Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Known AC21 Stair Issue?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ksjhawk
New member
New member

Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Location: washington, dc

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:36 pm    Post subject: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

I have made a stair in AC21. I have gotten it the way I want it, 5'-0" between stringers. I then use command+T to edit a parameter, and when I hit ok, the stair shrinks by 1/2". In the attached examples, I didn't even change anything when getting into the settings dialog, I just hit command+T and hit ok and it shrunk. I know there are bound to be bugs, but...

I should add that the width of the stair does not change in the settings dialog box when this happens.



Stair Problem.pdf
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Stair Problem.pdf
 Filesize:  61.18 KB
 Downloaded:  56 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

So you are saying that each time you activate the Stair Settings Dialog, then click OK, the Stair width decreases by 1/2" without you making any modification?
I tried this but I couldn't reproduce this behaviour.
Could you attach a minimalistic PLA file or upload it somewhere and include its link?

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
ksjhawk
New member
New member

Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Location: washington, dc

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

Correct...

Here is a link. I have forwarded on to Ransom Ratcliff and Tech Support. Ransom was able to recreate the issue.

https://cgsarchitects.filetransfers.net/downloadPublic/vgzuw2pj83

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ksjhawk
New member
New member

Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Location: washington, dc

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

Here is a link to a screencast Ransom created...

https://cgsarchitects.filetransfers.net/downloadPublic/kighwfn6up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 4:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

OK, I will report this to GRAPHISOFT for investigation.
_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
ksjhawk
New member
New member

Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Location: washington, dc

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

we have and its been sent on to developers. thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5840
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:31 am    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

Just looked at your file and I think I can tell you what is causing the problem but not how to fix it.
I haven't played with stairs enough yet and I am not sure why your stair has the baseline on the inside and not around the outside - this may be contributing to the problem?

It seems to be caused by the baseline offset.
At least this is how much your stair changes each time.
Problem is if you set it to anything else the stair becomes invalid.

Set it to 0 and choose one of the valid options and the stair won't move.


Barry.



stair_baseline_offset.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  75.1 KB
 Viewed:  35 Time(s)

stair_baseline_offset.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
KatalinBorszeki
Graphisoft

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 349
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 1:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

Hi All,
This is a known issue...
If these two factors coexist, the problem will be present:
- there is an offset value different from 0 defined as Baseline offset
AND
- the boundary line of the stair has been customized (geometrically edited)
then this happens.

The workaround is to eliminate one of the two conditions.
This bug is planned to be fixed in the next regular update. best,

_________________
Katalin Borszeki
Implementation Specialist
GRAPHISOFT

http://helpcenter.graphisoft.com - the ArchiCAD knowledge base
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5840
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:36 am    Post subject: Re: Known AC21 Stair Issue? Reply with quote

It appears this shrinking problem has been fixed in the latest update build 5002.
Preview only at the moment for AUS, INT, UKI and USA language versions.
All language version should be out in a few weeks.

Quote:
233058 STAIR: Anytime the settings of a placed stair was opened and closed, the stair shrank with the value of the Baseline offset parameter.


http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=58211

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Known AC21 Stair Issue? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy