Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Bulk change layer settings in multiple layer combinations
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
benjamin_chan
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 136
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:36 am    Post subject: Bulk change layer settings in multiple layer combinations Reply with quote

Hi

Is there a way to bulk change a layer's settings (visibility, locking, intersection number) across multiple layer combinations?

So I have a created a new layer, and want it to appear as intersection number 55 across all my 20 odd layer combinations. But currently I am having to enter "55" manually across all layer combinations individually which is a pain

Ben

_________________
ARCHICAD 21 5010. Windows 7 x64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1397
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:50 am    Post subject: Re: Bulk change layer settings in multiple layer combination Reply with quote

Wish I knew this one too Sad

At least, after you've fixed all the layer combinations, if you need the layer in another project you can import the layer and overwrite all the layer combinations through attribute manager.

_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
allanp
New member
New member

Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:43 am    Post subject: Re: Bulk change layer settings in multiple layer combination Reply with quote

Hi,
If you select the layer on the right hand side(layer list) then its settings are shown on the left hand side(layer combinations List)

If you then change the number in the left hand side(layer combinations List), it is automatically changed that layer settings in that layer combination, you do not need to press the update button.

Also if you click on the lock or visibility buttons, they instantly change the setting of that layer for the layer combination you click in.

its not "Everything at once" but it does make it quick and easy to change the settings for a single layer, but if you are only doing 20 layer combinations, it would be less than a minute.



Layercombo.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  320.01 KB
 Viewed:  16 Time(s)

Layercombo.jpg



_________________
____________
Allan P.
Archicad 4.55 to 21
GDL from Blocks to Nurbs
Apple from Mac Classic to iMac
Windows from 3.11 to Windows 10


Last edited by allanp on Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:53 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
benjamin_chan
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 136
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:45 am    Post subject: Re: Bulk change layer settings in multiple layer combination Reply with quote

Thanks Allanp
That is what I am doing already, however, with 20odd layer combinations it is just a little bit annoying

_________________
ARCHICAD 21 5010. Windows 7 x64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5992
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:48 am    Post subject: Re: Bulk change layer settings in multiple layer combination Reply with quote

You have to select the layer and then change it in each of the combinations you want to change it in.
No you can't change all combinations at once unfortunately.

Still it is better than the old way we had to do it.
Select the combination, change the layer setting then press the update button.
Repeat for each combination.
You can still do it that way if you want. Laughing

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Bulk change layer settings in multiple layer combinations All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy