Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> Non-printable layers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
30%
 30%  [ 15 ]
Important (4)
10%
 10%  [ 5 ]
Average (3)
14%
 14%  [ 7 ]
Not important (2)
14%
 14%  [ 7 ]
Not needed (1)
32%
 32%  [ 16 ]
Average: 2.92 points
Total Votes : 50

Author Message
gerald lock
New member
New member

Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 28
Location: south melbourne, australia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:26 am    Post subject: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

I can't seem to find a topic about this, so here goes...

Currently, each layer has a lock/unlock and a visible/invisible toggle.

How hard would it be to add another toggle to make a layer printable/non-printable?

Every other 2D drafing app I've ever used has this function, and it's great!

Could you add it to the next build? or must we wait for the next version?

_________________
NMA Architects
3.2MHz Pentium(R) D/XP Pro/ArchiCAD 11.0
gerald@nma.net.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Matthew Lohden
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 6609
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:48 am    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

It would be handy to make visible layers non-printing, but since it would still presumably be governed by the layer combinations it wouldn't serve as the sure fire way to keep certain layers from ever printing. It also runs counter to the wysiwyg principle.
_________________
Matthew Lohden
Consultant, SF CA

MacPro 8core 32GB Radeon 5870
OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion, XP32, Win 7x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
gerald lock
New member
New member

Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 28
Location: south melbourne, australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:01 am    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

To provide a "constantly non-printing" layer, would surely be a simple as the current "constantly-visible & unlocked" [ArchiCAD Layer] - I've been told that AutoCAD has one (called DEFPOINTS I think)
...or one could simply adjust Layer Combinations setting to suit (both options would be good, giving max. flexibility)

As far as WYSIWYG principle goes, ("what you see is what you get" for readers of this thread not familiar with the acronym) it needn't be compromised - non-print layers could become either "ghosted" (but coloured separately from the ghost storey colour) or a pre-set colour. Currently, ghosted storeys don't print unless requested. This idea could behave in the same way.

_________________
NMA Architects
3.2MHz Pentium(R) D/XP Pro/ArchiCAD 11.0
gerald@nma.net.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Michele
Active member
Active member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 290
Location: Milwaukee,Wisconsin USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

I loved the defpoints layer when we used autocad. We could put things on a layer that would be turned off and not print a white blob over everything. Ahhhh..... one of the good things about autocad.
_________________
AC10/12 USA 11882156, OS XP 2 GB Ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Erich
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 1014
Location: Portland, Oregon

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:23 am    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

The nice thing about a non-printing layer is that you can use it to provide information to the user without worrying if it will show up on the eventual output. Other than that it is not really necessary to Archicad in my opinion. (12 years using AutoCad) Still it is a common cad tool and I was a little surprised it wasn't present when I made the switch to AC.
_________________
Erich

AC 19 6006 & AC 20
Mac OS 10.11.5
15" Retina MacBook Pro 2.6
27" iMac Retina 5K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:42 am    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

Every time someone suggests the non-print layer, I can't help wondering how are you using this program that you feel you need one? What are you drawing that shouldn't be printing?

Need to leave notes for co-workers? use the mark-up tool or FILE>INFO>PROJECT NOTES

_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Gustavo Mur
New member
New member

Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 11
Location: Miami, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

I strongly recommend DO NOT ADD the non-print layer function as Autocad Uses. I used Autocad for a lot of projects. It is a constant font of frustrating mistakes on documentations.

Archicad is a superior program with a lot more tools and much simpler ones.
We do not need such a thing. Please! As list is my point of view.

_________________
Albaisa+Doval Architects
Miami, Florida, USA
-------------------------------------
Ex Minicad-Vector Works on Mac
Ex AutoCad 2000-2006 on PC
Archicad 9-11-12 on PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
kliment
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 1092
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 4:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

I wish I never see a nonprinting layer option in AC!
According to me everything seen on the desktop should be printed! If not, it should not be on the desktop! Simple!

The old Autocad thinking has to be forgotten!
The Defpoins layer in Autocad is needed mostly for storing Points (the alternative of Hotspots), especially when using Blocks. Well, Hotspots are nonprintabe in AC!

_________________
Kliment Ivanov
www.klimentivanov.com
AC /since 4.55/; AutoCAD; Max; SketchUp; VRay; ArtL; Photoshop; Illustrator; InDesign; CorelDraw
Win 7 Ultimate 64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
OpusMCK
New member
New member

Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 21
Location: Santa Rosa, Ca.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

I also found it surprising that Archicad did not have a
"non-printing" layer. The other Cad programs that I use have one.
It's not something I use everyday, but it's useful.
The others that I've talked with who have only used Archicad
didn't know it was possible but would love to have one.
Our feeling is that for Archicad to add the layer and those
who don't want it don't have to use it, but it won't ruin the
program to add it for those
who would like to have it.
Thank you.

_________________
AC10 MacIntel on an I-Mac, 3d Studio release 2009, AllPlan, Autocad, Photoshop, Flash, Vista 64, and so on. . .
--------------------------------------------------
Architectural 3d modeling and simulation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
skywalker86
New member
New member

Joined: 04 Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Location: East London

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:52 am    Post subject: Re: Non-printable layers Reply with quote

I agree with adding a printable/non-printable layer as this could be used for complex 3D models which would otherwise slow down your model/work space, and have the option to only display these models when printing. Just my 2 cents worth. Not sure if anyone has had this issue where a downloaded object is slowing down your workflow significantly? I am currently having this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> Non-printable layers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy