Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Wishes >>> Cover & Background Fills for Beams Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
81%
 81%  [ 130 ]
Important (4)
16%
 16%  [ 26 ]
Average (3)
1%
 1%  [ 3 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 1 ]
Not needed (1)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Average: 4.78 points
Total Votes : 160

Author Message
Geof Gainer
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 118
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

This thread is more than seven years old. Version 18 here, still no beam cover fill. Vote on this:

There's no beam fill because…
A. GS is a great company that just hasn't gotten around to a few simple fixes.
B. GS is an evil genius that's holding off on a few fixes so we'll keep buying the upgrades.
C. There's actually a genuine technical reason that beams can't have a cover fill.
D. I actually died a while back, woke up in what I haven't realized is hell, and beams still don't have a cover fill as some sort of cruel punishment.

_________________
AC 19 Build 5005 USA FULL. iMac 27, Intel Core i7, 32G ram. OS X 10.11.1 El Capitan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
johnsyeah
Guest
Guest

Joined: 29 Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Location: australia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:58 am    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

another year, another vote for beam's cover fill

-John

_________________
AC 18
Core i7 4700MQ 2.4 GHz
8GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
fuzzymike2002
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Posts: 192
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:07 am    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

This is ridiculous Graphisoft.

How many years has this request been out there and not even one reply from you, let alone a fix to this fairly painful tool.

COVER FILLS PLEASE!!!

_________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina
Mac OS X 10.10.4
2.7 Ghz Intel Core i7
16GB RAM

Windows 8.1 on office machine

ArchiCAD 6.5-19
http://mikelaidler.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
luciant
New member
New member

Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Graphisoft,
If enabling beams with cover fill ability is technically impossible please let us know so we can simply accept it and move on. Thanks.

_________________
IMac OS X 10.10.5
4 core Intel 3.4 Ghz, 16 GB Ram,
AMD Radeon HD 6970M
Archicad 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
dv_chris
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 20 Jul 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:38 am    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Coming up to 9 years since the first post of this simple, fundamental, request (April 2007).

This one slows me down (still) for EVERY SINGLE PROJECT.
I think the biggest single reason it's important (as mentioned by other commenters) is because of the usefulness of sloped beams with complex profiles for many purposes other than actual beams. Street kerbs, raked mouldings, etc.
Using a morph won't be the same until you can associate a morph with a complex profile and have all the morphs automatically update everywhere when that profile is changed.
(Do that, and I won't complain about the beam tool so much!)

_________________
Running Archicad 18 (4020 AUS) on
Windows 7 Pro 64bit, SP1, IntelXeon 2.13Ghz, 12Gb RAM, dualscreen NVidia Quadro FX3800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
heiterbiswolkig
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 13 Jul 2015
Posts: 69
Location: AUT

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

hi all,

anyone knows news about that topic ?

beam with fill would make a lot easier also in our modeling methods!

bump!

_________________
AC 20 INT 4009 +MEP +BuildingOne / BIMCloud / WIN7, 500GB SSD, 32BG, i7, Quadro M2000M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
clifton
New member
New member

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 6
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Still not fixed in 20!
_________________
ArchiCAD 20US
HP Z210 Workstation
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-2600
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
clifton
New member
New member

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 6
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Since Complex Profiles can be applied to Walls, I am now using walls when I do not need to to use the angled functions of the beam tool.
_________________
ArchiCAD 20US
HP Z210 Workstation
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-2600
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ESP182
New member
New member

Joined: 22 Sep 2015
Posts: 48
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

2007 was when this thread was started, and still no fill? I saw that making a morph for a beam, since those have fill capabilities. Nothing for the beam yet? Please GS throw this thread a bone and make it happen Smile
_________________
AC 20, 19, 18, 15 | W10 PRO | Intel Core i5-2470 @ | 3.2ghz | 16Gb
User since 2015
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Stress Co.
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: N 43º 31.16', W 114º 18.895', Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2016 7:18 am    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

+118
_________________
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.11.5
Processor: 3.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
ArchiCAD 20 (4012 USA Full)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Wishes >>> Cover & Background Fills for Beams All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 5 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy