Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> text conversion from archicad to dwg
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jazzdude
New member
New member

Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Location: cyprus

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:07 pm    Post subject: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

I have tried sending from A8 drawings to my consultant who uses Autocad 2000 and have done an export from plotmaker. Although the dimensions text has translated OK, any typed text has converted to goggledygook. Now this could be because I am using a Greek keyboard which is typing the text in Arial Unicode Ms Greek.

When I have saved the file an opened it on my own computer which has this font on it the Greek turns gibberish. This is also the case on my engineers computer.

What should I do in the conversion stage to avoid this?

The other query I have is, presumably when publishing from Plotmaker to dwg, you end up with uneditable dwg files and when you save as from Archicad you can edit them in Autocad.

If this is the rule, how do you export all the plans, sections and elevations from an Archicad file without soing a save as routine for each and every drawing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Matthew Lohden
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 6609
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 7:12 pm    Post subject: Re: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

DWGs from PlotMaker are fully editable in AutoCAD. The big difference from ArchiCAD's DWGs is the inclusion of paper space for the layouts.
_________________
Matthew Lohden
Consultant, SF CA

MacPro 8core 32GB Radeon 5870
OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion, XP32, Win 7x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
~/archiben
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 3152
Location: CHRISTCHURCH, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 10:08 pm    Post subject: Re: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

jazzdude wrote:
If this is the rule, how do you export all the plans, sections and elevations from an Archicad file without soing a save as routine for each and every drawing?


you can use the publisher in archiCAD just as you would in plotmaker to set up a 'set' of dwg's for publishing. one click and they're all done. but as matthew says, dwg's are just as editable from plotmaker.

~/archiben

_________________
b e n f r o s t
b f [a t ] p l a n b a r c h i t e c t u r e [d o t] n z
archicad | sketchup! | coffeecup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
jazzdude
New member
New member

Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Location: cyprus

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 11:36 am    Post subject: Re: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

Hi everyone

any ideas about the font problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Djordje
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 5422
Location: Dubai, UAE

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 4:32 pm    Post subject: Re: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

jazzdude wrote:
any ideas about the font problems?


Does your consultant have the same font installed on his machine?

Did you specify the special characters translation rules in the Translator?

Did you specify ANY translation rules in the Translator?

ArchiCAD does not have Unicode support, so your system fonts have to support the language you are using.

_________________
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... currently 20 Win7Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
jazzdude
New member
New member

Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Location: cyprus

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2003 10:13 am    Post subject: Re: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

I admit that i didnt put any translation rules in the translator as Iassumed it was like a dxf translation where most stuff goes over. I have tried changing the translating rules but when I open the dialog boxes there is nothing to chose from. If i got the consultant to email me one of his files, can archicad refer to that and set all the attributes to that file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Djordje
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 5422
Location: Dubai, UAE

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2003 4:22 pm    Post subject: Re: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

jazzdude wrote:
I admit that i didnt put any translation rules in the translator as Iassumed it was like a dxf translation where most stuff goes over. I have tried changing the translating rules but when I open the dialog boxes there is nothing to chose from. If i got the consultant to email me one of his files, can archicad refer to that and set all the attributes to that file?


Yes, use his file as a template.

I just tried the translation with Serbian Latin, Arial Eastern European, all works well ... you see in AutoCAD what you see in ArchiCAD.

It might be your fonts; try to use the basic ones (Arial for example)

_________________
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... currently 20 Win7Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
jazzdude
New member
New member

Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Location: cyprus

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2003 5:24 pm    Post subject: Re: text conversion from archicad to dwg Reply with quote

I am really sorry but I just cannot get my head round this. I have read the manuals, downloaded the dxf conversion file pdf and dont seem to understand how this works. It is written for those who want to have control over every little line etc. I just want my drawings to look as they do in Archicad and to be editable by the consultant.

Can you not just click on an autocad file and say, I want it to look like that?

I have tried saving in Archicad and opening in Autocad on the same computer where the fonts are operating in both yet the greek still converts wrong.

Is there anywhere I can get a walkthrough on this for dummies as I am lost here on this conversion thing. I tried setting a template file but must have done it wrong. In the text section of the translator it asks for styles as opposed to fonts, and when you click on them they stay blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> text conversion from archicad to dwg All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy