Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Custom Roofing Modelling
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
thinky0099
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Oct 2015
Posts: 37
Location: MELBOURNE

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:42 am    Post subject: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

Hi friends,

I am having trouble modeling a roof, the first attachment is how the roof needs to be. Now I have managed to model it to the correct shape and fall, as per attachment 2. However, I cannot adjust the angle of the pitch, there is a yellow exclamation mark next to it saying "One or more Planes of the selected Roof(s) have a custom pitch that differs from the Roof's overall pitch Setting".

I am presuming that it is because one or two planes are on a different pitch, thus it wont let me change the overall pitch.

It would be great if somebody could share their wisdom with me on modeling this roof!

Cheers,

Andy



Capture.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  134.33 KB
 Viewed:  31 Time(s)

Capture.JPG


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
thinky0099
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Oct 2015
Posts: 37
Location: MELBOURNE

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:43 am    Post subject: Re: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

It seems i only added one attachment , here's the second which is what mine looks like.


Capture2.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  155.68 KB
 Viewed:  36 Time(s)

Capture2.JPG


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5523
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:14 am    Post subject: Re: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

You can still change the overall pitch.
The warning triangle will then turn red and tell you that there is a new checkbox at the bottom of the settings dialogue.
You can choose this to apply the pitch to all roof planes or leave it turned off to change only to those roof planes that have not already been customised.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 20
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision M6800 - i7 4700MQ @ 2.40GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro M6100 (2GB), Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
thinky0099
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Oct 2015
Posts: 37
Location: MELBOURNE

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
You can still change the overall pitch.
The warning triangle will then turn red and tell you that there is a new checkbox at the bottom of the settings dialogue.
You can choose this to apply the pitch to all roof planes or leave it turned off to change only to those roof planes that have not already been customised.

Barry.


Hi Barry,

thanks for helping out my posts. you've been really helpful, appreciate it.
I ticked the box to apply to all planes, and it changes the roof back a two way (normal) pitch roof instead of keeping it one way like I want. If i don't tick the box, it doesnt no changes. Maybe I am creating the roof wrong, I drew the roof like a normal roof and just dragged all the edges to the wall, so that it appears to have no edges on some sides. Is there a correct way to do this?

Thanks buddy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5523
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:14 am    Post subject: Re: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

The reason the tick box seems to have no effect is probably because all the roof planes are now custom.

You have quite a few options to fix it.

I would have probably just modelled this with 3 single roof planes and trim together (select and CTRL click edges) to form the hips and then adjust the shape of the planes to suit the cut-out for the building (see attached image)

But now you have it there already I would select and right mouse click > 'Split into single roof planes'.
You should find the vertical (gables) along the edge of the building will delete automatically - if not delete them.

Another option in the next post.

Barry.



roof_planes_1.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  48.7 KB
 Viewed:  29 Time(s)

roof_planes_1.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 20
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision M6800 - i7 4700MQ @ 2.40GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro M6100 (2GB), Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5523
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:29 am    Post subject: Re: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

Another option is to model a larger roof (sounds like you did this originally).
Make sure you have a slight eave overhang so you can select the edge of the roof and not the pivot line. You can set a zero o/hang again afterwards if needed.

Select the roof and right click on the eave edge and choose subtract in the pet palette.
Subtract the shape you want to remove - can be done in one go if you have an edge you can magic wand or you can cut a rectangle out or a straight edge and then repeat to cut some more.
The cutting can be a bit of a challenge if you are not sure of the techniques.
Sometimes I will place a fill the shape I want first so I can magic wand that and then delete the fill afterwards.

Done.

Barry.



roof_planes_2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  51.18 KB
 Viewed:  25 Time(s)

roof_planes_2.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 20
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision M6800 - i7 4700MQ @ 2.40GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro M6100 (2GB), Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
thinky0099
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Oct 2015
Posts: 37
Location: MELBOURNE

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:51 am    Post subject: Re: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
Another option is to model a larger roof (sounds like you did this originally).
Make sure you have a slight eave overhang so you can select the edge of the roof and not the pivot line. You can set a zero o/hang again afterwards if needed.

Select the roof and right click on the eave edge and choose subtract in the pet palette.
Subtract the shape you want to remove - can be done in one go if you have an edge you can magic wand or you can cut a rectangle out or a straight edge and then repeat to cut some more.
The cutting can be a bit of a challenge if you are not sure of the techniques.
Sometimes I will place a fill the shape I want first so I can magic wand that and then delete the fill afterwards.

Done.

Barry.


Hi Barry,

Thanks for the replies, I haven't given them a try yet, but it seems like a really neat technique Very Happy . I shall give it a try later today, really appreciate the help.

Cheers,

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
thinky0099
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Oct 2015
Posts: 37
Location: MELBOURNE

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:17 am    Post subject: Re: Custom Roofing Modelling Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
Another option is to model a larger roof (sounds like you did this originally).
Make sure you have a slight eave overhang so you can select the edge of the roof and not the pivot line. You can set a zero o/hang again afterwards if needed.

Select the roof and right click on the eave edge and choose subtract in the pet palette.
Subtract the shape you want to remove - can be done in one go if you have an edge you can magic wand or you can cut a rectangle out or a straight edge and then repeat to cut some more.
The cutting can be a bit of a challenge if you are not sure of the techniques.
Sometimes I will place a fill the shape I want first so I can magic wand that and then delete the fill afterwards.

Done.

Barry.


Hi Barry, thanks for the knowledge, I sort of combined your techniques, where I modelled a larger roof and subtracted polygons with it then split into single plane roofs, it automatically removes the section that was trimmed by the subtracted polygon. Seems to work perfectly. Cheers!

_________________
Andy Li - Junior Architect
ArchiCaD 20 (FULL)
Windows 8/10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Custom Roofing Modelling All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy