Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> TW2: Publisher set current users desktop?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Geoff Briggs
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 635
Location: Seattle, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:29 am    Post subject: TW2: Publisher set current users desktop? Reply with quote

Here's a TW2/BIM Server question: Is there a way to define a path in the Publisher / Public Sets Management such that saved files will end up on the current users hard drive? I'm trying to avoid users defining public sets that point back to their own desktop and result in errors when other users publish using the same setting. Im thinking of a wild card syntax that will equate to "Local Volume" or "Current User".


Picture 1.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  78.61 KB
 Viewed:  456 Time(s)

Picture 1.png



_________________
Regards,
Geoff Briggs
I & I Design

AC18US/ 2.8GHz i7 iMac (2009), 12GB RAM, Radeon HD5670 / OS 10.10.x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7806
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 6:13 am    Post subject: Re: TW2: Publisher set current users desktop? Reply with quote

Geoff Briggs wrote:
Here's a TW2/BIM Server question: Is there a way to define a path in the Publisher / Public Sets Management such that saved files will end up on the current users hard drive? I'm trying to avoid users defining public sets that point back to their own desktop and result in errors when other users publish using the same setting. Im thinking of a wild card syntax that will equate to "Local Volume" or "Current User".


This seems to be an oversight in the coding IMHO. Graphisoft is still using HFS paths, and should be using Posix paths which have more flexibility.

The HFS path names (disks and folders separated by colons) is deprecated, and GS should be using Posix paths ... which would then allow use of the tilde "~" to represent the current user's home folder.

Consider that Finder itself (Snow Leopard at least) expects Posix (Unix) paths for the Go > Go to Folder command, to navigate to a folder. Type just tilde in there for fun on any machine and you'll go to the current user's home folder. Just "/" shows all hard disks, but "/Library" for example is the Library folder of the boot disk - no need to put the disk name in the path unless you reference a disk other than the boot disk.

_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Rob
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 953
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 4:44 am    Post subject: Re: TW2: Publisher set current users desktop? Reply with quote

Quote:
and GS should be using Posix paths ...


wouldn't that be nice! Karl thanks for the insight...

_________________
Robert Kalocay

AC19 UKI
iMac 27"::i7Quad::20GB::OSX10.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7806
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:14 pm    Post subject: Re: TW2: Publisher set current users desktop? Reply with quote

Another thing about the HFS paths that GS uses on Mac machines is that if you change the name of your boot disk, all kinds of things stop working properly!! It is just stupid.

For example, the standard Apple delivered OS X name for the primary drive is "Macintosh HD". You'll see that name on all of your WE Special Folders, recent files (path info is in preference plist), etc. If you change the name to "Boot Disk" (or whatever), none of those paths work anymore. Or, if you have cloned your drive and boot from the clone, the name of which might be Boot Clone (eg), no paths work even though it should not matter. But the Posix path /Applications/something … is the Applications folder of the boot drive whatever it is called. ~/Documents is my Documents folder no matter what machine I'm on. Etc.

Windows has its own weirdnesses, but they do not interfere like the stupid HFS path names. Windows (stupidly) calls the boot drive C:\ and so it doesn't matter where you boot, the paths will work. You can give names to Windows disks, but the names are not part of paths. Changing drive letters is another story.

On Mac, you can visually see the HFS drive-encoded path in your WE > Company Standards Schemes > Special Folders panel. But, it is present all over the place, including Library Manger where you can read the path under the Properties panel and in all kinds of hidden preferences.

Graphisoft might be slowly trying to get rid of all of the old code that uses these kinds of paths. Maybe it is a Carbon (old) vs Cocoa (future) thing. I don't know. You can see from the attached screenshot of the 13 USA preferences (plist) that they use an HFS path as the first string in the list (with no key) and a Posix path for "Last Started Path". Various parts the BIM Server appear to use Posix paths already.

Cheers,
Karl

PS I should note that Artlantis 3, Piranesi 5.1, Photoshop CS3 and other app s that I checked use Posix paths, so it does appear that Graphisoft is behind the ball on this one.



AC 13 plist.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  127.71 KB
 Viewed:  466 Time(s)

AC 13 plist.png



_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Geoff Briggs
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 635
Location: Seattle, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:03 pm    Post subject: Re: TW2: Publisher set current users desktop? Reply with quote

Thanks Karl. Great sleuthing. Let's hope this is on GS's list as they bring ArchiMac up to date with 64bit, Cocoa, etc.
_________________
Regards,
Geoff Briggs
I & I Design

AC18US/ 2.8GHz i7 iMac (2009), 12GB RAM, Radeon HD5670 / OS 10.10.x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
KenMcN
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:46 pm    Post subject: Re: TW2: Publisher set current users desktop? Reply with quote

So would this be the reason why the path to DWG/DXF translators don't work when set up on one machine and another teammate tries to use it to export a DWG from a Teamwork file?
You get a message saying the selected translator cannot be found (or something similar), and when you open the dialogue box you can see the path is directed to the local hard disc of whoever set up the publisher set.
Kinda inconvenient… and wrong.
I guess it would work if it just took the path from the Applications folder, as in the 'good' example Karl gave above.

_________________
V19 (fully patched), Mac OS 10.11.4, iMac 2015
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> TW2: Publisher set current users desktop? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy