Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!"
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Daniel Hruby
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Carlsbad, CA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:03 pm    Post subject: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

I am not 100% sure of the sequence of events before this error occurred, but to the best of my knowledge, it went like this:

Team member 1 tries to create a modified version of a layer combination.
Team member 2 has Layer combinations reserved.

It is possible to create a new layer combination without requiring TM1 to reserve layer combos. TM creates new layer combo and does some work with it.

Team member 2 retains reservation of layer combinations.

TM 1 sends and receives, gets error message saying that Layer Combinations must be reserved first. Probably so he can send in his newly created combo.

TM 2 releases layer combos to TM 1

TM1 Sends and receives. No error about layer combinations, but instead gets this message: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!"

TM2 Sends and Receives but does not get TM 1 work.

TM1 force quits ArchiCAD since it's not possible to get a send and receive done. The hope is maybe the project error will go away when TM1 is re-established to project. BUT Reopening ArchiCAD says the project has been detached from the BIM server and send and receive will no longer be possible.

There is no indication of any activity from TM1 on the BIM Server log during those last attempts to send and receive. No report of errors and no way to determine what kind of error might have occurred. TM1 basically loses his ability to send in his work via teamwork.

TM2 is working fine and still has ability to send and receive.

_________________
Daniel Hruby, Architect
http://www.visualizeitbuilt.com
ArchiCAD 19 (4013)
Maxwell 3.2
Modo 902


Last edited by Daniel Hruby on Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7821
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:54 am    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

Hi Daniel,

Sounds like a job for the tech support gurus... Sad

During beta, I remember someone getting that message - so informative in that it mentions an error code but does not give it...

When you say you checked the logs, there are actually many different log files. One of the things that the Help menu option to create a 'support package' does is to gather all of those log files and other data together into one (rather huge) file for tech support to analyze. They may ask you for this.

On the server side, did you look at the ServerMonitor.log file located by default under Applications > Graphisoft > BIM Server > TeamworkServer > Logs > ServerMonitor

Also (perhaps more informative in this case) TeamworkServer.log in a sibling folder:
Applications > Graphisoft > BIM Server > TeamworkServer > Logs > ServerManager

Will be interesting to hear how this all works out.

Karl

_________________
AC 21 US, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Daniel Hruby
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Carlsbad, CA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:02 am    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

Thanks Karl. I will go through them tomorrow and see if I see anything. One would hope that GS could log in remotely as a user and actually do some investigating. I'm sure teh problem would disappear if the project was turned into a PLN.

We are also experiencing some issues with the CADIMage Door and Window schedules saying "NO ACCESS" instead of reserve or request. Working on that with them too.

_________________
Daniel Hruby, Architect
http://www.visualizeitbuilt.com
ArchiCAD 19 (4013)
Maxwell 3.2
Modo 902
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Grass
New member
New member

Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Location: Pittsburgh

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

Yes - the exact sequence of events that you describe is what led us to receive the same error code. Unbelievable - we're working toward a deadline and this comes up. I see this post has been viewed several hundred times - so are there any answers yet? Evil or Very Mad
_________________
ArchiCAD Version 11 for XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
andrewzarb
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 132
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:55 am    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

I found this problem today, It may have come about when one teamwork member unlinked a hotlinked module while another member upgraded and updated it. I'm not sure but that seems to be what was going on.

I thought I would share my work through in case it helps someone.

User 1: gets "Server returns error code!" message when sending and receiving.

User 2: can work normally but does not receive User 1's updates

STEP 1 - User 1: "Release all unmodified elements" (Teamwork Palette)
STEP 2 - User 1: turn on all layers
STEP 3 - User 1: use "find and select" and select all items in own workspace.
STEP 4 - User 1: save selection as module
STEP 5 - User 1: repeat steps 2 and 3 on any stories in User 1's workspace
STEP 6 - User 1: Save as Solo Project.

STEP 7 - User 2: Send & Receive (this should release all of User 1's unmodified elements)
STEP 8 - User 2: turn on all layers
STEP 9 - User 2: use "find and select" and select all items in User 1's workspace.
STEP 10 - User 2: use the selections palette and make a selection of User 1's elements.
STEP 11 - User 2: repeat steps 9 and 10 on any stories in User 1's workspace
STEP 12 - User 2: import the modules of User 1's elements and place them in such a way that you position them correctly later. (eg. I usually move them 100m to the left)
STEP 13 - User 2: Force User 1 to leave project.
STEP 14 - User 2: use the selections palette to select previously selected items
STEP 15 - User 2: reserve selected items
STEP 16 - User 2: delete (or move) items
STEP 17 - User 2: move previously placed modules to correct position
STEP 18 - Everyone: have a drink

_________________
__V17__Mac__Win__
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
whatever
Active member
Active member

Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 397
Location: Middle east

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 8:40 am    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

nice method Andrew however I had this problem today and the thing is that the team member was working on annotation in elevations and sections, so we have to go through all the elevations , sections ...etc .. and the guy was having this since yesterday and didn't mention it ! ( duhhh ) ... so anyhow the only way was to re-share his file . and do the changes from other members ( lucky were few ) . but really it would be helpful if we can understand why it happened and how we can solve it without re-sharing .
_________________
AC16 int | Artlantis Studio 4.

C2D / 2.0 | Windows 7 | Windows XP

The ArchiCAD People - ArchiCAD community in Middle east

http://www.facebook.com/pages/atOne-Club-ArchiCAD-Community-Middle-East/235290300075?ref=hnav
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
alemanda
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 773
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:53 am    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

I got the same error just some hours ago.
How is it possible to determine which element stops the send/receive process?
It's a nightmare ...
Fortunately Team member having the problem could receive all the modifications from the other members and save the current team project in pln file avoiding to lose the done job ...
I hope with the AC14 the teamwork will become more robust ...

_________________
AC 19 and AC21 latest hotfix
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Double XEON 14 CORES (tot 28 physical cores)
32GB RAM - SSD 256GB - Nvidia Quadro K620
Display DELL 25'' 2560x1440
www.almadw.it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Catalin Cicioiu
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 03 Mar 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

Same error...

The workaround it's quite complicated, and it works on elements.
What if the user create new worksheets, layers, pen sets, layouts etc?
Those can't be copy/pasted...

_________________
Windows 10 x64
Microsoft Surface Pro 3 i5 8G

User since AC 6.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger    
ares997
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 229
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:22 am    Post subject: Re: Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" Reply with quote

Is this the same sort of error? Why does this happen?

"A serious error has occurred during the recieve, which has [expletive] irreparably damaged your local copy of the project." the last known good version of the project is the autosave: reload from autosave to continue working. your unsent changes cannot be recovered and they will be lost."

Why teamwork are you eating my work....



Doc2.pdf
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Doc2.pdf
 Filesize:  211.08 KB
 Downloaded:  291 Time(s)


_________________
Archicad 21 (4022), Windows 7, Intel Xenon CPU E5-2643 v4 3.40GHz (64 GB RAM) & MAC OSX 11.010, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7 (16 GB 1600 Mhz DDR3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> Teamwork Error - "Server returns error code!" All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy