Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Test123
Guest
Guest

Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Orange

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:59 pm    Post subject: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

Hello -

Looking high/low for where the IFC Scheme Setup went to from AC 20 to AC 21, with no success.

Any help would be appreciated!

_________________
AC user since 2015

AC29
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit| Intel Core i7-2600 3.40Ghz | 16Gb RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 4004
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:32 pm    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

File -> Interoperability ->IFC
_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Test123
Guest
Guest

Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Orange

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:28 pm    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

Yes, that shows up in AC20, but looking for its location in AC21. Did it change names? Posting screenshot for clarification.


IFCSCHEME.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  134.88 KB
 Viewed:  12 Time(s)

IFCSCHEME.jpg



_________________
AC user since 2015

AC29
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit| Intel Core i7-2600 3.40Ghz | 16Gb RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 4004
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:24 pm    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

In 21 they changed the way IFC works and most of the stuff is done now using Property Manager (which existed under 20( and/or Classification Manager (under Options) with this configured then you map out the way you want to translate them. The concept according to GS is that now we have a "native" system for speed and other goodies and then we "export out" to IFC like saving a PDF or DWG. In this way we don't bog down the AC File.
The problem is that this new system breaks down our AC20 and previous workflows. Look in page 86 of the AC21 Help Guide or in Help Center for the new stuff.

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
daviddelven
New member
New member

Joined: 31 May 2015
Posts: 36
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:23 pm    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

Hello Eduardo,

Downstreaming your answer, what about COBie 2.4 MVD ? When you apply it after creating a Custom Translator in order to get an IFC Scheme suitable to COBie , the only two available schemes are the default 2x3 and 4.

What's new on this workflow ?

_________________
David Delgado Vendrell
http://www.daviddelgado.cat
i5-2300 16GB RAM
Dual Monitor 19"+21" (1440x900), AMD Radeon HD 5450
SSD+HDD, Win10 Home - 64 ENG
AC18-AC21 INT (64-bit, latest build)
Surfing with ARCHICAD since 2013
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1471
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:08 am    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

There is a difference between the scheme (Ifc2x3 and IFC4) and the MVD (Coordination View, Design Transfer View, COBie ...).
_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2018/SketchUp2018/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity2017
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/HiSierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Da3dalus
Active member
Active member

Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 225
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:20 pm    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

If it's all supposedly handled in the Properties and Classification Manager in AC21, how are IFC Properties linked to non-Property Parameters in each Element?

For example, when I export IFC to Revit, the recipients don't receive any Building Material information, or the name of the Composite, of a Wall. I'm using the "Revit Export for Reference Model" exporter into Revit 2018.1. Unless I'm going crazy, this was never a problem before; those things used to be mapped to IFC data. Now I don't see any way to see or adjust the data mapping. Something is terribly wrong, since it seems the IFC transfer is actually WORSE than it used to be, and LESS "Information" is getting through. It's critical that my Structural Engineer knows if he's looking at a masonry or frame wall.

This back and forth is leading to a lot of late nights, and honestly, the documentation for IFC setup could be written better. It was obviously devised by Database Programmers, and needs to be translated into Architect-ese. I'm sure the answer is in there, but I can't find it!

_________________
Chuck Kottka
Orcutt Winslow
Phoenix, Arizona, USA

ArchiCAD 21 (since 4.5)
Mobile: Macbook Pro 15" Touchbar OSX 10.12.6 Core i7 2.9GHz/16GB RAM/Radeon Pro560 4GB
Home: Mac Pro OSX 10.11.6 Dual-Quad 2.8GHz/18GB RAM/512MB nVidia GeForce 8800GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) 
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1471
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:47 pm    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

Just a shot in the dark, but in Ifc2x3, there is only little material information. Much more with IFC4.

Did you check your model in an IFC viewer before sharing, to rule out the chance that the information is in the IFC but Revit does not use it. There are things which can go wrong at both sides of the transfer.

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2018/SketchUp2018/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity2017
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/HiSierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Da3dalus
Active member
Active member

Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 225
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:22 am    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

After some experimentation, we found that the "General Export" and "Revit Structure" translators work best. Materials come through correctly now.

Previously, in AC19-20, we found the General translator was never very good, and "Reference Model Export to Revit" (now "Revit Export for Reference Model") gave us the best set of information, including composites. The tables must have turned. Reference Model is now all about geometry, and has stripped much of the information.

Oddly enough, when the Reference Model is opened in Solibri SMV, the composite names and materials are clearly visible. It says each material is 0" thick, which has been addressed on ArchiCAD Talk, but the point is they are in there. They just don't make it into Revit (even using the GS Improved Import).

I'm still not using IFC4 out of fear that Revit can't handle it. Maybe once all of my projects have been updated to the latest AC21 Classifications (note to GS: why couldn't they Migrate into the new Scheme when an older file is opened? AT LEAST assign elements automatically by Tool!).

I still need to do some experimentation to see if the General translator plays nice with advanced geometry like Complex Profiles and SEO's. But for now, that's our choice.

_________________
Chuck Kottka
Orcutt Winslow
Phoenix, Arizona, USA

ArchiCAD 21 (since 4.5)
Mobile: Macbook Pro 15" Touchbar OSX 10.12.6 Core i7 2.9GHz/16GB RAM/Radeon Pro560 4GB
Home: Mac Pro OSX 10.11.6 Dual-Quad 2.8GHz/18GB RAM/512MB nVidia GeForce 8800GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) 
uisanata
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 19 Jun 2006
Posts: 174
Location: Luxembourg

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 1:55 pm    Post subject: Re: AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? Reply with quote

hello there

please help me out!

we migrated a v20 file in 21 and everything is now IFCBuildingElementProxy. Is it possible to remap IFC properties back to their place? I imagine it's not gonna be automatic but at least I will avoid starting from scratch.


thank you

_________________
arch. e. atanasiu

AC21 4022 INT on W7ProX64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> AC 20 to AC 21 : Where is IFC Scheme Setup? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy