Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 5:33 am    Post subject: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

When I create a layer setup for a firm or am using someone else's file I print the layers from the layer settings box. I Make a pdf which I can notate or print. I start by having the first layer combination have all layers so the first layer combination listed is a list of all the layers.

In the last iteration or so when I print this, the layers in the pdf or printed directly to my several printers changes the order of the layers within each layer combination. They are now listed in the [numeric] order that each layer was created. This is not very useful. Like elements such as wall.int, wall.ext, wall.site etc are now not grouped alphabetically by layer name as I would like and expect.

The screenshot shows the layer settings box on the right and the pdf printed version on the left.

I've checked both my machines, a dell XP3 and mactel mbp on leopard with same results.

Why isn't it printing to pdf or hard copy correctly, as it used to?
Any thoughts on how to fix this or a workaround if it's not just me?



Layer lists sort differently.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  152.7 KB
 Viewed:  985 Time(s)

Layer lists sort differently.jpg



_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Larrew
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:54 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

I don't recall if the Layers were ever listed alpha-numeric in the "Print" option, they were always listed by their index number - At least the last few versions that I have used this feature.
_________________
David Larrew, AIA, GDLA, GSRC
Architectural Technology Specialist
a r c h i s o l u t i o n s

Dual 6-core Xeon / 24 GB / ATI HD 5870
WIN7 64 / OSX 10.6.8
AC 10-15 USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:25 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

Erika:

I don't know if this is useful in your circumstance, but you can go to Attribute Manager, choose Layers, select Name so the layers are in alphabetical order, then Print To File. This will create a .txt file with the layers in alphabetical order, with their current status.

David



Layers-list.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  11.72 KB
 Viewed:  9616 Time(s)

Layers-list.gif



_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:35 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

David,
You have made me so Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Thanks

p.s. Even better, it's in editable text format!

Did you confirm the printing anomaly from the layers settings box?
Any clue as to why and if it is fixable?

_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 2:23 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

Erika Epstein wrote:
Did you confirm the printing anomaly from the layers settings box?
Any clue as to why and if it is fixable?


Erika:

In ArchiCAD 7 the list is in alphabetical order, in 13 it is not, I don't know where along the way this changed (the alphabetical makes more sense, as the user has very limited control over the index numbers). [In the illustration below, 7 is on the left, 13 is on the right.] I don't know how to change the list order, changing the listing in the Layer dialog box via the headers does not change the Print output. The .txt output from the Attribute Manager seems better, as this can be imported into a text editor or Excel for further formatting.

Glad to have helped.

David



Layers-list-7-vs-13.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  44.17 KB
 Viewed:  957 Time(s)

Layers-list-7-vs-13.gif



_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
lec1212
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 21 Feb 2009
Posts: 967
Location: Santa Cruz Ca

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:24 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

Funny, I just did this yesterday in 12.
Printing from the layers dialog is a mess.

Sending the layers to a .txt file from A.M. was still ugly
as then I had to sit and cut-past, cut-paste 60 times.
Since I only work for myself should not have to do this much
but sure would be nice if had option to print as they are
ordered in the layer dialog, as that is how I think of them.
I understand AC thinks of them with there unique number,
but me?
Can't think of why I would care about what order I created them in.

Come to think maybe I do want to print this out more often,
as I like to work out my ideas on many things on parchment with
ink from a quill before committing to the digital age:-)
lec

_________________
lec
http://jacobsheart.org/
Really just a Veteran AC Beginner.
Design-Builder
14-4204, 16-4010
i7 860, 16 gigs(1600),W7-64B,AMD FirePro 5900
HP 2710m, C.I. D/W Buildr, Coverings, Electrical.
Objective, Master Script's objects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:55 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

David,
I don't know where along the way they stopped printing out correctly from the layers box. If the print feature from the layers settings box is to be useful, it should be changed back to print as displayed in the names column.

Ideally we could import/export layers from spreadsheets.

_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3714
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:34 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

lec1212 wrote:
Sending the layers to a .txt file from A.M. was still ugly as then I had to sit and cut-past, cut-paste 60 times.


lec:

If you explain what you are trying to accomplish, someone may have a better idea that does not require the cut-&-paste 60 times. For example, I was able to easily import the .txt file into Excel, which makes changes and reformatting simple.

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
lec1212
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 21 Feb 2009
Posts: 967
Location: Santa Cruz Ca

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:49 pm    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

Thanks for the info David.
Excel is not something I've used much.
Sure I should learn it.
But, so many programs, so little time.
I think AC should be able to do this
simple task.
What percentage of users need layers in the order that they created them in?
lec

_________________
lec
http://jacobsheart.org/
Really just a Veteran AC Beginner.
Design-Builder
14-4204, 16-4010
i7 860, 16 gigs(1600),W7-64B,AMD FirePro 5900
HP 2710m, C.I. D/W Buildr, Coverings, Electrical.
Objective, Master Script's objects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Djordje
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 5422
Location: Dubai, UAE

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:03 am    Post subject: Re: wrong order printing layers from layer settings box Reply with quote

lec1212 wrote:
Excel is not something I've used much.


The free option would of course be OpenOffice Calc.

Yes, sorting by name is a logical way to do it.

_________________
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... currently 20 Win7Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> wrong order printing layers from layer settings box All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy