Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> !Restored: Offset Tool like Autocad Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
archislave
Active member
Active member

Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 220
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

This is the one command I miss most about Autocad. If you don't know what I am talking about then next time you are able to access autocad the select a line, polyline, or polygon and press offset. See how simple it is and can be repeated over and over!
_________________
Archislave

archicad 16.0 US, iMac El Capitan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Dwight
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 7263
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

offset tool attached.
keyboard shortcut available.

multiple offsets respond to numerical displacements.



offset.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  61.28 KB
 Viewed:  2178 Time(s)

offset.jpg



_________________
Dwight Atkinson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
archislave
Active member
Active member

Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 220
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Those tools are nothing like the Autocad offset tool with is simple and direct. In autocad if you type o you issue the offset command. You select object enter distance and click the side you want to offset. If you do this with a line you get two parralell lines. If you do this with a polyline then the offset copy is sort of nestled inside or outside. If you do this with a closed polyline then you get concentric offsets placed repeatedly as many times as you click.

The archicad offset 'in my experience' requires you to trace the polyline unless I am wrong! First you have to unfold the icon for offet then trace facet by facet. The offset on the pet palette is the closest to the simple autocad offset but does not seem to offer a duplicate option??

_________________
Archislave

archicad 16.0 US, iMac El Capitan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Dwight
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 7263
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

With all due respect and not hint of sarcasm, I think that you are missing a little practice with this tool and have excess "AutoCAD Attitude."

If I can prove to you that it is the same number of steps in ArchiCAD, will you promise me that you'll try it out? Perhaps this doesn't work the same, but from what you've explained, it seems to be comparable.

Make an ArchiCAD keyboard shortcut to activate the offset function.

Trace the existing polygon to be offset with a spacebar magic wanding - this is comparable to selecting the element in AutoCAD. OR draw your polyline. When you exit the drawing function, it will now follow your cursor click position for the offset amount.

It will also expand the open or closed polyline proportionally.

I don't know if the AutoCAD makes the offset with a copy of the original polyline or not. ArchiCAD will leave the original unaltered.

I haven't had the benefit of an AutoCAD education. Perhaps it has more variants, but the ArchiCAD tool seems to work in just two steps as you need.

Try it out.

_________________
Dwight Atkinson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
archislave
Active member
Active member

Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 220
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

I was going to try it but can't seem to find an offset command. I only see the icons at the bottom or the pet pallette.
_________________
Archislave

archicad 16.0 US, iMac El Capitan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Dwight
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 7263
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Make a keyboard shortcut.

like AutoCAD has.


You'll need two shortcuts:

one for single offset and one for multiple.
Then you don't need an icon.

If you can't see the icons and feel you need them, you probably aren't using expanded palettes.
Switching palette presentation is a secondary mouse click function in ArchiCAD 10.

_________________
Dwight Atkinson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
archislave
Active member
Active member

Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 220
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

o.k. I made a shortcut with control + o (oh). After envoking it I hover over the line and hold the spadebar down - nothing happens. When I select the line tool and then hover with the spacebar I get th magic wand symbol. It looks like you have to select the tool that you used to draw with first. This is not quick. I probably don't understand much about archicad except the default stuff even after 20 months of learning and emailing tech support several times a week.

Perhaps a testimony to the complexity....

_________________
Archislave

archicad 16.0 US, iMac El Capitan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1232
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Cigraph ArchiRuler has a tool similar to what you're looking for.
_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Dwight
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 7263
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:06 am    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Dear Mr Slave:

1: On an existing polyline

Hover over the polyline.
Option click the polyline to switch to that tool if not in that tool. (you should know this already - basic training)
Press your personal shortcut command.
Spacebar magic wand the polyline.
Conduct the offset.

2: A new polyline

Pick polyline tool.
Enable the offset command.
Draw polyline.
When complete, press Enter to stop polyline segment generation.
Conduct offset.

Who cuts your hair?

_________________
Dwight Atkinson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
archislave
Active member
Active member

Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 220
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:26 am    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

I have learned something here - thanks. But, it does not work as simply as autocad. There are still four consecutive things to do. You have to make sure the tool is active - then issue offset shortcut - then hold down the shift bar - then click - then shift + r and the distance. If you want to keep offsetting the same distance concentrically the you have to add the math in your head so for 1' offsets you have to type r 1 - r2 - r3 etc.

In Autocad type cntrl + multi ofset shortcut (forgot key). The command line asks for offset distance - type distance then click poly line and side to offset keep picking the latest polyline and the side. - you create the offsets the same distance each time.

Also the lines are always concentric and parallel. Here is what Archicad produced when it go to the innermost polyline offset. It got confused.



Picture 3.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  3.93 KB
 Viewed:  44452 Time(s)

Picture 3.png



_________________
Archislave

archicad 16.0 US, iMac El Capitan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> !Restored: Offset Tool like Autocad All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 1 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy