Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Developer Forum >>> Global Variables
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
poco2013
New member
New member

Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 26
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:21 pm    Post subject: Global Variables Reply with quote

Just wondering if it would be possible to create a series of global variables or properties which could be accessible by any other ADD-Ons and exist for the life of the Plan?

If so, could those same global properties be used to reference that info within a standard schedule?

The purpose of such "global" properties would be to accumulate such plan wide information such as area analysis , quantities, costs. etc. etc.

_________________
Gerry

MAC OS Sierra 12.4; ArchiCAD 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Ralph Wessel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 1474
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Global Variables Reply with quote

poco2013 wrote:
Just wondering if it would be possible to create a series of global variables or properties which could be accessible by any other ADD-Ons and exist for the life of the Plan?

If so, could those same global properties be used to reference that info within a standard schedule?

The purpose of such "global" properties would be to accumulate such plan wide information such as area analysis , quantities, costs. etc. etc.

I don't think it's possible for an add-on to create project-based data that can be directly accessed by other add-ons. And it wouldn't be safe for multiple add-ons to modify that data without a common mechanism to manage it.

An add-on could provide access to the data via an external command or service, i.e. other add-ons could call it to get/set data if it provided a published command set.

However, I don't see any way for that data to interact directly with ARCHICAD's scheduling. There is no API to inject schedule content (to my knowledge).

_________________
Ralph Wessel
Cadimage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
poco2013
New member
New member

Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 26
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Global Variables Reply with quote

Thanks Ralph

That's somewhat what I expected. But I found it useful in other programs, but -- yes- it can be a disaster if the user is not aware, particularly if multiple plans are open at the same time.

Still think it would solve a number of problems if used with caution.

_________________
Gerry

MAC OS Sierra 12.4; ArchiCAD 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Akos Somorjai
Graphisoft

Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 163
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:45 am    Post subject: Re: Global Variables Reply with quote

poco2013 wrote:
Just wondering if it would be possible to create a series of global variables or properties which could be accessible by any other ADD-Ons and exist for the life of the Plan?

If so, could those same global properties be used to reference that info within a standard schedule?

The purpose of such "global" properties would be to accumulate such plan wide information such as area analysis , quantities, costs. etc. etc.


If you aim for model element specific properties, then please take a look at the Properties API (new in ARCHICAD 20). These are accessible from all add-ons, can be created by one add-on, or put directly by a BIM Manager into the company template. Also, you can show them in schedules, export and import them to/from Excel, etc.

Regards, Akos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
poco2013
New member
New member

Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 26
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:31 am    Post subject: Re: Global Variables Reply with quote

Thanks Akos

Yes --using properties, I am able to accumulate cost data for various object and summarize the same within schedules. Simply by following and a sight modification of the Property_test example in the API examples.

And by using "phantom" objects with their properties used as accumulators i am am to achieve the same. But, I think, user read/write GLOB variables would still be a more direct and understandable approach.

_________________
Gerry

MAC OS Sierra 12.4; ArchiCAD 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Developer Forum >>> Global Variables All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy