Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Installation / New User / Getting Started >>> HELP!! AC Software license lost?!
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
bbradsby
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:43 am    Post subject: HELP!! AC Software license lost?! Reply with quote

So... we have a new MacBook Pro laptop on OSX 10.12.6 running AC20 great for a week after OS updated from 10.12.5. The machine is one month old.

Then yesterday AC20 crashed when the zoom tool was used - symptom: many parallel lines across the workspace window, and total freeze-crash of the app. Forced quit and restarted AC. Same result and symptom. So we shut down the Mac and attempted restart - which failed! The OS never loaded, in regular or even safe mode. Very unhappy.

Next day, Apple Store got it to boot up, but had to partition the hard drive and reinstall the OS to get it to start up and boot the OS. OK, but very curious if this was a proper fix.

Now the worst part - the ArchiCAD license was downloaded on this machine when it crashed, and now its lost. I'm the administrator of the license, but its not available to me on my Mac using GS License Manager Tool. And the now running new MacBookPro also cannot find the license.

The license is either damaged or trapped on the other Mac's damaged hard drive partition! I can't get any work done! How can I get my license back?!

Thanks much for any help!

_________________
-bruce david bradsby, a.i.a.
bdb/a
San Francisco

AC20
MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5908
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:15 am    Post subject: Re: HELP!! AC Software license lost?! Reply with quote

Contact your local distributor and they should be able to work their magic and release the license for you to access again.
Or so I believe - I still use the codemeter keys.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
bbradsby
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:35 pm    Post subject: Re: HELP!! AC Software license lost?! Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
Contact your local distributor and they should be able to work their magic and release the license for you to access again.
Or so I believe - I still use the codemeter keys.

Barry.


Thanks. Yes, I've reached out to them, and hope the solution is fairly procedural.

_________________
-bruce david bradsby, a.i.a.
bdb/a
San Francisco

AC20
MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Installation / New User / Getting Started >>> HELP!! AC Software license lost?! All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy