Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Student Forum >>> Can full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jbArch
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Portland Oregon USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 6:18 pm    Post subject: Can full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac? Reply with quote

We have a summer intern who is a student and downloaded the EDU version to start learning archicad. We are using license manager to allow him access to my full version while working on our projects in the office. Ideally he could go home and practice on the EDU version after business hours, or use it for school projects.

But we are finding that the two versions don't play nice on the same Mac. No matter what we do, archicad ALWAYS opens in EDU version, even if the license has been downloaded via license manager.

Any tips?

_________________
AC 19 (6006) USA
Mac OSX 10.9.5 on MacBook Pro 2.3GHz Intel i7, 16GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB VRAM, 500GB SSD


Last edited by jbArch on Fri Jun 17, 2016 6:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 3990
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 6:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Cann full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac? Reply with quote

• Have each installed to a specific folder from the start.
• Change the name of ARCHICAD.APP that is in the ARCHICAD 19 EDU folder to ARCHICAD EDU.APP
• Select a *.PLN use CMD+I and choose the professional version as the one to open all archicad files. This should fix your main problem since it looks like the EDU version was installed last and it "grabbed" all PLNs as its files so when you double click on it that is what it is launched.
• When the intern needs to open the EDU version then he will need to use right click and select the AC-EDU as the app to open for that file. Or alternative launch first the EDU version of AC instead of double clicking on a file to open it.

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
jbArch
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Portland Oregon USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 6:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Can full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac? Reply with quote

Eduardo, Thanks for your reply. I've seen you give that advice before when I searched the forum.

The problem is that Archicad does not appear to actually install two versions. It seems to just install one version and then looks for the license on the computer. Maybe I'm wrong about this and someone from GS can weigh in?

_________________
AC 19 (6006) USA
Mac OSX 10.9.5 on MacBook Pro 2.3GHz Intel i7, 16GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB VRAM, 500GB SSD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 3990
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Can full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac? Reply with quote

When you choose to install it choose a custom location and create a new folder. Then the next step should be choosing the version. One will be with serial number (EDU) one will be with WIBU (Commercial).
You cannot copy the folders and change the name since the protection system for the versions are different though you only need one installer.

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1456
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Can full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac? Reply with quote

What I do is move the education.lic license file out of the ARCHICAD root folder. I can than plug in a hardware dongle and launch the commercial version.
Simple stop ARCHICAD, move the license file back and than launch again to get an educational version launched.

That way, I have only one installation folder (per version, e.g. 19 INT).

Not sure if this works similar with a software-locked commercial version as opposed to a hardware-locked version.

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1456
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:52 am    Post subject: Re: Can full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac? Reply with quote

In AC 21 this works a bit differently, as the eduction.lic file is stored in a different place. But I do switch. At work, we use a dongle for developer-related work. When I teach, I use the EDU version. All from a single installation.
_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Student Forum >>> Can full and education AC versions coexist on same Mac? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy