimer light, you know.
But I think the commenter is right - Archicad should find the erroneous item for you in cases like this. So easy for Graphisoft, so hard for us users!

JaredBanks wrote:
I had a similar situation in v14 back in early 2011. I'm still a little baffled by how or why it happened. But I figure out where the problem was and how to get rid of it. I wrote a blog post about it:

http://www.shoegnome.com/2011/03/06/high-low-you-backed-up-right/

Hope it helps.

_________________
AC4.1-AC17 SWE-OSX10.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
JaredBanks
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 589
Location: Seattle, Washington

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Missing attribute? Reply with quote

I agree completely. If ArchiCAD is already smart enough to know that there's an attribute missing, how hard is it for ArchiCAD to show us WHERE? Or just fix it.

Glad you like the blog!

_________________
Jared Banks, AIA
ArchiCAD blog @ www.shoegnome.com

ArchiCAD 17 and 18 US Latest Hotfixes / Updates
Mac OS X 10.10 | Mac Book Pro | 2.4GHz Intel Core i7 Quad Core | 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
juditboros
Graphisoft

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Location: graphisoft

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:02 am    Post subject: Re: Missing attribute? Reply with quote

Dear Thomas Holm and Jared Banks and other users who had similar issues:

Today an article was created on ArchiCAD WIKI: http://www.archicadwiki.com/MissingObjectsAndMissingAttributes

I hope you will find this solution useful.

Thank you for the tips and I hope it is no problem that I mentioned your names in the article:)

Have a great day!

_________________
Judit Boros

Technical Support Team

Graphisoft

Budapest, Hungary

archicadwiki - the ArchiCAD knowledge base
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ArchiCAD >>> Missing attribute? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy