Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
LOUTRO
Guest
Guest

Joined: 07 Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Location: AUSTIN TX

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:09 pm    Post subject: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

I am working on a wall section and would like to draft it over a trace reference of the wall section view. In the view, I turned on the trace reference and dragged it to the side to draft over. For some reason I cannot snap to the trace reference with lines, fills, etc. Could someone tell me if there is a way to turn snapping on/off to the trace reference? Or, what else might be going on?

Many thanks!

Using Archicad 21
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 11:27 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

I have tried this and for me it is possible to find nodes and edges on the Trace Reference. So it works correctly for me.
One thing you could try is update your graphics card drivers. Sometimes such driver errors can cause such behavior in display.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
LOUTRO
Guest
Guest

Joined: 07 Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Location: AUSTIN TX

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 8:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

I have checked the same file on another computer with the same graphics card and I am able to snap to the trace reference in that file without a problem.

There are a couple exceptions to this problem:

-snapping to a trace ref. in a plan view works fine, however the I have the same issue with building section and elevation views.

-I am able to snap to the 2D elements and elevation benchmarks in the trace reference.

Not sure what this might mean... It seems that the issue might only be with modeled elements.

Is there any way to disable snapping to a trace reference? Could I have done something inadvertently to turn it off? (Snap to Grid is turned off)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
LOUTRO
Guest
Guest

Joined: 07 Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Location: AUSTIN TX

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

Thanks Lazlo for your previous reply. Is this the appropriate forum for this question? Should I repost elsewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7793
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

LOUTRO wrote:
Thanks Lazlo for your previous reply. Is this the appropriate forum for this question? Should I repost elsewhere?


This is the correct forum. If you are using the commercial (non-student) version, you have free tech support - give them a call to perhaps screenshare with you and sort this out. Wink

_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Stress Co.
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 1496
Location: N 43 31.16', W 114 18.895', Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

laszlonagy wrote:
I have tried this and for me it is possible to find nodes and edges on the Trace Reference. So it works correctly for me.

Hi Laszlo.
Did you test it using a section (or elevation) as the active with a section (or elevation) as the trace reference?

Under those conditions, I can snap to all 2D elements in the trace reference,
but cannot snap to any 3D model elements.
If I use a story/plan view or a layout as the trace, with a section or elevation active, it snaps to everything.
Pretty much as LOUTRO described.

Also, works fine in AC20 files.

_________________
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.11.5
Processor: 3.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
ArchiCAD 21 (4022 USA Full)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

Hi Marc,

No, I have not tried it like that.
But I tested it the way you write it and I am getting the same behavior as you describe: when the active Viewpoint is a Section, and the Trace Reference is another Section, I cannot snap to model elements in the Trace Reference. If the Trace Reference is a Floor Plan Viewpoint or a Layout, I can snap to all elements.

I also noticed another thing which I think is a bug: in the Trace Reference Palette, there is a right-pointing arrow button to the right of the Reference opacity slider. It takes you to the pop-up Dialog where you can define which element types should be displayed in the Trace Reference. In the list I can see all Element types, including the Stair element type (new in AC21), but I cannot see the Railing element type (also new in AC21). I think this is also a bug.

I will report these findings to GRAPHISOFT.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Stress Co.
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 1496
Location: N 43 31.16', W 114 18.895', Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:16 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

laszlonagy wrote:
I also noticed another thing which I think is a bug: in the Trace Reference Palette, there is a right-pointing arrow button to the right of the Reference opacity slider. It takes you to the pop-up Dialog where you can define which element types should be displayed in the Trace Reference. In the list I can see all Element types, including the Stair element type (new in AC21), but I cannot see the Railing element type (also new in AC21).

I cannot see any 3D elements in that list (walls, roofs, stairs, slabs, shells, morphs, beams or columns).

_________________
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.11.5
Processor: 3.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
ArchiCAD 21 (4022 USA Full)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

It seems that the list is Viewpoint-dependent. In Sections, no building element types are present, only 2D element types (you cannot create building element types in Section, maybe that is the reason why). On the Floor Plan, all element types are on the list (except for Railings).

But now that you point this out, I am starting to wonder whether this is actually a "feature" (AKA "limitation") of the Trace Reference. The Trace Reference Palette does not display any building element types on that list in Section-type Viewpoints. And maybe this is the reason why you cannot snap to the nodes of those building element types in the Trace Reference in Section-type Viewpoints.

Anyway, I will forward this to GRAPHISOFT and hopefully we will get some answer to this.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Stress Co.
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 1496
Location: N 43 31.16', W 114 18.895', Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot Snap to Trace Reference Reply with quote

Thanks Laszlo
_________________
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.11.5
Processor: 3.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
ArchiCAD 21 (4022 USA Full)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Cannot Snap to Trace Reference All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy