Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> Libraries and remote login Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

gkovacsp wrote:


I think (Smile) this will improve in the future.

Gabor


Thank you Gabor. This is great news. I look forward to the improvements.

_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Daniel Hruby
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Carlsbad, CA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

I am upgrading he office and have a question. Once BIM Server is up and running, with team members identified, but no projects created, do I use the BIM Library manager and upload a copy of the AC13 Library so there is a library to start with in the Server? WOuld I also want to load any other "office" libraries, texture libraries, etc.?

After uploading a library to the server, how is the updating of an office library managed? Do you need to re-upload the office library anytime a new part is created or modified?

Can you upload an alias to an office library so that it will be manageable in one location and pulled by the BIM server when necessary so that it is current for any project?

What about textures? We have some pretty large folders of textures that we pull from when needed. Would this be best left out of the BIM server and just loaded as embedded objects?

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Daniel Hruby, Architect
http://www.visualizeitbuilt.com
ArchiCAD 19 (4013)
Maxwell 3.2
Modo 902
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

Daniel Hruby wrote:
I am upgrading he office and have a question. Once BIM Server is up and running, with team members identified, but no projects created, do I use the BIM Library manager and upload a copy of the AC13 Library so there is a library to start with in the Server? WOuld I also want to load any other "office" libraries, texture libraries, etc.?


There is the File\Libraries & Objects\Manager BIM Server Libraries Dialog where you can upload and otherwise manage Libraries on BIM Servers.
There were some posts earlier in this thread I think about office libraries. Probably office libraries should also be uploaded to the BIM Server since everyone uses them.
Texture libraries may be similarly uploaded but it is at your discretion - might not be the best solution if the Texture libraries are hundreds of megabytes or even more. It can work in a LAN environment but the main consideration is whether there will be people working over the internet who will have to download those huge libraries at least once.

Quote:
After uploading a library to the server, how is the updating of an office library managed? Do you need to re-upload the office library anytime a new part is created or modified?


Karl answered a similar question in another thread:

http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=154623&highlight=#154623

Quote:
Can you upload an alias to an office library so that it will be manageable in one location and pulled by the BIM server when necessary so that it is current for any project?


I am not familiar with the Mac this much but I can imagine this is possible. Hopefully someone with a Mac and AC13 can answer this.

Quote:
What about textures? We have some pretty large folders of textures that we pull from when needed. Would this be best left out of the BIM server and just loaded as embedded objects?

Thanks in advance.


Karl's above post may be applied to this situation as well.
The embedded objects option can work too. I think it would also depend on how much of those textures are actually used in the Project, so you will have to work this out in real practice.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Steve Jepson
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 2954
Location: Salem, Oregon

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

Why load any libraries/ .lcf's in to the server project at all ?

Embed the parts as you go along.
What kind of problems would there be doing it this way ?
Do the embedded objects slow you down more than using BIM Libraries?

Using Favorites is a big reason why you need to load the libraries.

If you could apply the Favorites to the corresponding new parts you would not need to load the parts, just the Favorites.

The number of custom parts that need to be available for each project is probably so small that it would not bog down the server to load them.

It is the thousands of useless objects that will never be used that are slowing it down.

_________________

ArchiCAD 21 4022-1.2/21.0.4538.6 USA
Windows 10 Pro 64x
Dell 7720 64 GB 2400MHz ECC
Xeon E3-1535M v6, 4.20GHz
(2) 1TB M.2 PCIe Class 50 SSD's
17.3" UHD IPS (3840x2160)
Nvidia Quadro P5000 16GB GDDR5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

Probably nobody at this point has much experience in whether this is a possible way of doing it or not.
I wonder how many people would be fine with having not even the ArchiCAD library loaded when a project is started.

See, with a Teamwork Project, there are no linked libraries (local libraries). You use either a BIM Server Library or the Embedded Library. You cannot load a library to a Teamwork Project from your local machine. That is a limitation to be able to guarantee that everyone is using the same libraries.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
alemanda
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 768
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

Wokka wrote:
I don't like the way this is heading.....
I do a lot of remote work for my Architectural clients, usually just taking the whole file home, working on it and sending it back with Skype or FTP. I thought TW2 was going to be a great addon for me. I haven't done a lot of research on it yet so please forgive my ignorance..
Does this mean every time I want to log on to a particular file, I have to download the Archicad library (R12 with Cadimage 200MB), plus the actual file (up to 150 MB)? Is it a 'once off' download, and even after logging off, closing down, opening up again, do I need to download it all (the libraries) again?
I understand send/recieve is much much better and that's great.
Once again, excuse my ignorance, I'm trying to wrap my head around this stuff again with big deadlines looming...... Shocked

edit, bugger Smile After all that typing, rwalllis just beat me too these questions..........


I've read all the posts and reading also http://www.archicadwiki.com/Teamwork/WorkFromHome
I perfeclty understand the philosophy behind the new TW2.
Maybe can be useful.
Anyway I suppose it can be not so difficult to extend the concept of offline way of working and create a pack to work "far" from the server ... the program should make a sort of photograph of all the TW data concerning the work of that particular user who wants to work off line at home ... but I think it is needed a separate application or a special command to do the synchronization before starting working again on line ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Chazz
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 811
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

Our issue here is that when one of my users joins a shared TW2 project for the first time, and endures the long load time, the library loading report still shows that many objects are missing -- even though I know they are in the server libraries that show as loaded.

We have yet to successfully use TW2 to share a project. So to those who say this is "easy" my experience has been decidedly otherwise. Quite frankly, I find the whole approach to be Byzantine, inflexible and cumbersome. Imagine if Apple had designed this thing. Would we all be having these painful, frustration-ridden conversations?

_________________
Chazz
Nattering nabob of negativism
AC 15x, OSX 10.7x,
2012 MBP 17" 2.5Ghz + 8GB + 27" thunderbolt display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Rob
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 953
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

Quote:
Why load any libraries/ .lcf's in to the server project at all ?
Embed the parts as you go along.


the problem here is how to manage externally linked files to lib part itself such as macros and images. E.g. if you have shared macro by several lib parts how would you edit and synchronise it? Anyway the problem is really complex and I can assure you we went through this with GS several times.

Quote:
Our issue here is that when one of my users joins a shared TW2 project for the first time, and endures the long load time, the library loading report still shows that many objects are missing -- even though I know they are in the server libraries that show as loaded.


report it as a bug

Quote:
Imagine if Apple had designed this thing.


I quite admire your bold statement comparing GS to Apple but you need to be reasonable here.... BTW Apple is about to release second hotfix for SL and all of it within 2 months time after initial release so...

Quote:
Would we all be having these painful, frustration-ridden conversations?


you should read one of the Apple's forums about e.g. Mail4...

Quote:
We have yet to successfully use TW2 to share a project. So to those who say this is "easy" my experience has been decidedly otherwise.


ok, I give you this one. yes TW2 installation/maintenance has a pretty steep learning curve but considering the magnitude of this technology I do not think it is completely out of touch with a common user. Once you've set it up it is not so hard. And benefits are really tremendous.
Anyway this is a very first release of TW2 and I do believe that GS will be refining UI and user's experience in coming versions. It will be an ongoing process that's for sure.

_________________
Robert Kalocay

AC19 UKI
iMac 27"::i7Quad::20GB::OSX10.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Dennis Lee
Active member
Active member

Joined: 07 May 2006
Posts: 451

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 1:40 am    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

My employee was able to start using TW2.0 for work after 5 minutes of quick introduction. Besides the technical part of setting up the BIM server, the actual user's learning curve couldn't be any easier in my opinion.

Hats off to GS, great job and great release. Very Happy

_________________
ArchiCAD 21 USA

Intel Core i7-4790 32GB Windows 10 x64
Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti

Since ArchiCAD 9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Chazz
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 811
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:36 am    Post subject: Re: Libraries and remote login Reply with quote

In GS' defense, I will say that our network system --which has vexed me so-- is about as paranoid and lock-down as they come and I have been loathe to involve our IT lads ("What? You're running your own server up there on the second floor? We're going to have to have a look at what you Mac-using freaks are up to!"). But so far, I still have not managed to get the library stuff to cooperate.

As time allows I will continue to test.


As to comparisons to Apple, I maintain my stance that good design and user experience is not necessarily more expensive. Thus it should not be viewed as solely the purview of billion dollar companies. GS could do much better. If I'm the minority view on this point, well, I'm glad the rest you all are so happy. But for me, so far, AC13 is pretty much an expensive dud. I thought 12 was a thin upgrade but this is positively malnourished.

_________________
Chazz
Nattering nabob of negativism
AC 15x, OSX 10.7x,
2012 MBP 17" 2.5Ghz + 8GB + 27" thunderbolt display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> Libraries and remote login All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy