Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> ARCHICAD+ >>> !Restored: Success = getting new customers Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 35, 36, 37  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Rakela Raul
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:06 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

the object remains editable.....and the second question is yes, like rotate de element in floor plan in the "Z" plane, and more
_________________
MACBKPro /32GiG / 240SSD
AC V6 to V18 - RVT V11 to V16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger   
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:18 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Rakela Raul wrote:
the object remains editable.....and the second question is yes, like rotate de element in floor plan in the "Z" plane, and more


Can you change things like the radius of the curve or the length of legs in the object? If so, that's better than i expected.

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Rakela Raul
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:28 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

u can stretch the object to fit ur needs, but if you ask for manual !!!!
trial and error is not bad
Shocked

_________________
MACBKPro /32GiG / 240SSD
AC V6 to V18 - RVT V11 to V16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger   
Geoff Briggs
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 634
Location: Seattle, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:24 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

TomWaltz wrote:
The only purchased add-on I've consistantly used is the Smart Part Doors & Windows, just because I found them simpler and better behaved than the GS ones, but with AC10 I've even changed that stance...


Good on ya mate, but for the life of me I don't know how you do it unless you dig in and fix stuff. My main complaint w/ the GS doors and windows is their section profile. No matter how much tweaking I cannot get the section to look anything like a typical North American wood window or door. Sloping sills are especially bad. Add to that the weird (wrong), often hard coded pens and I just throw my hands up and scream "Have these guys ever looked at a real door or window." It doesn't have to be perfect but for me must represent the unit size and rough opening accurately and have acceptable graphics. IMHO the GS parts do neither.

_________________
Regards,
Geoff Briggs
I & I Design

AC18US/ 2.8GHz i7 iMac (2009), 12GB RAM, Radeon HD5670 / OS 10.10.x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:16 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Geoff Briggs wrote:
but for the life of me I don't know how you do it unless you dig in and fix stuff.


Nope... I'm actually running stock GS doors & windows. Hard to believe, but I finally have all the control I wanted from them.... though your standards might be different than mine Wink

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Rob
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 953
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 12:06 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

We are completely ignoring standard GS openings - it's still clunky rubbish after such a long time of redeveloping and fixing them it is not flexible enough solution.
We fully rely on Door/Window Builder especially when the interface has improved significantly with AC10 versions we have abandoned GS stuff for good.

Some of the advantages:
1. it's just ONE library part - easier to manage
2. therefore the UI is the same
3. far more flexible then any of GS 'pieces'
4. it actually DOES THE PROPERLY DRAWN,SCALED AND DIMENSIONED automatic schedules which even AC itself can't do.

well, disadvantage on the other hand:
1. still a bit buggy (but this is a feature of AC itself )

I think the perfect scenario would be if GS could acquire this product and use its resources to clean down the code or at least pick up some brains from it and implement that into AC.

_________________
Robert Kalocay

AC19 UKI
iMac 27"::i7Quad::20GB::OSX10.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Rakela Raul
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Quote:
though your standards might be different than mine

i was thinking about the same...not only that, we have different 'needs' as well;
G.B. and Bob like the window customization to the second to show the correct detail which is absolutely the rt thing to do and i will look into that asap.....and myself take care of that detail part of the business with manufactures own details in a way of pdf/jpeg....and prefer things like archiforma to take care of the 'big picture' or 'forma' first i guess, which i shouldnt worry about either cuz now that i think it over, i should also take care of that with proprietary manufacturer's details....and the rendering part, which is the part i enjoy the most myself, i might just need piranessi to add trims and details.
i might endup buying the wdw thing!!!

_________________
MACBKPro /32GiG / 240SSD
AC V6 to V18 - RVT V11 to V16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger   
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 3:47 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Rob wrote:
We are completely ignoring standard GS openings - it's still clunky rubbish after such a long time of redeveloping and fixing them it is not flexible enough solution.
We fully rely on Door/Window Builder especially when the interface has improved significantly with AC10 versions we have abandoned GS stuff for good.

Some of the advantages:
1. it's just ONE library part - easier to manage
2. therefore the UI is the same
3. far more flexible then any of GS 'pieces'
4. it actually DOES THE PROPERLY DRAWN,SCALED AND DIMENSIONED automatic schedules which even AC itself can't do.

well, disadvantage on the other hand:
1. still a bit buggy (but this is a feature of AC itself )

I think the perfect scenario would be if GS could acquire this product and use its resources to clean down the code or at least pick up some brains from it and implement that into AC.


I'm not sure about the newer versions, but I know a year or so ago when I last looked at it, I found that D&W Builder generated dramatically slower in building elevations (consider most of the projects I deal with are 3 to 4 floors and 100+ feet long, that's a lot of windows!)

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Adalbert Albu
Active member
Active member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 346
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:47 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

back to BIM

All what Revit Structure creates is an analytical model the real analysis of the structural is done in a structural software as Risa 3D.

I want GS to write the software that creates analytical models for:

Structure
Energy analyses including the envelope and gain from lighting and equipment
Lighting to control the light from natural and artificial

For me and the industry this is BIM without addressing these aspects the software is dumb

_________________
Albert Albu
AA Architectural, Inc.
1019 Bloomfield Avenue Suite 2A West Caldwell NJ 07006
(973) 808-1977 www.architecturalinc.com
mac osx - win xp AC3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
joshcookie
New member
New member

Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:11 pm    Post subject: Re: ArchiCAD10 vs Revit!! Reply with quote

Adalbert Albu wrote:


I want GS to write the software that creates analytical models for:

Energy analyses including the envelope and gain from lighting and equipment
Lighting to control the light from natural and artificial

For me and the industry this is BIM without addressing these aspects the software is dumb


You can already do this with ecotect, it reads archicad files directly.
j

_________________
Revit 2009, ArchiCAD 10
PC-Win XP PRo
Pentium Dual Core 3.2 GHz, 4 GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> ARCHICAD+ >>> !Restored: Success = getting new customers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 35, 36, 37  Next
Page 36 of 37

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy