Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Schedules >>> Best Schedule Solution for Complex Windows
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jakubgalczynski
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Jun 2014
Posts: 33
Location: Bozeman, MT USA

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 3:53 pm    Post subject: Best Schedule Solution for Complex Windows Reply with quote

I have a few windows that need to be modeled and appear as one unit in the schedule. The closest I can get is using the curtain wall tool (first image). However this in considered an 'opening' and will not be generated in schedule. I can generate a schedule of each individual unit within the curtain wall, but this is not what I we need.

I have also tried a 'Store Front' window. However there is no operable options and no trim. This one however shows up in the schedule.

What is the best solution for complex windows? Thank you!

- ArchiCAD 20, Mac

[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7793
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Best Schedule Solution for Complex Windows Reply with quote

"Best" depends on your future needs, or if this is a one-off situation I suppose. This question comes up somewhat regularly, generally in the Schedules forum which is where I'm moving this - as the issue is more a scheduling issue than a modeling one.

First, I would suggest that you verify if the manufacturer honestly would ship the 10-sash window you're showing as a single mulled unit - vs a 2 + 3 etc.

You can fake this with the W Ribbon 20 window, set to show 5 sashes, and select "Custom Sash" as the sash style, creating your own custom sash that models the bottom awning/hopper (I assume that's what it is in the image). You'll have to fake the opening lines in the schedule and if you want them to show in elevation.

You can also build your window by mulling individual windows, convert it all to a Morph, then convert that back to a window object (after laying it flat on the ground) as another way to 'fake it' for a one-off. But, it won't respond to model view option control for display of opening lines etc - you'd have to fake that.

If you want 100% control over which sash are operable and how, and for this to appear as a single unit, and to be a live model element - then Cadimage D/W is the way to go.

GS UK developed the Modular Joinery object which can probably do what you want, but it isn't available outside the UK as far as I know:
http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=265127

_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
vistasp
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 825
Location: Bombay, India

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 11:09 am    Post subject: Re: Best Schedule Solution for Complex Windows Reply with quote

The modular joinery object should be available to all those who are on SSA. It doesn't seem to be visible if you directly search BIMcomponents but you can access it through the settings box for windows. See attached screenshot.

The interface is different from standard GS openings so it may take a bit of experimentation.

_________________
= v i s t a s p =
bT Square Peg

http://archicadstuff.blogspot.com
http://www.btsquarepeg.com

| AC 9-21 INT | Win10 | i7 4770 | 16 GB | Quadro K620 |

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
jakubgalczynski
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Jun 2014
Posts: 33
Location: Bozeman, MT USA

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 9:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Best Schedule Solution for Complex Windows Reply with quote

Thank you for the insight. I decided to separate the windows, but provide matching ID tags per combined units.

For example : W01 shows up in schedule as W01-A and W01-B

_________________
Jakub Galczynski
ArchiCad 21
OS X 10.9 - iMac 3.3 GHz Intel Core i5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Schedules >>> Best Schedule Solution for Complex Windows All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy