Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera"
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
JCovarrubias
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Graphisoft US

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 8:47 pm    Post subject: has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera" Reply with quote

.. (Mac) for copy/paste into PlotMaker Layout's?

Is it any more effective than a regular copy/paste on OS X?

_________________
http://tr.graphisoftus.com/
Jeffry Covarrubias
GS US Technical Support Team Leader
P-C2D 1.86GHz/2GB w/ 256MB GeForce 8600GTS; G4 OS 10.4.10 1GHz/1GB "[that other software] is a fancy set of electronic marker pens"


Last edited by JCovarrubias on Mon Jan 26, 2004 4:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
JCovarrubias
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Graphisoft US

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 pm    Post subject: Re: anyone use MS Office:Mac v.X's "Camera" tool f Reply with quote

How does it work? it's an alternative to OLE (which doesn't exist on OS X for ArchiCAD/PlotMaker)

1.) Tools-> Customize (go to right column)-> Camera
2.) Drag this Camera icon to your upper toolbar in Excel for an easy shortcut to the tool
3.) Highlight cells you want to capture
4.) Click on Camera icon that you created
5.) In PlotMaker Layout, Paste the captured cells

_________________
http://tr.graphisoftus.com/
Jeffry Covarrubias
GS US Technical Support Team Leader
P-C2D 1.86GHz/2GB w/ 256MB GeForce 8600GTS; G4 OS 10.4.10 1GHz/1GB "[that other software] is a fancy set of electronic marker pens"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
JCovarrubias
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Graphisoft US

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 4:06 pm    Post subject: Re: has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera& Reply with quote

screenshot below


camera.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  20.29 KB
 Viewed:  619 Time(s)

camera.JPG



_________________
http://tr.graphisoftus.com/
Jeffry Covarrubias
GS US Technical Support Team Leader
P-C2D 1.86GHz/2GB w/ 256MB GeForce 8600GTS; G4 OS 10.4.10 1GHz/1GB "[that other software] is a fancy set of electronic marker pens"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
tsturm
Active member
Active member

Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Beverly, MA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 9:59 pm    Post subject: Re: has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera& Reply with quote

Jeffery

This was a great process in older versions of AC and PM and Excel.

Today using Office X.v and AC 8.1 and PM 3.1, I find that simply selecting and copying (cmd+c) the table and then opening a new drawing and pasting the information.

Also, I make sure the drawing is at 100 percent when I do the paste. This can be done into AC so that links between plotmaker and archicad are used in updating. Or a person can open the PMK files and paste the information in there. Either method works just by copying and pasting. No more looking around for the camera tool.

Your method still works, mine is just another method with less steps.

_________________
Terrence Sturm, Architect -- Seeking Freelance work
_______________
Mac OSX 10.6.9 Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53hz
AC 10 build 1188
AC 11 build 1210
AC 13
AC 14 build 4044
AC 15 build 3267
AC 16
AC 17 build 5019
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
JCovarrubias
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Graphisoft US

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: Re: has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera& Reply with quote

copy/paste has been a method I've used in the past
see FAQ's # 352 at
http://tr.graphisoftus.com/

as stated "Drag this Camera icon to your upper toolbar in Excel for an easy shortcut to the tool"
you can make a change to your toolbar so that the camera is always available, so do the steps at least once

my point for posting about the Camera tool:
I wanted to know if it was more accurate/precise (effective) than copy/paste



camera_t.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  9.5 KB
 Viewed:  8267 Time(s)

camera_t.JPG



_________________
http://tr.graphisoftus.com/
Jeffry Covarrubias
GS US Technical Support Team Leader
P-C2D 1.86GHz/2GB w/ 256MB GeForce 8600GTS; G4 OS 10.4.10 1GHz/1GB "[that other software] is a fancy set of electronic marker pens"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
tsturm
Active member
Active member

Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Beverly, MA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:15 am    Post subject: Re: has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera& Reply with quote

My experience has been that pasting PICT content into AC or PM can get messed up depending on the user. If the user does not consistantly set the scale of the work area before pasting then the infomation is often out of scale.

The Camera method in Excel will give you a PICT version of the Excel table. This information then pasted into AC can then be scaled incorrectly based on the percentage the person is then set to when viewing the work area.

Also a user might be frustated in Excel when trying to make a table/schedule which is a certain size. This is important when you are working with office standards and determined grids on your layout sheets. The schedules need to fit the grid. In Excel, there is no way to size the columns base on inches.

Here I draw a bounding box. This box can be set in size to inches. I can be moved and snapped to the cells of the schedule and prevented from resizing when the columns are moved and changed.

Now I have control over the informatin coming from Excel.

Lately, I have been just copying a selection of cells and pasting them into a Plotmaker Drawing. Then saving this file as a PMK. This PMK is then linked to a layout. All the schedule's information can be edited if need be. The schedule can be moved around the layout without losing any of its parts. It can be added to any number of projects. So for offices where a schedule of abbreviations is used. This schedule can be done once and then used again and again.

The Camera process may still be necessary for some people. I find that getting to this tool in Excel is very difficult for some people. And the process much more involved than the method I have tried to describe.

If someone wants, I can post pictures of my process.

_________________
Terrence Sturm, Architect -- Seeking Freelance work
_______________
Mac OSX 10.6.9 Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53hz
AC 10 build 1188
AC 11 build 1210
AC 13
AC 14 build 4044
AC 15 build 3267
AC 16
AC 17 build 5019
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
JCovarrubias
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Graphisoft US

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 3:28 pm    Post subject: Re: has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera& Reply with quote

Interesting copy/paste+PMK technique, I would like to post this to our TR database (with your permission)

thank you

_________________
http://tr.graphisoftus.com/
Jeffry Covarrubias
GS US Technical Support Team Leader
P-C2D 1.86GHz/2GB w/ 256MB GeForce 8600GTS; G4 OS 10.4.10 1GHz/1GB "[that other software] is a fancy set of electronic marker pens"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
tsturm
Active member
Active member

Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Beverly, MA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 4:20 am    Post subject: Re: has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera& Reply with quote

Dear Jeff

Would you like me to send you some screen captures of my process? do you have a good, clear understanding of the process?

I would be happy to have you post this process to you TR site.

_________________
Terrence Sturm, Architect -- Seeking Freelance work
_______________
Mac OSX 10.6.9 Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53hz
AC 10 build 1188
AC 11 build 1210
AC 13
AC 14 build 4044
AC 15 build 3267
AC 16
AC 17 build 5019
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> has anyone tried to use Office v.X Excel's "Camera" All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy