Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Documentation >>> Continuos elevations
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
darwinland
New member
New member

Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Posts: 11
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:11 am    Post subject: Continuos elevations Reply with quote

I have a box enclosing an stair case, not all the angles of the box are 90 degrees, some are some not. I want to create a continuous elevation of all the sides of the box. Is that possible? Another question that arose me when I was an Autocad user it is that if it possible to create developed elevations of curved facades, auto cad lacked of that option so I always switched to Rhino, is this task possible with Archicad?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5902
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:22 am    Post subject: Re: Continuos elevations Reply with quote

I would do separate elevations perpendicular to each wall of your stair and then just place them next to each other on your layout page.

No, Archicad can't do curved elevations.
All you can do is many short elevations tangential to the curve and then place them together ion a layout - but I could imaging this would get very messy.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
darwinland
New member
New member

Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Posts: 11
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:03 am    Post subject: Re: Continuos elevations Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
I would do separate elevations perpendicular to each wall of your stair and then just place them next to each other on your layout page.

No, Archicad can't do curved elevations.
All you can do is many short elevations tangential to the curve and then place them together ion a layout - but I could imaging this would get very messy.

Barry.


Thank you for your answer, but like a newie, I have the elevation in differens layouts, how can I put them in the same layout?, just copy+paste?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5902
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:13 am    Post subject: Re: Continuos elevations Reply with quote

Yes, just copy and paste or cut and paste may be better.

You can also drag the drawings in the navigator list from one layout to another.
Holding CTRL (command on Mac?) while doing this will give you a copy of the drawing leaving the original where it was.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
darwinland
New member
New member

Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Posts: 11
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:15 am    Post subject: Re: Continuos elevations Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
Yes, just copy and paste or cut and paste may be better.

You can also drag the drawings in the navigator list from one layout to another.
Holding CTRL (command on Mac?) while doing this will give you a copy of the drawing leaving the original where it was.

Barry.

Tkx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Continuos elevations Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
You can also drag the drawings in the navigator list from one layout to another.
Holding CTRL (command on Mac?) while doing this will give you a copy of the drawing leaving the original where it was.

It is the option key on the Mac (standard Mac interface for most applications).

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
sinceV6
Active member
Active member

Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 418
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Continuos elevations Reply with quote

Hi.
You can also use the Interior Elevation tool if you don't want separate elevations from the Elevation tool. It is still kind of messy but would give a certain higher degree of control in the model/view map. Edges won't connect though, but it is easy to assemble in layout.

As for curved elevation, the same principle might apply. Small elevations using the Interior Elevation tool. Watch this video to see how it could be done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Documentation >>> Continuos elevations All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy