Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> Work Environment question....
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Steven Dumont
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 932
Location: Vermont, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:50 pm    Post subject: Work Environment question.... Reply with quote

Hello,

I have made my own profile/scheme in work environment, saved it as my own, etc etc. Recently I changed the shape/layout of a toolbar, from compact to extended. Every time I change something like that, it goes from my saved profile to a custom one. How do I update my existing profile after I've changed something like this?

Also, I changed the background color under view: grid options. Can the new background also be saved under my profile, or do I have to change it with every project? Also, if someone else opens my project I changed the background in, will it change for them as well?

_________________
Mac OS X 10.12.6
27" Retina 5K iMac
16 GB Ram
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB

AC21, latest hotfix, USA Full
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Work Environment question.... Reply with quote

Quote:
I have made my own profile/scheme in work environment, saved it as my own, etc etc. Recently I changed the shape/layout of a toolbar, from compact to extended. Every time I change something like that, it goes from my saved profile to a custom one. How do I update my existing profile after I've changed something like this?


The "Redefine" button on the right side makes the Profile you have selected use the current "custom" settings.

Quote:
Also, I changed the background color under view: grid options. Can the new background also be saved under my profile, or do I have to change it with every project? Also, if someone else opens my project I changed the background in, will it change for them as well?


The background color is part of the PLN file, not your work environment. Anyone who opens that PLN will see the same background color. You would have to change it for every PLN file (or do it in a template so every new file you create will have it).

No, it doesn't make any sense. I suspect it was done so you could have a background color that works with your pen sets, but it still seems like something that should be a user preference, not a project one.

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Steven Dumont
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 932
Location: Vermont, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Work Environment question.... Reply with quote

Thanks Tom, I have successfully updated my profile.

The background color setting makes me mad (or maybe everyone else in my office who will have to change it every time they open my projects) Mad

_________________
Mac OS X 10.12.6
27" Retina 5K iMac
16 GB Ram
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB

AC21, latest hotfix, USA Full
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
TomWaltz
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 4546
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Work Environment question.... Reply with quote

Steven Dumont wrote:
The background color setting makes me mad (or maybe everyone else in my office who will have to change it every time they open my projects) Mad


Nothing like putting your favorite color ahead of the rest of the team's productivity....

_________________
Tom Waltz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Steven Dumont
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 932
Location: Vermont, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Work Environment question.... Reply with quote

Ha Ha... Nope... Laughing
_________________
Mac OS X 10.12.6
27" Retina 5K iMac
16 GB Ram
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB

AC21, latest hotfix, USA Full
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> Work Environment question.... All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy