Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Sustainable Architecture >>> Thermal bridge problem - missing materials
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Rob Annable
New member
New member

Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Location: Birmingham UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:53 am    Post subject: Thermal bridge problem - missing materials Reply with quote

The thermal bridge calculation is failing to complete on some details and the error message tells me that it's because a 'Material does not exist'

All the fills in the drawing have a material assigned, with all the properties in place. Some of the details in the model - using the same composites - have worked. In other cases it appears to fail to recognize the outside surface and the grid is unresponsive when attempting to vary the scale, then I get this message.

Any ideas? I've attached a screenshot.



thermal bridge problem.png
 Description:
thermal bridge calc screen shot
 Filesize:  209.01 KB
 Viewed:  170 Time(s)

thermal bridge problem.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Rob Annable
New member
New member

Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Location: Birmingham UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:24 am    Post subject: Re: Thermal bridge problem - missing materials Reply with quote

Solved it. But no clearer as to why it's happening. The render material in the build up was causing it to fail. Despite the fact that it has exactly the same criteria as other render building materials that do work. Attachments show two materials with identical info. One works, one doesn't!


material difference.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  348.96 KB
 Viewed:  209 Time(s)

material difference.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1307
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:13 am    Post subject: Re: Thermal bridge problem - missing materials Reply with quote

Just a guess, but maybe it doesn't like the - in the material name.
_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
KatalinBorszeki
Graphisoft

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 349
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2016 10:04 am    Post subject: Re: Thermal bridge problem - missing materials Reply with quote

Hi All, The issue is that the 'Space' character in the name of the building material prevents the VIPCore engine from calculating the Thermal Bridge Simulation.
This is a VIPCore bug, it has been recorded and we have asked VIPCore development to fix it.
Thanks, kata

_________________
Katalin Borszeki
Implementation Specialist
GRAPHISOFT

http://helpcenter.graphisoft.com - the ArchiCAD knowledge base
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Sustainable Architecture >>> Thermal bridge problem - missing materials All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy