Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Hardware >>> GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
kylealkim
Guest
Guest

Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 3:53 am    Post subject: GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help Reply with quote

I am trying to wrap my head around GPU rendering on OSx

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
3.2 GHz Intel Core i5
AMD Radeon R9 M390 2048 MB

Archicad 19

iStat menu says the GPU memory is being used but not the processor

Can I get GPU rendering to work with this setup? Should I just return this iMac and get one with a better CPU? Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
sboydturner
Active member
Active member

Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 268
Location: Adelaide

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:06 am    Post subject: Re: GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help Reply with quote

ArchiCAD does not use the GPU for rendering, only for 2d display and OpenGL in the 3D window.
If you want to use GPU rendering you will need to purchase Octane Render plugin but it is not usable on your iMac or really any new Mac as it requires Nvidia cards for Cuda which is not available on the Radeon cards used in current Macs
Scott

_________________
Scott Boyd-Turner
HP Z230 Workstation: i7-4790, 16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quarto K2204Gb, Win 7 Pro
15" Macbook Pro 11.3, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, Geforce GT750M, MacOS 10.11.3
HP ZBook Studio 15: i7-6820 ,16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quadro M1000, Win10 Pro
AC 19 5002 AUS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
kylealkim
Guest
Guest

Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:37 pm    Post subject: Re: GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help Reply with quote

Thank you for the clarification.

Do you think I made a good descision on the specs of the iMac?

I plan to upgrade the ram and the hard drive to an ssd(I know it's a major surgery)

I have 2 weeks to return or exchange.

I only use cad 3-4 small jobs per year. This isn't my full time job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
sboydturner
Active member
Active member

Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 268
Location: Adelaide

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:08 am    Post subject: Re: GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help Reply with quote

The iMac is OK as for intermittent use of ArchiCAD and 3D rendering as long as you have enough RAM.
If you were using ArchiCAD every day I would suggest more of a workstation class machine but Apple do not currently make a workstation worth buying, the current MacPro is very out of date and very expensive (A$10.5k for MacPro equivalent of A$4k HP z440 workstation).
Scott

_________________
Scott Boyd-Turner
HP Z230 Workstation: i7-4790, 16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quarto K2204Gb, Win 7 Pro
15" Macbook Pro 11.3, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, Geforce GT750M, MacOS 10.11.3
HP ZBook Studio 15: i7-6820 ,16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quadro M1000, Win10 Pro
AC 19 5002 AUS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3675
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 3:07 pm    Post subject: Re: GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help Reply with quote

kylealkim:

I have a 27" iMac, but with the i7 rather than i5 chip and 24 gb RAM. It has been great for small to medium size projects.

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Brad Elliott
Active member
Active member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 319
Location: Basalt, Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:24 pm    Post subject: Re: GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help Reply with quote

For occasional small project use it is fine. The RAM is an easy upgrade and I recommend it. Not so sure it is worth cracking a new machine to put an ssd in unless you are experienced with that kind of thing.
Rendering is slow no matter what you have so you need to make time for it either way. The question is whether going from a 30 minute render to a twenty minute render is worth the money.

_________________
Mac OS10.11.6 AC20 USA Full

Hackintosh 4 GHz i7 32gb ram Intel HD 530
Apple iMac 21.5" 2.7ghz 12gb ram
AMD Radeon HD6770M 512mb RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Hardware >>> GPU rendering OS X ArchiCad 19 Please help All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy