Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Student Forum >>> Converting commercial into educational version Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mlegs
New member
New member

Joined: 03 Apr 2010
Posts: 43
Location: buc

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:19 am    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

well.. there is actually a way you can do this, but you will have the objects as gdl: open the pln made in edu version and select the things you want to use in the commercial version and press f5, now from this perspective view you can save this as 3ds format at file-save as .. and you can reimport it in the commercial version (file-file special- import 3ds studio file (IF YOU HAVE THE 3Dstudio-in plug-in, else you won't have that option)... though anything will be gdl objects, this is the only way i know and that's how i do it. i can send you the 3ds plug in if you want.. Smile
_________________
my achitectural hand renderings http://archidrawing.wordpress.com Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
OnlySander
Guest
Guest

Joined: 13 Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:27 am    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

Hello, good day to you all,

Can someone explain what could I do with all the 2D work (Documentation tools), for example the with my details? It's sounds like this is all 'lost'? If I graduate, then I have to start all over?

Do I have to convert everything to for example .dwg and then import it again? Sounds like a lot of work?! Isn't there any other solution, because this is one mayor reason I'm thinking of abandoning ArchiCad..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1456
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:08 am    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

OnlySander wrote:
Hello, good day to you all,

Can someone explain what could I do with all the 2D work (Documentation tools), for example the with my details? It's sounds like this is all 'lost'? If I graduate, then I have to start all over?

Do I have to convert everything to for example .dwg and then import it again? Sounds like a lot of work?! Isn't there any other solution, because this is one mayor reason I'm thinking of abandoning ArchiCad..

I suggest to start a new thread with this question, as this does not relate to the original topic.

Your answer: you don't have to start all over. You make a model in 3D and you finish the documentation in 2D in one program: ArchiCAD. You don't need AutoCAD at all.

If other demand DWG's, ask for an example template and use that to finetune the DWG Translator, so you generate proper DWG files from your ArchiCAD project. And when you update the model, you simply re-generate these AutoCAD drawings in one publisher operation.

You might require some training to get to use the program in the right way, though.

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

I think OnlySanders is asking about EDU to FULL version conversion (after he graduates).

OnlySanders,
EDU versions are not meant for commercial work in any way. Also, work done in EDU version were never meant to be reused for commercial purposes. This is why there is no connection between the two versions.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1456
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

Correct my if I'm wrong, but wasn't there an option to have a one-time file conversion service when buying a commercial license?

I now better see what the question might have been.

Your "work" might be lost, but your learning experience isn't. And you can always use PDF or DWG as an underlay, so you can quickly trace over some of the elements in a later commercial version, without the watermarks.

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

stefan wrote:
Correct my if I'm wrong, but wasn't there an option to have a one-time file conversion service when buying a commercial license?


I don't know if there was something like this or not.
Someone else might have more knowledge about this. If so, please chime in.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1298
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

I don't know how many details you would expect to be re-using. Very few details are truly standard and with yearly updates to both the software and the libraries, I consider it good practice to draft up project specific details quite often. I generally reference details from PDF and recreate as needed.

Are you looking to start your own business or are you looking for jobs in other offices? It's not really a pick and choose market in NL these days, in terms of which software a company uses. I think Kubus (dutch reseller) has some deals for start up companies going from student to commercial license. I have no idea what your options with other software are in this regard.

_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
OnlySander
Guest
Guest

Joined: 13 Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 3:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

Hey, thanks for your response. It's exactly what laszlonagy says.

It's about the files I build up during my education. Of course it's not possible to copy paste my work all the time, but if you want to re-use some parts later, it's just not possible?
For example if I want to use some parts of a older detail, then I have to export it as a pdf and then redraw the thing again?

As laszlonagy explains the EDU is for education. SO it's not meant for commercial use, what I get. But education is about preparing for the commercial world and so eventually a FULL commercial version of ArchiCad.
So why is it not enabled to use your own produced work with a full license if you want to start your own business?

If EDU and FULL are exactly the same program, then it should be easy to leave the logo brand of the educational version out in the full version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 3986
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 5:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

OnlySander wrote:

As laszlonagy explains the EDU is for education. SO it's not meant for commercial use, what I get. But education is about preparing for the commercial world and so eventually a FULL commercial version of ArchiCad.
So why is it not enabled to use your own produced work with a full license if you want to start your own business?


Quick example. Since I am a professor at the local University I could fill my office with student licenses and only one professional one thus depriving GS from revenue.
For your details just export the DWG from the student and then you don't need to redraw it. Small price ti pay for having AC free as a student.

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
GatoHear
Guest
Guest

Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 11:51 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting commercial into educational version Reply with quote

ejrolon wrote:
OnlySander wrote:

As laszlonagy explains the EDU is for education. SO it's not meant for commercial use, what I get. But education is about preparing for the commercial world and so eventually a FULL commercial version of ArchiCad.
So why is it not enabled to use your own produced work with a full license if you want to start your own business?


Quick example. Since I am a professor at the local University I could fill my office with student licenses and only one professional one thus depriving GS from revenue.
For your details just export the DWG from the student and then you don't need to redraw it. Small price ti pay for having AC free as a student.


I would agree this. It's the simplest way to differentiate between EDU as well as the FULL commercial version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Student Forum >>> Converting commercial into educational version All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy