Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> BIM Server Lockout
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Matthew Johnson
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 02 Dec 2004
Posts: 87
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:31 am    Post subject: BIM Server Lockout Reply with quote

Interesting technical issue to share and discuss:

While working on a Teamwork file with the BIM server one of our machines crashed up to a dozen times causing it's local copies of the Teamwork data to corrupt. Other users could still access the project on the BIM server but the user who's machine crashed was not able to re-join the project and was presented with lots of messages telling them that the BIM server file was corrupt and would cause ArchiCAD to crash before promptly causing ArchiCAD to crash (top marks to the guy who wrote the code that predicts that one!)

The only workaround we managed to find was to delete the problematic user from the BIM server and give them a new user account. They were then able to join the Teamwork file from their old computer without any further problems. I guess then that this has something to do with the local copy of the Teamwork data becoming corrupted, and different user's "drafts" (to use an old Teamwork 1.0 term) are stored in different locations.

My questions then are this:

Has anyone else has this happen?

Is there another way to remove the corrupt draft and rebuild from the BIM server file?

Is there another work around?

The file we are working on was previously a V12 Teamwork file of over 280Mb that caused many headaches when sending and receiving (up to 25min for a single send/receive). We have since broken it up into a V13 Teamwork model file (I think about 140Mb) and a solo layout book file (around 120Mb). What size limits do other's find work with V13 Teamwork 2.0?

_________________
Matthew Johnson - P O W E . Architects
AC19 +MEP, Windows 7 64bit
Dell M3800 i7 w/ Nvidia Quadro K1100 4K dual
I'd rather be sailing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:35 pm    Post subject: Re: BIM Server Lockout Reply with quote

Here is my idea (this is not GS recommendation):
There is a TW Data folder on your computer that stores local copies.
Its location is found and set at the bottom of the Special Folder page of the Work Environment Dialog.
If you delete everything from the TW Data folder that should clear the local copies.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Teamwork / BIM Server >>> BIM Server Lockout All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy