Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> ARCHICAD+ >>> Where is Graphisoft? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Brett Brown
Active member
Active member

Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 359
Location: Auckland NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:02 am    Post subject: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

What really annoys me about the yearly new tools is that we have all these questions on them and now the new stair tool, by power users and god help the novice user, and not one response from Graphisoft.

Why can't one of the Graphisoft developers answer these questions? Think how much time would be saved by all users around the world when trying to use the new tools every year and making it more informative and not frustrating.

I appreciate the time Barry and other moderators spend in answering many questions but as seen in the new Stair tool thread even they can't answer some. Where's Graphisoft staff in this thread and others.

This lack of Graphisoft interaction has been a theme since Archicad was born.

This forum is the main teaching tool for new and existing users and for Graphisoft not to participate is detrimental to all users. Why is this?

Sort of a continuing trend where Graphisoft have no interest in ordinary users wishes. How long have we been asking for the simple thing of a Fill in the beam tool. Just imagine the hours wasted by users doing work arounds. Just not good enough.

Is this because they don't care about the individual user? Most large firms (which this software is mainly aimed at) have there own IT person who can answer there staffs questions, but the individual is left with there reseller who can take days for an answer and more importanly here.

And lets face it the answers here by the Power users are quicker and more to the point, and others users can see the answer and learn something. Also the forum is searchable. I would have thought Graphisoft would have been in here boots and all because that would help users better and of course sales as well.

I don't think it should be left only to the likes of Barry and others who I assume are donating there valuable time to help others.

Love to hear your opinions on Graphisoft's interaction with the average user base and there lack of representation here. I do acknowledge some minor Graphisoft interaction in the mainly technical areas but surely they are the ones who should be leading the teaching of the software especially here.

_________________
Imac, Sierra AC 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
DGSketcher
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:12 am    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

They do pop up on a regular basis when here are bugs or significant issues to address, but I can usually find answers not available on the forum at this excellent GS resource...

https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/

_________________
Apple iMac MacOS Sierra / AC20UKI (most recent build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7804
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

Brett,

Since ARCHICAD-Talk's inception this is the way it worked.
GRAPHISOFT maintains the Forums but this is still a User Forum where users help other users. GRAPHISOFT never said they would be answering questions.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win7-64 ENG
AC13-AC20 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Brett Brown
Active member
Active member

Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 359
Location: Auckland NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:19 am    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

Laszlonagy,

I do believe it is 2017 and its way over time for a change in Graphisofts whole outlook on communicating with users wouldn't you agree?

Prime example has been the stair and railing tools. From previous posts from you telling us that the development of these new tools take years to make and implement. So the video department have had that long to get tutorial videos out for the new tools on annoucement day. We are now 10 weeks after that date and still nothing on the railing tool or more comprehensive videos on the stair tool.

From a users point of view I think it has been appalling. This is the time to get new users to invest in the new version and existing users who aren't on a subscription to invest in the upgrade. The way this has been handled is not a good look and Cadimage's stair and railing tools are good enough for me.

I must congratulate Cadimage for there tools which have made Archicad a pleasure to use. There Coverings and Keynote tools should have been taken over and intergrated into Archicad years ago so that every user can experience there huge time saving abilities. Yet another poor decision by Graphisoft.

For such an advertised leader in Architectual software, I can't believe how poorly the company is run through all areas.

_________________
Imac, Sierra AC 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Bruce
Active member
Active member

Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 392
Location: Brisbane Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 2:24 am    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

...and their Door+Window builder: a fantastic tool
_________________
Bruce Walker
Cottee Parker
www.cotteeparker.com.au

AC20 AUS 5025 Full | Win 7 Pro 64 | Intel i7-5820K 3.30GHz | 64 Gb RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K2200 8Mb | 2x Philips 272P4 2560x1440
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:15 am    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

I can't speak for other places, but in the Netherlands there is an upgrade course every year for the new release. It is free of charge for those on the yearly upgrade subscription and being offered by the reseller. There are multiple dates, two locations (which is plenty for a country as tiny as ours) and it is offered right around the release of our localisation.

The course generally takes an afternoon, ussually depending on how big an upgrade the new version is.

Personally I wait until after this course to take the plunge on the new versions and even then sometimes a bit longer if it is a very major update (like ArchiCAD 17 most recently) with a shift in how things work and behave.

This might not directly be Graphisoft, but it is their official reseller doing this.

_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7804
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:36 am    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

Brett Brown wrote:
Laszlonagy,

I do believe it is 2017 and its way over time for a change in Graphisofts whole outlook on communicating with users wouldn't you agree?


I don't know, this would mean GRAPHISOFT HQ is supposed to answer the questions of the 70000+ members of ARCHICAD-Talk? Or, if they answer some, why don't they answer the others? I would rather have them focus on the development of the program. Local resellers are supposed to support users, I think you too can contact your local reseller with questions.


Quote:
Prime example has been the stair and railing tools. From previous posts from you telling us that the development of these new tools take years to make and implement. So the video department have had that long to get tutorial videos out for the new tools on annoucement day. We are now 10 weeks after that date and still nothing on the railing tool or more comprehensive videos on the stair tool.


These 2 things are not really related like that. Maybe they were developed for years, but even in the beta period, much user feedback was received from beta testers and even in the later phases of beta there were changes to these tools and their User Interface based on those feedbacks. Tutorials clips can be created only after all this is finished.

The following Stair clips are already on YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLnXY6vLUwlWWIb70Jj3kq1o4dY9ZVuEWh

More are coming and Railing clips are also coming soon.

But Brett, until then, if you have any concrete questions about the Stair or Railing Tool, please ask and I will try to answer it if I can.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win7-64 ENG
AC13-AC20 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7804
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

There are also several Stair and Railing-related articles on the HelpCenter:

Railing:
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/railing-tool-basics-pattern-distribution-settings/
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/railing-tool-basics-convert-pattern-to-segment-length/

Stair:
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/stair-tool-basics-u-shape-stair-with-equal-flights/
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/stair-tool-basics-spiral-stair/
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/do-not-delete-stair-tool-tips/
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/stair-tool-basics-custom-tread/
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/stair-tool-basics-bullnose-stair/
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/archicad/modelling/stair-tool-basics-custom-stair/

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win7-64 ENG
AC13-AC20 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Brett Brown
Active member
Active member

Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 359
Location: Auckland NZ

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:54 am    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

Laszo,

You are missing the point. The thread is about Graphisofts handling of the Announcement etc of the new version and the explanations of how the new tools work and the time it has taken to publish tutorial videos.

Its not about me or resellers and I know 99% of users here are intelligent enough to find published content on there own. Its about the lack of published content and communication we are talking about.

When a new version of any software is released, Company's can't wait to explain how it works to there existing and potential new clients. Except one Graphisoft.

There is no reason why in the first few weeks of release Graphisoft staff should have been answering questions especially as they knew how long it would be to publishing tutorial Videos.

When I invest in the best software I expect the best support. Graphisoft is sadly wanting in this area as explained.

_________________
Imac, Sierra AC 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7804
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:18 am    Post subject: Re: Where is Graphisoft? Reply with quote

Ok, the original post was about GRAPHISOFT's participation on this forum.
But I understand the point you are making.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win7-64 ENG
AC13-AC20 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> ARCHICAD+ >>> Where is Graphisoft? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy