Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> !Restored: Offset Tool like Autocad Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:51 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Jill Pickett wrote:
I switched to ArchiCAD about year and a half ago, and still find the offset tool cumbersome. It seems to me that the point of view of previous AutoCAD users is not being given fair consideration.


Has anyone taken the time to teach you how to use it properly?

I found a manual transmission cumbersome until someone taught me how to use a clutch.

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Laura Yanoviak wrote:
Jill Pickett wrote:
I appreciate the humor, and not to sound overly sensitive...but if there is a way to improve a tool, why not do it? And the over 13,000 views of this topic demonstrate it's a valid point.

True, but the poll results are very telling as well. I think that most AC users' point of view is that "different" does not mean that it's "not as good."


Nor does "different" always mean "better."

If Archicad mimicked Autocad's Offset, it would be a step backward, not forward.

It's bad enough Archicad 11's feature set was pretty much focused on "how to draft in a supposed BIM program"

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Laura Yanoviak
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 1664
Location: Denver, Colorado USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:12 am    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

TomWaltz wrote:
Nor does "different" always mean "better."


(Yes -- but I prefer the double negative Smile )

_________________
MacBook Pro 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB of RAM
AC20 US (6005) AC21 (3005) on Mac OS X 10.10.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Jill Pickett
New member
New member

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Location: Dallas,Texas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

TomWaltz wrote:
Jill Pickett wrote:
I switched to ArchiCAD about year and a half ago, and still find the offset tool cumbersome. It seems to me that the point of view of previous AutoCAD users is not being given fair consideration.


Has anyone taken the time to teach you how to use it properly?

I found a manual transmission cumbersome until someone taught me how to use a clutch.


No, it's a small firm and I have to teach myself -and the others. I rely on ArchiCAD help, The Reference Guide, and this forum for information. I'm trying to push us forward with using BIM better, but we aren't pros yet -and I do still miss the AutoCAD offset tool -can't help it...just being honest...even though that apparently makes me a little backward. Wink

_________________
Jill Pickett
ArchiCAD 12 2420 USA FULL
Mac OS X 10.5.6, 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB, 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Keith JAW
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 415
Location: GLASGOW

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

I'm with Jill.

Of course the Archicad tool is very flexible, and you might even grow to love it as much as all the other aficionados do, once you've learned how to master it, and remembered that you've got to be in the same mode as the object you want to offset, and that you need to use the magic wand if you don't want to 'redraw' the object.

But, boy, do I miss the Autocad version!

A dialogue like the fillet/chamfer tool would be so easy!

Keith
Archicad ver 11 on Mac OSX 10.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 4000
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Jill,

Sometimes the main problem is that switchers try to use AC as if it were Autocad. Eventually it gets better, one point is to get used to is place the wall then drag another copy, this substitutes about 75% of the Offsets that you did in Autocad. It is easier in AC to place an object and then move it into place than trying to place it correctly the first time. Conceptually the though process is;

-I need a wall here
-place wall
-edit settings of wall (height+width+materials) minimum settings you know at that point
-fix length
- drag a copy of the wall to next position
-connect a wall from the first one to the second one
-Eyedrop and Inject the settings of previous walls to the new one so it is the same
-Repeat as necessary with other objects
___
In the above workflow Offset is not necessary or a priority. If you need a rectangle instead of drawing the lines first and then the walls, you can draw the walls as a rectangle or draw the slab first (you will need a floor so you might place it now instead of later) and "magic wand" the walls to it.

Teaching AC I never tell them were the Offset command is and in the last 4 years, I have never been asked or complained about it and we teach them Autocad first.

Autocad commands that you will/may be using less or in a different way are;

-fillet
-stretch
-extend
-offset
-Lines

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Keith JAW
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 415
Location: GLASGOW

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

ejrolon wrote:


-I need a wall here
-place wall
-edit settings of wall (height+width+materials) minimum settings you know at that point
-fix length
-drag a copy of the wall to next position
-connect a wall from the first one to the second one


Fine if the wall you're copying is parallel to or at right angles to the grid. Otherwise you have to reset the grid first - and reset it afterwards. So that's an extra 3 clicks before you even count those you need for the offset command. This is where the Autocad command scores.

- I want a wall parallel to this one, and ten metres away.
- Click, 10000, click, done!

ejrolon wrote:

Autocad commands that you will/may be using less or in a different way are;

-fillet
-stretch
-extend
-offset
-Lines


The 'intersect' command matches 'fillet', and I've found no better way for tidying up wall intersections.

Keith

Archicad ver 11 on OSX 10.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 4000
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

Keith,

That is what AC automatic guidelines are for, no need to reset the grid.

Select the Wall
type shortcut for "Drag a copy"
Hover mouse over previous wall -until guideline shows up
Move mouse in direction you want
type the distance
__
Works with Array too Laughing

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Rakela Raul
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

one thing that should be copied from autocad is the selection method (inside -outside fence thing),,the AC method is slow, as slow or old as the vertical and horizontal dimension placing, the 'inclined' selection hepl a little but still !
I wouldnt copy autocad for the selection method though,,there are others software outthere with better selection methods.

but im just an animal that adapts to any solution quickly!! ....thats how programmers see us users anyway Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
MACBKPro /32GiG / 240SSD
AC V6 to V18 - RVT V11 to V16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger   
s2art
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 3440
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 1:10 am    Post subject: Re: Offset Tool like Autocad Reply with quote

ejrolon wrote:
Keith,

That is what AC automatic guidelines are for, no need to reset the grid.

Select the Wall
type shortcut for "Drag a copy"
Hover mouse over previous wall -until guideline shows up
Move mouse in direction you want
type the distance
__
Works with Array too Laughing


You don't even need to wait for guidelines :

Select wall
Type shortcut for Drag a copy
pick a point in space on opposite side of wall to direction of copy
move cursor towards original wall till Perpendicular symbol shows
type distance

Very Happy

_________________
S t u a r t . R o s e
LAD Architecture
AC19 8000 NZE
AC20 5025 NZE
HP Envy Notebook + 27"
Intel i7-6500 2.5GHz, 16GB RAM, Windows 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> !Restored: Offset Tool like Autocad All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 7 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy