Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Best format for topographic data?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Max Cedercreutz
Guest
Guest

Joined: 18 Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:20 am    Post subject: Best format for topographic data? Reply with quote

Hi!

I was asked to produce an Archicad compatible 3D terrain model for a client. Now all the tutorials on the web focus on creating "site models" from "surveyors data", that is from 3D points. Since I have the original data (a dense grid), i could do the meshing better than the Archicad mesher could. Also it would be inconvenient for the client to have to do that extra step (meshing). What format could i deliver a mesh in so that the client could easily use it as a 3D site model with minimal extra work. I do not have Archicad, but I can produce most file formats (dxf/obj/stl etc..) except proprietary ones.

Rephrasing: What format would you like to receive 3D topography in?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3676
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Best format for topographic data? Reply with quote

Max:

The problem with delivering the topography a in these other formats (dxf/obj/stl etc.) is that the terrain will come in as a fixed Object that cannot be edited, not an editable Mesh. It would be best to provide a text or XYZ file that can be used with the Place Mesh from Surveyor's Data... command which will create an editable Mesh. The help center guide is here: Other Formats Opened by ARCHICAD.

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Max Cedercreutz
Guest
Guest

Joined: 18 Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Best format for topographic data? Reply with quote

Thank you David.

This is what i wanted to avoid, but if it's the only way then that is how it is.

-Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3676
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Best format for topographic data? Reply with quote

Max:

Either method utilizes some sort of import command, so from the user's point of view the effort would be similar (import and convert to Object, or open txt file and convert to Mesh). So I don't think the user is being burdened this way. Good luck.

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 11:20 am    Post subject: Re: Best format for topographic data? Reply with quote

I don't remember where I have seen this but I think it may be possible for the architect to use the Rhino-Grasshopper-AC Connection to solve this issue.

He gets the point file from you and he can use the Place Mesh from Surveyor Data command to generate a Mesh from it.

Then he can get the geometry of the Mesh to Rhino with the Grasshopper-ARCHICAD Connection.

I think Grasshopper includes capabilities to take such a geometry and slice it with horizontal planes, thereby obtaining Mesh Level Polylines at specified intervals.

Then Grasshopper may be able to generate a new Mesh into ARCHICAD from those obtained Mesh Level Polylines.

This is the theory but you would have to try it because I haven't had the chance to try it myself.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Best format for topographic data? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy