Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> transparent fill in composite
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
dasneboja
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Location: SERBIA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:52 pm    Post subject: transparent fill in composite Reply with quote

I am trying to make a composite wall with one fill transparent (air)
but it seems impossible?
Am I doing something wrong or AC15 just can't do that?

_________________
ArchiCAD 15 INT,
i7 2600K, 16Gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Gerald Hoffman
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 474
Location: Abbotsford BC

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:14 am    Post subject: Re: transparent fill in composite Reply with quote

I have been able to make composite walls with an airspace. Can you post a screen shot of what it looks like when you set up a space with airspace or empty fill as the fill pattern?

Cheers,

_________________
Gerald

"The simplification of anything is always sensational" GKC

(AC 21-4022) CadImage Suite
MacBook Pro OS X 10.12.3 - 2.5 Ghz i7, 16 GB RAM + 27" Apple Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7791
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:36 am    Post subject: Re: transparent fill in composite Reply with quote

dasneboja wrote:
I am trying to make a composite wall with one fill transparent (air)
but it seems impossible?
Am I doing something wrong or AC15 just can't do that?


Better to use a complex profile wall with a physical air space... it will show up in all views.

Just select your current composite wall and use the menu command to capture the selected wall's profile... edit (delete the 'air' skin, etc), save the profile, and change the wall type from composite to your new profile...

Cheers,
Karl

_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
AxionTheGreat
Guest
Guest

Joined: 12 Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Charlotte

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:19 pm    Post subject: Re: transparent fill in composite Reply with quote

While what Karl said may work as a work around, switching from a composite to a complex profile can create other substantial problems down the road.

--> I was just going through section settings (AC20) and found a toggle for transparency in the cut elements rollout. That's your best bet. Also check your wall object settings for any cut surface overrides that may be set for the specific wall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5827
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:59 am    Post subject: Re: transparent fill in composite Reply with quote

This original post is over 5 years old and I don't think we had transparent materials (surfaces) in composites back then.
All you need to do now is set up a surface (air space) that is transparent.
Use that surface in your 'air space' building material and then use that building material in your composite.
So long as transparency is turned on in 3D you will have an invisible air space.

Barry.



transparent_cavity.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  10.64 KB
 Viewed:  501 Time(s)

transparent_cavity.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
DGSketcher
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 478
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:25 am    Post subject: Re: transparent fill in composite Reply with quote

Just an observation but if you have a transparent cavity then you will see ALL the penetrations across the cavity in the section (unless you limit the depth of cut). Sometimes useful, usually confusing...
_________________
Apple iMac MacOS Sierra / AC21UKI (most recent build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1298
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:31 am    Post subject: Re: transparent fill in composite Reply with quote

You can give your 'air' materials a white/window background pen and still have it invisible in 3D views though (using 'air' as surface). I agree that having a transparant fill is not going to be very clear in sections where you see all windows and what not there. It may be true to reality, but it will confuse your average construction worker Laughing
_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> transparent fill in composite All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy