Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Documentation >>> Question about Auto-text (layout #) Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
kurbkilla
New member
New member

Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 14
Location: Ventura

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2009 7:56 pm    Post subject: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

I tried searching for this but didn't find anything. We have a big project (different layout subsets) And we use our own master for each page and a layout number and total page number (i.e. 2 of 5) on the master. So here is our question: Can you have the auto text reset for each new subset
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
kurbkilla
New member
New member

Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 14
Location: Ventura

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 4:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

We are still looking for help on this. Is the only thing around this to make an opaque text over the master on each sheet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 3970
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 5:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

Yes

You have to create Subsets per each section and edit their numbering system. If you have subsets
A01
A02

then the layouts can contain numbers like

A01.01
A01.02
A02.01
etc.

In your master layouts you would place the following Auto Texts

Layout ID
Layout Number
Subset ID
Subset Number

you can read pages 414 and 426 of The Reference Guide

If you want to reset the total number of pages per section XX of 5 for subset A and XX of 10 for subset B instead of being a total of all the layouts (XX of 15) it cannot be done automatically. One workaround is to have a Master per SubSet and type in the total for each section.

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 9:26 am    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

ejrolon wrote:
If you want to reset the total number of pages per section XX of 5 for subset A and XX of 10 for subset B instead of being a total of all the layouts (XX of 15) it cannot be done automatically. One workaround is to have a Master per SubSet and type in the total for each section.


There is a little trick to kind of automating it.

On the last layout page of your subset place a drawing (any one) and rename (custom name in properties) it to something like "Last page number".
Resize it so it has only a small frame and move it off to the side of the layout page.
Now right click on it and choose "Set as autotext reference" from the context menu.

Here's the trick.
You only need the one master layout for the subset if that suits your needs.
On that master add the autotext with a Category of "Reference for "Last page number" and choose "Layout ID ref."

If you drag the drawing to another page it will display that layout number - which is why it must be place on the last page.

So on the master you could have "Layout ID of Layout ID ref."

"Layout ID" will give you the current layout number of the layout the master is in (i.e. the page number) and "Layout ID ref." will give you the layout number the Last page number drawing is placed in (i.e. the last page number for that subset).
For example "4 of 6".

I hope this make some sense.
Not sure if I have explained it too well.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 3970
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

Can't believe that 5 years later I still need to use this trick.
_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
wilson83
New member
New member

Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Mackay

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 12:23 am    Post subject: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

With v18 and the addition of the revision manager, I have been using the 'status' and 'status code' in the tags and categories of the layout to identify the page number and total page number of any particular subset. You still have to manually apply the individual page number for each but you can select all of the layouts in a subset and manually apply the total page number (or status code) for all.

The above mentioned methods did not work for me as the outcome would result in far to many masters for the purpose we use it for. Thought I would throw this one into the mix as well. Be interested to hear of any short comings.

_________________
Michael Wilson

ArchiCAD 9 - 19 (4011 AUS Full)
Win7 | 64 bit | 8Gb RAM | Intel i7 3.40 Ghz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Int_Skylined
New member
New member

Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 25
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 5:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

ejrolon wrote:
Can't believe that 5 years later I still need to use this trick.


Yeah, right ) Good trick, but how many times we will use chocks like this in workflow? GS needs to add #SubLayouts in autotext.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
uisanata
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 19 Jun 2006
Posts: 168
Location: Luxembourg

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

Searched everywhere...

Is it possible to have an automatic text in the Layout ID?

Our office template includes file naming with the Revision ID of each layout among other stuff. We have to change each file name by hand, renaming the files exported by the Publisher.

Would be great to have an export option which names each layout based on automatic texts.

thanks

_________________
arch. e. atanasiu
AC20 6005 INT on W7Prox64
AC21 3005 INT on W7ProX64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1192
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

If you are talking about publishing PDF, yes, it is very easy to rename a whole publishing set following a naming convention using autotext.


rename_items.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  48.46 KB
 Viewed:  104 Time(s)

rename_items.jpg



_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
uisanata
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 19 Jun 2006
Posts: 168
Location: Luxembourg

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about Auto-text (layout #) Reply with quote

That's it! Thank you!
_________________
arch. e. atanasiu
AC20 6005 INT on W7Prox64
AC21 3005 INT on W7ProX64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Documentation >>> Question about Auto-text (layout #) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy