Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIMx >>> Post your best VBE "renderings"
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Eric Batte
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Houston, TX (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:39 pm    Post subject: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

I'd like to see some work you guys have done in AC and "rendered" in VBE. Perhaps there will be some inspirational techniques demonstrated that would benefit everyone.

Thanks
Eric

_________________
Eric

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), 8 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.11.3, 27" Thunderbolt Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Eric Batte
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Houston, TX (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

How to get rid of the nuclear winter sky that comes with VBE:

1. Find a good 360 degree cube map of a sky online. A good source I found was cgtextures.com. There you can get a single image of a cube map which is six sides of the cube, but all in one long horizontal image.

2. Crop and save the individual sides of the cube map and replace the images that come with VBE. The file names tell VBE where each image goes so they all get stitched together correctly. Attached is a diagram of how I deciphered the faces of the VBE cube map.

The files are located in:
MAC: Applications:Graphisoft:Virtual Building Explorer 2:Data:Textures:Skybox

WIN: c:\Program Files\Graphisoft\virtual Building Explorer\Skybox

In windows they are .bmp files and on mac they are .tga files with names like XN.tga, YP.tga, etc.

It is important you save the original files before you alter them in case you screw up. You have been warned.

[NOTE: for some reason I had to flip each image of the cube map (flip vertical command) so they would stitch correctly. I'm not sure why because the original images that came with VBE are oriented with the sky up. Mine are sky down, but appear sky up in VBE...whatever.]

3. Save out your model from AC to VBE. Now it will use the new sky

4. If you find a few skies you will want to use, just make the cube map for VBE and save them somewhere on your computer and you can swap them out in VBE whenever you make a new VBE file.


Have fun

_________________
Eric

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), 8 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.11.3, 27" Thunderbolt Display


Last edited by Eric Batte on Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7770
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

Great tip, Eric. Thanks!
_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Eric Batte
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Houston, TX (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

Thanks Karl

For some reason the forum isn't allowing me to post images... still trying to post pics of the sky before and after.

_________________
Eric

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), 8 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.11.3, 27" Thunderbolt Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Eric Batte
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Houston, TX (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

Before
_________________
Eric

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), 8 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.11.3, 27" Thunderbolt Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Eric Batte
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Houston, TX (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

After
_________________
Eric

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), 8 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.11.3, 27" Thunderbolt Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7770
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:30 am    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

Fantastic result, Eric - changes the whole atmosphere (pun intended) of the image - especially with the added info in the distance at the ground line. Looks rendered ... and must make the VBE experience much nicer.
_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Djordje
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 5422
Location: Dubai, UAE

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:02 am    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

G-reat tip! Thanks Eric!
_________________
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... currently 20 Win7Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7770
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:27 am    Post subject: Re: Post your best VBE "renderings" Reply with quote

Well, I thought I'd be ever-so-clever and generate a sky cube from Artlantis, since it has parametric clouds for its sky. If it worked, then one camera set-up could generate any number of different skies by changing the cloud parameters.

I set up six cameras, each names with the names Eric gave, with 90 degree view angles. While the clouds/etc do stitch ... the illumination of each image varies so that the seams are quite noticeable. I did have radiosity enabled, but Artlantis does auto-exposure which would prevent getting matching images anyway I think.

Attached is a VBE screenshot after having substituted the images via Eric's instructions - looking at a cube corner ... with the lines of the cube clearly visible.

So, there is more to making these sky maps than just panning around...

Cheers,
Karl

_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIMx >>> Post your best VBE "renderings" All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy