Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> Reserve ALL? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Daniel Hruby
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Carlsbad, CA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

We often have only one person working in a teamwork project. Is there a way to reserve everything within a Teamwork 2 project? Similar to leader with exclusive access? I only see a way to continue reserving things as you run into needing them, which is far less efficient than just signing in and reserving everything.
_________________
Daniel Hruby, Architect
http://www.visualizeitbuilt.com
ArchiCAD 19 (4013)
Maxwell 3.2
Modo 902
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
David Larrew
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

The idea of TW2 is just as you stated "reserve on demand".

I know this is not automated but... Turn "On" and "Unlock" all layers then go to the 3D window and select and reserve everything. You will then have all of the model, but you will still have to "reserve on demand" other working Windows (S/E, Details, etc.), project element options, etc.

_________________
David Larrew, AIA, GDLA, GSRC
Architectural Technology Specialist
a r c h i s o l u t i o n s

Dual 6-core Xeon / 24 GB / ATI HD 5870
WIN7 64 / OSX 10.6.8
AC 10-15 USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Daniel Hruby
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Carlsbad, CA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

Seems like an obvious oversight to force a single user to do this. When a project has only one person logged in, they ought to be able to RESERVE EVERYTHING until a new users joins, and then they can start requesting stuff.
_________________
Daniel Hruby, Architect
http://www.visualizeitbuilt.com
ArchiCAD 19 (4013)
Maxwell 3.2
Modo 902
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
David Larrew
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:00 am    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

I posted too soon...

Select everything in your "Project Map" in the Navigator, then right-click and "Reserve" and/or "Reserve Elements".

_________________
David Larrew, AIA, GDLA, GSRC
Architectural Technology Specialist
a r c h i s o l u t i o n s

Dual 6-core Xeon / 24 GB / ATI HD 5870
WIN7 64 / OSX 10.6.8
AC 10-15 USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
kevin b
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Posts: 342
Location: concord, ma

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

Doesn't seem to work if you select All in the Project Map as you get "Mixed Selection" and the Reserve button disappears and it doesn't let you right click. You can select all of one type of element in the navigator, so all plans for example, then all details, etc. Even then you then do not have any of the views reserved, or any layout stuff. It is very clumsy to have to select things on the fly when you know you will need them all. I agree there should be some way to get exclusive access when you need it, with a single selection, check box, button, something.
_________________
kevin burns
levi+wong design associates
concord, ma, usa

AC20 (4012), AC19-AC6
OSX 10.11.6 El Capitan
MacBook Pro ~ 2.7 Intel Core i7 ~ 16 GB ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ksymons19
Active member
Active member

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 201
Location: St Louis

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

Is it too much trouble to save it as a .pln file, work on it solo, then share it once again when it's time for multiple users?

Just asking - I have not yet experimented with TW2 yet since I am waiting for our new server to arrive and be set up before we get into BIMServer.

_________________
ArchiCAD 14 US
ArchiCAD 15 US on Windows XP 64-Bit
BIM Server on Windows 7 64- Bit; Windows Server 2008 R2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
kevin b
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Posts: 342
Location: concord, ma

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

It just becomes more steps than you should need to do. There's a Release All button, why not a Reserve All?
_________________
kevin burns
levi+wong design associates
concord, ma, usa

AC20 (4012), AC19-AC6
OSX 10.11.6 El Capitan
MacBook Pro ~ 2.7 Intel Core i7 ~ 16 GB ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Steven Dumont
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 932
Location: Vermont, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

kevin b wrote:
It just becomes more steps than you should need to do. There's a Release All button, why not a Reserve All?


Amen!

_________________
Mac OS X 10.12.6
27" Retina 5K iMac
16 GB Ram
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB

AC21, latest hotfix, USA Full
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

kevin b wrote:
why not a Reserve All?


I like that! Make it a poll. Very Happy

_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Reserve ALL? Reply with quote

Daniel Hruby wrote:
We often have only one person working in a teamwork project. Is there a way to reserve everything within a Teamwork 2 project? Similar to leader with exclusive access? I only see a way to continue reserving things as you run into needing them, which is far less efficient than just signing in and reserving everything.


Got intrigued with this problem and I think I managed to find a way to do this.
First of all, I hid all layers, you will see why.
I went to the Project Map in the Navigator and right-clicked the upper-most item of the hierarchy, which is the name of the Project, and click Reserve Elements from the context menu.
In the Reserve Elements Dialog, I kept in the Criteria panel as default:
Element Type: All Elements.
No other criteria.
Then clicked Reserve Elements.
It went through all Viewpoints of the Project and Reserved everything, including elements on hidden layers, section/elevation etc settings.
I think only certain things were not reserved, e.g. independent Worksheets/Details that do not have an associated Marker in any Viewpoint, plus Schedules/List settings.
These can be reserved relatively fast later.

The reason I hid all layers is because when I issue the Reserve Elements command it generated all those Viewpoints which will take very little time with all layers hidden.

It seems that this Reserve Elements Dialog does not care whether something is currently hidden or not, it reserves stuff on hidden layers.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> Reserve ALL? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy