Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
tsturm
Active member
Active member

Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Beverly, MA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:29 pm    Post subject: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

Dear Group

I am trying to import an AutoCAD 2000 DWG or DXF (I was made both) which contains objects which, according to the author, are made in AutoCAD using solids. I have tried numerous ways to import the information to get these objects. But nothing works. I get some of the information. Such as walls and lines as objects.

Can AC 8.003 import this type of information from AutoCAD?

What do I need to tell the author to do to his file for me to get the objects as library parts. Binary objects would be fine.

_________________
Terrence Sturm, Architect -- Seeking Freelance work
_______________
Mac OSX 10.6.9 Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53hz
AC 10 build 1188
AC 11 build 1210
AC 13
AC 14 build 4044
AC 15 build 3267
AC 16
AC 17 build 5019
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Larrew
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 7:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

ArchiCAD, as well as many other 3D oriented applications, cannot read AutoCAD solids.

If you have access to Autodesk VIZ or MAX (3D Studio) you could try a double file translation, converting the solids into usable faces for import into AC. Or you will need to have the author break the solids down into faces and edges in order to import the 3D information.

No real easy/clean way of doing it. Sorry.

_________________
David Larrew, AIA, GDLA, GSRC
Architectural Technology Specialist
a r c h i s o l u t i o n s

Dual 6-core Xeon / 24 GB / ATI HD 5870
WIN7 64 / OSX 10.6.8
AC 10-15 USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Ben Odonnell
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 649
Location: Malmö Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 9:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

Quote:
ArchiCAD, as well as many other 3D oriented applications, cannot read AutoCAD solids...


You can do it in ArchiCAD 8.1. It allows you to convert solids into meshes..

_________________
Ben O'Donnell
Architect and CTO at BIMobject®
Get your BIM objects from bimobject.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
David Larrew
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 10:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

I must disagree. We are talking about AutoCAD "Solids" not ArchiCAD "Solid Element Operators". AFAIK - AutoCAD "Solids" are not transferable into ArchiCAD.

I quote from the ArchiCAD Help File:
"ACIS, REGION, 3D SOLID
The basic implementation of the DXF add-on does not support them."

I just double-checked by creating some basic Solids (Cube, Sphere, Cylinder) in AutoCAD and tried importing the DWG into ArchiCAD as an Object. "No 3D elements found."

If you have been able to import AutoCAD Solids into ArchiCAD please explain how.

_________________
David Larrew, AIA, GDLA, GSRC
Architectural Technology Specialist
a r c h i s o l u t i o n s

Dual 6-core Xeon / 24 GB / ATI HD 5870
WIN7 64 / OSX 10.6.8
AC 10-15 USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Thomas Holm
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 2827
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 12:38 am    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

There's a workaround for importing solids described in the Archiguide:

http://www.graphisoft.com/support/archicad/archiguide/importsolids.html

THomas

_________________
AC4.1-AC18 v6000SWE-OSX10.9.5-MBP11,3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
David Larrew
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 2:52 am    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

That was what I was referring to in my earlier post...

Thanks for the link, Thomas.

And as I mentioned earlier, the work-around is not very easy for most AutoCAD drones, I mean users Wink .

_________________
David Larrew, AIA, GDLA, GSRC
Architectural Technology Specialist
a r c h i s o l u t i o n s

Dual 6-core Xeon / 24 GB / ATI HD 5870
WIN7 64 / OSX 10.6.8
AC 10-15 USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
tsturm
Active member
Active member

Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Beverly, MA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 3:28 am    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

Thank you gentlemen.

As I thought, I would need AutoCAD to get the job done or have the jockey at the other end of the line make some changes.

The best I can see. I will have to scale the printed drawings and make my own version of the object.

Sure would like those AutoCAD people get something which does not mess the rest of us up.

Does modeling in solids in AutoCAD that much easier than in other ways?

_________________
Terrence Sturm, Architect -- Seeking Freelance work
_______________
Mac OSX 10.6.9 Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53hz
AC 10 build 1188
AC 11 build 1210
AC 13
AC 14 build 4044
AC 15 build 3267
AC 16
AC 17 build 5019
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
David Larrew
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 4:12 am    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

If you've ever modelled in AutoCAD before the introduction of Solids you'd understand. Wink

ArchiCAD STILL runs circles around the latest release of vanilla AutoCAD for architectural modelling. Very Happy

_________________
David Larrew, AIA, GDLA, GSRC
Architectural Technology Specialist
a r c h i s o l u t i o n s

Dual 6-core Xeon / 24 GB / ATI HD 5870
WIN7 64 / OSX 10.6.8
AC 10-15 USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Ben Odonnell
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 649
Location: Malmö Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 8:44 am    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

David Larrew wrote:
I must disagree. We are talking about AutoCAD "Solids" not ArchiCAD "Solid Element Operators". AFAIK - AutoCAD "Solids" are not transferable into ArchiCAD.

I quote from the ArchiCAD Help File:
"ACIS, REGION, 3D SOLID
The basic implementation of the DXF add-on does not support them."

I just double-checked by creating some basic Solids (Cube, Sphere, Cylinder) in AutoCAD and tried importing the DWG into ArchiCAD as an Object. "No 3D elements found."

If you have been able to import AutoCAD Solids into ArchiCAD please explain how.


You are right Embarassed I had it confused with Polyface mesh. Please disregard what I wrote ealier as it does not work!!

The tutorial that Thomas posted is to date the only work around

_________________
Ben O'Donnell
Architect and CTO at BIMobject®
Get your BIM objects from bimobject.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Djordje
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 5422
Location: Dubai, UAE

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 10:50 am    Post subject: Re: Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 Reply with quote

Ben Odonnell wrote:
The tutorial that Thomas posted is to date the only work around


Not a work around. That is a method.

If you missed the announcement in Tips&Tricks - the ArchiGuide is revamped as of today, take a look!

http://www.graphisoft.com/support/archicad/archiguide/

_________________
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... currently 20 Win7Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Importing Autocad Solids into AC 8.0r3 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy