Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> ArchiCAD 20 Object Search Doesn't Always Work
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jameshart
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Location: Denver, Colorado

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 12:55 am    Post subject: ArchiCAD 20 Object Search Doesn't Always Work Reply with quote

Hi,

Several people in our office have noticed an annoying intermittent problem. Sometimes when we go into the object tool settings dialog and search for an object (such as "WC" for WC 20 or "Cab" for any of the cabinets), no results are found. (In these cases it doesn't even search online even though I have selected the to search online in the search options menu.) Now I know these items exist in the ArchiCAD 20 library because I can find them myself after doing some digging.

This was not an issue in AC18, is this related to some new feature or change in ArchiCAD 20? Has anyone experienced this or know whats going on?

Thanks!

_________________
ArchiCAD 20 (6005 USA), Cadimage Keynotes & Coverings, 4 GHz Intel Core i7 iMac, 32 GB RAM, 10.11.6, AMD Radeon R9 M395X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5716
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 2:14 am    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD 20 Object Search Doesn't Always Work Reply with quote

I am not seeing this problem but I am Windows and not Mac.
I was wondering if the search criterial was too short but as I say it is working for me.

However I am getting an error message from BIM Components at the moment (see attached image).

Barry.



BIM_components_error.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  37.36 KB
 Viewed:  28 Time(s)

BIM_components_error.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
jameshart
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Location: Denver, Colorado

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 4:58 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD 20 Object Search Doesn't Always Work Reply with quote

Barry, did you get that error yesterday?

Yesterday, around noon Mountain Time (I think) I was having a hard time downloading objects from bimcomponents.com. The download just kept timing out. They must have been having server issues or something? I was able to download the object later in the day.

_________________
ArchiCAD 20 (6005 USA), Cadimage Keynotes & Coverings, 4 GHz Intel Core i7 iMac, 32 GB RAM, 10.11.6, AMD Radeon R9 M395X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5716
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 2:12 am    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD 20 Object Search Doesn't Always Work Reply with quote

Yep, it is working again fine now.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> ArchiCAD 20 Object Search Doesn't Always Work All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy