Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Libraries / Library Parts / GDL >>> GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Arterra01
New member
New member

Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:43 pm    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

hi,

Thanks to everyone's help i have made some good progress today, Using ACAD14 solved a number of issues. The advice from Endre, Olivier, Juha, Sincev6, David and Roberto (including his locator object) has been invaluable.

I got the Tree Locator Object working, the x and y coordinates get published into a schedule, the schedule is used to fill another database which will be imported to Global Mapper for GIS export. A few things to iron out but not much.

At work tmw I will upload the object and a screen capture and hopefully this might help someone else.


Notable lessons : !

1 - modifying the locator script and declaring the parameters via the Masterscript (and using ACAD14) has made an object that continually updates where it's placed (NO MORE ZEROS!).
2 - using the GLOB_WORLD_ORIGO_OFFSET_X commands (per Juha) ensured the x and y were in global coordinates
3 - setting up the schedule ensure easy output to excel

my thanks, I'm really happy and grateful

_________________
Natalie McEvoy
Environmental Consultant / Landscape Designer
www.arterra.com.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Arterra01
New member
New member

Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:53 am    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

Hi all,

As promised posting :
1) ACAD obj Tree Locator
2) screen shot of locator in use
3) schedule with x,y and Tree ID

thanks everyone



ArterraTreeLocator14.gsm.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  ArterraTreeLocator14.gsm.zip
 Filesize:  7.12 KB
 Downloaded:  424 Time(s)


_________________
Natalie McEvoy
Environmental Consultant / Landscape Designer
www.arterra.com.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Arterra01
New member
New member

Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:54 am    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

treelocator


treeWithLocatorObj.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  26.09 KB
 Viewed:  413 Time(s)

treeWithLocatorObj.jpg



_________________
Natalie McEvoy
Environmental Consultant / Landscape Designer
www.arterra.com.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Arterra01
New member
New member

Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:58 am    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

schedule


Untitled-4.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  75.05 KB
 Viewed:  517 Time(s)

Untitled-4.jpg



_________________
Natalie McEvoy
Environmental Consultant / Landscape Designer
www.arterra.com.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
sinceV6
Active member
Active member

Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 405
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:47 pm    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

It's great, but in my opinion you should modify it a little more:
1. Make your treeID parameter a boolean, to show or not the ID.
2. Change your code:
Code:
gamma=treeID

to
Code:
gamma=GLOB_ID

so you can change the ID using the info box (skip opening the settings dialog, it's a real time saver)
3. Add the circle option.

Inspired, I added these simple changes to the object I use in the library. (for AC15)

Best regards.

EDIT: on a side note... how's AC handling those large coordinates? have you noticed any calculation issues because of being too far from the project origin?



Coordinates.zip
 Description:
2012.07.13 version

Download
 Filename:  Coordinates.zip
 Filesize:  7.5 KB
 Downloaded:  438 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Arterra01
New member
New member

Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:15 am    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestions and the updates! great Smile
thanks for your time,
i will go and make some edits and improvements, the obj is working well for us and i think it will be worth ironing some things (as you've suggested)..

I haven;t noticed a problem with the handling of the big numbers.. I'll keep my eye out for it, it will be interesting because we take the x,y coords out of cad, into a GIS program and potentially back to Cad later, so i will take note

thanks, regards

_________________
Natalie McEvoy
Environmental Consultant / Landscape Designer
www.arterra.com.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
jkoutitsas
Guest
Guest

Joined: 26 May 2015
Posts: 1
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:02 pm    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

I have the same problem trying to change an object parameter to SYMB_POS_X + GLOB_WORLD_ORIGO_OFFSET_X in Archicad 12. The parameter displays zero.
When I place the exact same object in AC20 the object works fine.
It seems Archicad 12 reads SYMB_POS_X as zero even though in 2D script if you enter TEXT2 0,0, SYMB_POS_X the plan view shows the correct value.
Any workaround?

regards
John Koutitsas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5720
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:37 am    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

Is GLOB_WORLD_ORIGO_OFFSET_X a valid command in version 12?
I don't have it installed anymore so can't see the GDL documentation.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5720
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:36 am    Post subject: Re: GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
Is GLOB_WORLD_ORIGO_OFFSET_X a valid command in version 12?
I don't have it installed anymore so can't see the GDL documentation.

Barry.


It is there - I managed to find an old copy.
I can confirm that you can not set the SYMB_POS_X value as a parameter in 12 but you can in 20.
It may be a bug in 12 that will never be fixed now.
Is there a reason why you still need to use 12?

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Libraries / Library Parts / GDL >>> GDL OBJECT / LABEL DISPLAYING X Y COORDINATES All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy