Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Presentation - Rendering and Multimedia >>> Cinerender sending loads of data to the internet
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DaggyBarlander
Guest
Guest

Joined: 08 Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 3:22 pm    Post subject: Cinerender sending loads of data to the internet Reply with quote

My network activity monitor in OSX reports CineRender is sending loads of data while it's rendering. Why is this? My problem is that I'm on a limited data usage connection, and don't want to blow this. Why would CineRender need to seed at all?

I am the only computer on my local wifi with ArchiCad/CineRender, so no network-rendering should be ongoing..

Rendering will work fine if I disable wifi, so I don't get why.
Thanks for any hints, have not found any similar issues on the forum.



Skjermbilde 2017-05-14 kl. 16.11.01.png
 Description:
CineRender sending data off my internet connection?
 Filesize:  58.67 KB
 Viewed:  10 Time(s)

Skjermbilde 2017-05-14 kl. 16.11.01.png



_________________
AC20 5025
OSX 10.11.6
MacBook Pro late 2013 IntelCore i5 16GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
mikas
New member
New member

Joined: 04 Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 9:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Cinerender sending loads of data to the internet Reply with quote

It's the same here. It is a little bit of a strange thing. I've been rendering a lot, the hole weekend actually, and just over a terabyte has been transfered somewhere by cinerender from my Mac. Per second rate is 106 Mbytes just now.

Maybe there is en explanation for this, or maybe we are misreading the stats and the numbers?

I am using dropbox for my projects nowadays, because I do my work in two different locations. I don't think it (dropbox) should aggregate this kind of network usage. I think all the caching and swapping and working should happen within my Mac Pro and inside my RAM and SSD, not on network. Ofcourse the project and the .bpn reside in the cloud, but thats only some tens of megabytes per piece.

When I'm on Cinema 4D team-render, the local network usage ramps up, but now I'm doing renders with single instances of ArchiCADs, three separate licenses each doing it's own render and in a different computer. A couple of libraries are on dropbox too. I think I am not running out memory either (14GB used out of 48GB on this machine).



Cinerender_network_usage.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  120.21 KB
 Viewed:  11 Time(s)

Cinerender_network_usage.jpg



_________________
OSX10.11, AC20, C4DR18, Rhino5. Mac Pro 3,33GHz/48GB/GTX680 4GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7732
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 12:54 am    Post subject: Re: Cinerender sending loads of data to the internet Reply with quote

Just a guess - but my bet is that CineRender exchanges data with ArchiCAD via a network protocol, as an easy way of having two independent processes 'talk' to one another ('interprocess communication') without deep coding. I would guess that this 'network activity' doesn't leave your machine and touch the rest of your local network, much less the internet.

The screenshot that Mikas posted supports my guess: The number of bytes read by CineRender equals those written by ArchiCAD and vice versa.

Since you're both on Macs, you could verify my guess (if nobody from Graphisoft posts), by running Little Snitch (or similar) which lets you see what is actually happening on your network vs just seeing bytes read/written. Says there is a free trial:
https://www.obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/index.html

Of course, you can also test by disconnecting from the internet - turn of your wifi or unplug your ethernet cable - and see if the render still works properly.

_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
mikas
New member
New member

Joined: 04 Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 6:06 am    Post subject: Re: Cinerender sending loads of data to the internet Reply with quote

Thank You Karl, it must be something like that. My wired network is behind a 100 Mbit/s switch at the moment, so it could not even theoretically put through 100 Mbytes/s (byte=8xbits). But theres something more I don't get, because after rendering whole last night, that number has decreased to 897 GB (Gt is GB, Mt=MB and kt=kB in finnish terminology). Process ID is the same though, 2410.


Cinerender_network_usage_2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.69 KB
 Viewed:  10 Time(s)

Cinerender_network_usage_2.jpg



_________________
OSX10.11, AC20, C4DR18, Rhino5. Mac Pro 3,33GHz/48GB/GTX680 4GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
runxel
New member
New member

Joined: 07 Mar 2015
Posts: 11
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 1:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Cinerender sending loads of data to the internet Reply with quote

Karl is right.
You don't need to worry about your data plan :)

Using network sockets you can implement fast and reliable Inter-process communiation, which is done here.

_________________
AC 20 | Mac 10.12 | Author of the GDL plugin for Sublime Text
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Presentation - Rendering and Multimedia >>> Cinerender sending loads of data to the internet All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy