Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Hardware >>> Cpu or gpu
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Yacinetoni
Guest
Guest

Joined: 12 Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:06 am    Post subject: Cpu or gpu Reply with quote

Hello
I'm planning to buy a new laptop but i'm confused between two, the first one is better in gpu and the second is better in cpu, can you help me

Option 1:
1_Clevo p177sm
Cpu: i7-4710mq
Gpu: gtx 970m
Ram 16go
Screen 17.3"

Option 2:
2_alienware 17
Cpu: i7-4910mq
Gpu: gtx 880m
Ram 8go can be upgraded to 16go
Screen 17.3"

So can you tell me please the best for archicad work and rendering
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
vistasp
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 824
Location: Bombay, India

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:19 am    Post subject: Re: Cpu or gpu Reply with quote

Is there very much difference between the 4710 and 4910 processors? The CPU advantage will only be useful for rendering, not for general work.

When it comes to the GPU, the 970m is, apparently, much more efficient than the 880m.

Finally, don't forget the RAM. Is the first machine upgradable to more than 16GB?

_________________
= v i s t a s p =
bT Square Peg

http://archicadstuff.blogspot.com
http://www.btsquarepeg.com

| AC 9-21 INT | Win10 | i7 4770 | 16 GB | Quadro K620 |

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Yacinetoni
Guest
Guest

Joined: 12 Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:38 am    Post subject: Re: Cpu or gpu Reply with quote

honestly i dont know how much is the difference between 4710mq and 4910mq, all i know is that the 4910mq is better
And for the ram, Yes Clevo is upgradable to 32 gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7859
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 4:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Cpu or gpu Reply with quote

The 4910mq has 0.4 GHz higher frequency than the 4710mq so it will be faster in Rendering:

http://ark.intel.com/products/78931/Intel-Core-i7-4710MQ-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_50-GHz
https://ark.intel.com/products/78939/Intel-Core-i7-4910MQ-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

Go with at least 16 GB of RAM (or even 32 GB if you can), it is the most important component in my opinion. You may have a fast processor or a fast system, but if you run out of RAM, all of that doesn't matter, your system will slow down dramatically.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Yacinetoni
Guest
Guest

Joined: 12 Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Cpu or gpu Reply with quote

Thanks for sharing your experience, the laptop with 4910mq doesnt support 32 go so i will go with laptop with 4710mq,
you helped me so much laszlonagy and vistasp, thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Hardware >>> Cpu or gpu All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy