Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Wishes >>> Cover & Background Fills for Beams Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
81%
 81%  [ 130 ]
Important (4)
16%
 16%  [ 26 ]
Average (3)
1%
 1%  [ 3 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 1 ]
Not needed (1)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Average: 4.78 points
Total Votes : 160

Author Message
Brian Lighthart
New member
New member

Joined: 07 Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Eugene, OR USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Ever hopeful, and in the ongoing effort to keep this topic alive, how about some control over beam transparency in plan views, GS?
If for no other reason than because it would cut Framing Plan generation time at least in half, and framing plan edit time by considerably more.
Seems that users have been clear about the value of this, and that there has been enough time to have done something about it. What IS the problem?

_________________
Project Manager
Eric Hall Architects, Inc.
AC v4.5 - 20, Mac OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Deviz
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 126
Location: Brisbane

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Same here!
Using the beam as a complex profile (walls often interfere from other walls which are up against them) will require the created element to cover others below. Can't believe it's not a feature in it!!
C'mon Graphisoft!

_________________
Claudio D'Avanzo / Architect
AC9-20 Cloud Desktop Windows 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
andrew tingle
New member
New member

Joined: 27 Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 6:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Fingers crossed for 21!
_________________
Andrew Tingle
London, UK

ArchiCAD 21
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Paul King
Active member
Active member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 348
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 1:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Still no fix in ArchiCAD 20 - somebody in product development seems to be asleep at the wheel
_________________
PAUL KING
www.prime.net.nz

ArchiCAD 8-21
Artlantis Studio 6
Octane Render Plugin for ArchiCAD
Windoze 10
Intel Core i7 4770K
Nvidia Gforce GTX 980 (x2) + GTX780 (x2)
16 Gb DDR3
42" monitor + 32" monitor dual screen display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

I am afraid I do not see any Cover & Background Fills for Beams in ARCHICAD 21 either.
_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Paul King
Active member
Active member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 348
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 4:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Have they at least finally fixed the issue of beam ends always being vertical for inclined beams? A beam should be much like a complex profiled version of a roof
_________________
PAUL KING
www.prime.net.nz

ArchiCAD 8-21
Artlantis Studio 6
Octane Render Plugin for ArchiCAD
Windoze 10
Intel Core i7 4770K
Nvidia Gforce GTX 980 (x2) + GTX780 (x2)
16 Gb DDR3
42" monitor + 32" monitor dual screen display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

No, I don't see such a feature either.
Per my experience, GRAPHISOFT usually likes to take larger areas of the program and do a large amount of development on it at a time as opposed to adding some small enhancements - of course there are many examples for both cases. So maybe they will at some point in the future decide to develop the Beam Tool further and then solve all these various issues of it. (Just a guess on my part.)

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
methy
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 12 Jun 2009
Posts: 142
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:06 am    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Oh great I see there is already a wish for adding fills to beams, saves me having to create another thread, oh and I also see it has been here since archicad 14 and probably before then also as other wishes have probably dropped off the list, such a fundamental thing to be able to add a cover fill in plan to a beam in 2d yet seemilngly the people at graphisoft are too busy coming up with innovative new solutions to be bother fixing the bugs that have been around for years. while we are at it can we add more 'levels' for layers and elements to be able to lap over each other it seems to be limited to around 15 or 18 layers?
_________________
Jason Clark - O'Neil Architecture
Kaby Lake i7 7700k 4.2GHz, 16GB RAM
Win 10Pro 64bit, SSD ADATA 256GB SP900
2x 3TB WD Red HDD
ASUS turbo GTX 1060 6GB graphics
Archicad 20 (Cadimage+Select)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger   
Steve Jepson
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 2847
Location: Salem, Oregon

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:25 am    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

This particular request to have fills for beams is 10 years old.
Is this because it is easy for users to edit the GDL script for beams?

If so, someone please post the script.

_________________

ArchiCAD 21 4004 USA FULL
Windows 10 Pro 64x
Maxwell Render 4.1.1.1
Dell 7720 (VR) Nvidia P5000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:52 am    Post subject: Re: Cover & Background Fills for Beams Reply with quote

Steve Jepson wrote:
This particular request to have fills for beams is 10 years old.
Is this because it is easy for users to edit the GDL script for beams?

If so, someone please post the script.


As with any object it should be relatively easy to add a POLY_ for the fill if it doesn't already have the option.

This request however is for the beam tool (not objects) as all they show are the outer and reference lines.
No cover fills like slabs or roofs.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Wishes >>> Cover & Background Fills for Beams All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 6 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy