Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> ARCHICAD+ >>> !Restored: Success = getting new customers Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 35, 36, 37  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Petros Ioannou
Active member
Active member

Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 368
Location: London UK

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:25 am    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

samsung wrote:

The best way to learn AC very easy is to try to be a good organised architect.
The best way to learn Autodesk is to try to be a good computer-expert or engineer.




Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Miki Woodie
Active member
Active member

Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 435
Location: USA, Plymouth MN

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 6:57 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Basically, don't switch. You will not like what you will see in Revit. Revit is still to much "read me" software. By "read me" I mean there are no icons or symbols representing option in Properties. A lot of scrolling through the options. Everything is so compacted. I personally don't like the interface. And still some people say integrated, no updating necessary, but Revit experts tell me, If I will isolate part of the plan (some area) will it be isolated also in 3D ? No. Why ? Can I see in 3D just 1-st floor - NO, I mean yes you can, but it is so frustrating how to make it that it is almost pointless to use it. Ghrrr. Btw. Make a simple test. Draw a wall on a plan a have the 3D window open, you will not see the wall until it is created, same thing the other way. So where is the seamlessness here? Don't get me wrong, I like Revit, but it is still a [censored].
_________________
ArchiCAD 4.16 - 19.0
Windows 7
Dell M7720, 64 GM RAM, Quadro M5000M
Portfolio and Resume
www.emotionarchitecture.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/michalwojtak
https://twitter.com/mikiwoodie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
samsung
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 162
Location: germany

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:41 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Thanks Miki
Than it is no copy Razz

The website of revit is so nice, I have feeling, with this Revit I can be rabbit in worderland.

I will go on with my architects tool ArchiCAD.

_________________
AC9, Window XP SP2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Miki Woodie
Active member
Active member

Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 435
Location: USA, Plymouth MN

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:45 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Who and why censored that word? Is that automatic? To all of you - the censored word is description of the kid between 11 and 19. t e e n .
_________________
ArchiCAD 4.16 - 19.0
Windows 7
Dell M7720, 64 GM RAM, Quadro M5000M
Portfolio and Resume
www.emotionarchitecture.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/michalwojtak
https://twitter.com/mikiwoodie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:49 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Miki Woodie wrote:
Who and why censored that word? Is that automatic? To all of you - the censored word is description of the kid between 11 and 19. t e e n .


Yeah, the censoring is automatic on the board. Some words get filtered no matter what, usually ones with any possible sexual connotations.

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Scott Davis
Active member
Active member

Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 261
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:58 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Miki Woodie wrote:
you will not see the wall until it is created


Typically, thats the way it works. you dont see things until you actually create them. Does this make sense to anyone else?

Miki Woodie wrote:
but it is so frustrating how to make it that it is almost pointless to use it.


clicking "Orient to other View" is frustrating? Wow, if the simple things frustrate you.....

_________________
Scott Davis
Autodesk, Inc.

On March 5, 2007 I joined Autodesk, Inc. as a Technical Specialist. Respectfully, I will no longer be actively participating in the Archicad-Talk fourms. Thank you for always allowing me to be a part of your community.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Miki Woodie
Active member
Active member

Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 435
Location: USA, Plymouth MN

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:27 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Scott Davis wrote:
Miki Woodie wrote:
you will not see the wall until it is created


Typically, thats the way it works. you dont see things until you actually create them. Does this make sense to anyone else?


I mean when you are creating ex. wall you see a preview how it will look, before you accept second node, but only in current window.


Scott Davis wrote:

Miki Woodie wrote:
but it is so frustrating how to make it that it is almost pointless to use it.


clicking "Orient to other View" is frustrating? Wow, if the simple things frustrate you.....


Scott you know it is not so intuitive, you have to activate 3D windows first (if model is complex it takes time) then use Orient (this is in my opinion not a small thing).Orient command is changing your point of view, and maybe I'm using it wrong but when I choose "Level 2" (from the standard starting settings) it shows all Level 1 and cut in half Level 2. And what if building have middle levels? This in my opinion is far more difficult to use than just selecting elements you want to see and activate a 3D window. My opinion of course. What Revit have is more similar to AC Cut planes but limited to only horizontal cut planes (although enhanced with interactivity).

_________________
ArchiCAD 4.16 - 19.0
Windows 7
Dell M7720, 64 GM RAM, Quadro M5000M
Portfolio and Resume
www.emotionarchitecture.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/michalwojtak
https://twitter.com/mikiwoodie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
samsung
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 162
Location: germany

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:43 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Miki Woodie wrote:
What Revit have is more similar to AC Cut planes but limited to only horizontal cut planes (although enhanced with interactivity).


I must laugh... It is not for me. 3D model with Revit, AutoCAD and AC is OK. 3D model is same 3d model.
But the method of working is very important.

Phase to phase is important. From concept and to calculating and to working drawing and BOQ, if concept changed, than automatically updated.
This concept from AC makes AC really powerfull, not for Frank Gehry Architecture.

Thank you, Miki
I know very well what you mean. The both programms are quite different.

_________________
AC9, Window XP SP2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Joseph Harouni
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 853
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:21 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

~/archiben wrote:
.........as an archicad user i have a gut feeling that the revit engine is far superior. whilst the revit feature set may be lacking in some areas at present (my opinion)...........i believe that it will be able to accommodate much more future development than archicad's underlying technologies currently can.

~/archiben


Ben I value your thoughts on future of AC vs. Revit a lot. If what you say is correct should we be thinking about a transition to Revit in coming years? I am putting the future of my company on AC and would like to have some planning in order?
Thanks in advance on your input,
Joseph

_________________
macbook pro l3"
OS X 10.12.5
ac 21
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1456
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:25 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

As an ArchiCAD user with basic Revit skills, I appreciate Revit very much. I think that they might even have the best BIM integration at the moment, especially with the more direct updating, the element relationships and a well-thought out workflow. And they finally support IFC both ways, have connections with structural software and engineering and have a good graphical engine. And they seem to be improving nicely, despite the rather dull and text-oriented interface.

But ArchiCAD and Revit are about the same quality level. To me, these two programs are clearly the top of the crowd. I don't want to pick any of them to be the best (certainly with my limited experience in Revit and my lack of day-to-day work in ArchiCAD at the moment).

Switching, though, is not the best option. When you switch, you do it for the things you love in the other application, but you'll miss the things you liked in your current application. Just don't switch to Architectural Desktop... I have spent more time there last month then in ArchiCAD or Revit (for teaching purposes) and it was not my best time spent...

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> ARCHICAD+ >>> !Restored: Success = getting new customers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 35, 36, 37  Next
Page 2 of 37

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy