Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Annotation Wishes >>> Level dimensions in plan to top of walls
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
50%
 50%  [ 4 ]
Important (4)
37%
 37%  [ 3 ]
Average (3)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
12%
 12%  [ 1 ]
Average: 4.12 points
Total Votes : 8

Author Message
raoultittel
New member
New member

Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Location: Port Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:35 am    Post subject: Level dimensions in plan to top of walls Reply with quote

I want level dimensions to top of walls, as this is common practice for drafting where I work.

Is this at all possible in Archicad at the moment?

Cheers,

Raoul

_________________
Archicad 20 PC. Used to use AC8 & 9.
AMD FX 6200 6 core processor 3.8GHZ 8gb RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message SKYPE ID  LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7712
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Level dimensions in plan to top of walls Reply with quote

No, it is not possible at the moment. It works only for Slabs, Roofs, Shells and Meshes.
It would be great if it worked for all element types, including Walls, Columns and GDL-based element types.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win7-64 ENG
AC13-AC20 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
raoultittel
New member
New member

Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Location: Port Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:53 am    Post subject: Re: Level dimensions in plan to top of walls Reply with quote

Thanks laszlonagy
_________________
Archicad 20 PC. Used to use AC8 & 9.
AMD FX 6200 6 core processor 3.8GHZ 8gb RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message SKYPE ID  LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Da3dalus
Active member
Active member

Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 200
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 2:55 am    Post subject: Re: Level dimensions in plan to top of walls Reply with quote

I'd like to add that a lot of improvements could be made to the Level Dimension Tool, which hasn't changed since 1995. I like the wall idea, and I'd LOVE to use it for ceiling elevations. You would just have to add a radio button that pins the dimension to the BOTTOM of a slab/roof/shell rather than TOP.

Alternately, it could be dependent on the Reference Line/Plane of the slab, which can be adjusted on a slab-by-slab basis (you could even dimension to center or face of core).

And no, I do not like the Ceiling Slab Elevation Label. The "target" marker cannot be resized below the text size so it's HUGE. It's just ugly. Also, I'm still bitter that the Dimension Label 18 could once be used for this, and we had even changed our graphic standards to use an ellipse... and then the feature went away!

The Level Dimension would be perfect for this!

_________________
Chuck Kottka
Orcutt Winslow
Phoenix, Arizona, USA

ArchiCAD 20 (since 4.5)
Mobile: Macbook Pro 15" Touchbar OSX 10.12.3 Core i7 2.6GHz/16GB RAM/Radeon Pro460 4GB
Home: Mac Pro OSX 10.11.6 Dual-Quad 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/512MB nVidia GeForce 8800GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) 
raoultittel
New member
New member

Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Location: Port Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 3:16 am    Post subject: Re: Level dimensions in plan to top of walls Reply with quote

Quote:
Level Dimension Tool, which hasn't changed since 1995.


Most of the interface in Archicad hasn't changed since 1995. Shocked

I do use a PC though.

_________________
Archicad 20 PC. Used to use AC8 & 9.
AMD FX 6200 6 core processor 3.8GHZ 8gb RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message SKYPE ID  LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Annotation Wishes >>> Level dimensions in plan to top of walls All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy