Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> Script language for Archicad Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
65%
 65%  [ 28 ]
Important (4)
23%
 23%  [ 10 ]
Average (3)
9%
 9%  [ 4 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
2%
 2%  [ 1 ]
Average: 4.49 points
Total Votes : 43

Author Message
Olivier Gras
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 03 Mar 2008
Posts: 134
Location: Malmö

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:10 am    Post subject: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Like any other professionnal package AC should offer some possibilities of scripting. Outside of GDL which is only active inside objects.
It would allow customized workflows for specific ways of working.
Just some examples out of millions of simple things that could be done:
-Export automatically to .obj for each different layer combinations.
-Put all selected slabs at a specific height at once
-Drop objects and constructive elements on a mesh.
-Place a GDL object at every selected drawing primitive (for example to place trees on the circles of an imported dwg plan)
-Apply a material to all selected objects ( slabs wall etc..) at once
-Apply algorithmically defined transformations to selected elements.
-Build logic relations between elements
...
...
Such plugins should we be able to do without going through building c++ plugins.
Please Graphisoft let us know if that is something you think about or if it is out of question.

Let's see how many we are that miss that feature

_________________
"Il faut bien supporter quelques chenilles pour voir des papillons"
A. de St Exupery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
peter_h
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Apr 2008
Posts: 190
Location: Wellington, New Zealand.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 3:36 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

As scripter myself, but without any experience of C++ - or the inclination to invest the time in learning it just for ArchiCAD plugins - I fully support GS adding a more accessible scripting ability to AC.

I'm a proponent of .NET as the best option - it's language-neutral (you can use C#,Basic,Python,Javascript,etc) and can be cross-platform (if the open source Mono implementation is used (though currently only supports C#... I think...? ).

Rhino 3D has .Net scripting, as does Unity3D.

Check out the scripted Rhino tools developed for architects, at:
http://www.rhino3d.com/resources/#tabs-4
"The .NET SDK is a wrapper around the C++ SDK that allows plug-in development with any .NET language including VB.NET and C#. Most of the C++ SDK functionality is available in the .NET SDK."
http://wiki.mcneel.com/developer/dotnetplugins

As an example of the innovation this could bring to AC, checkout Grasshopper for Rhino, as an example of a something mind-blowing that is written in .NET for Rhino.

_________________
Pete,
Wellington, New Zealand.
Win7pro x64, AC 17 Student.
Intel Xenon E31235 Quad 3.2GHz, 6GB, 4 x multi-monitor setup, 3dconnexion SpaceExplorer.


Last edited by peter_h on Wed Oct 23, 2013 6:18 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
sityu
New member
New member

Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Location: Hungary - Mórahalom

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:52 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

peter_h wrote:
I'm a proponent of .NET as the best option - it's language-neutral (you can use C#,Basic,Python,Javascript,etc) and can be cross-platform (if the open source Mono implementation is used ).

Yessss! This kind of language neutral solution is needed!
This would be more than essential; and more essential than it seems at the first glance.

_________________
Talmácsi, István, architect (AC user since 1997, ac4.5 - now: ac18)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) 
Ralph Wessel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 1492
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:16 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

peter_h wrote:
I'm a proponent of .NET as the best option - it's language-neutral (you can use C#,Basic,Python,Javascript,etc) and can be cross-platform (if the open source Mono implementation is used ).

You should never rely on proprietary frameworks if you intend to develop cross-platform solutions. If .NET was entirely open-source, it might be an option. Developers have repeatedly had to learn the hard way that Microsoft develops everything to be Windows-centric. There's nothing wrong with that, of course - why should they support a competitor? And if you intend to develop for Windows only, that's perfect.

But never rely on Microsoft to provide an equal experience on any platform other than Windows, and that includes technologies touted as cross-platform like SilverLight. It will not last. At some stage, platforms other than Windows will either be dropped, become subtly incompatible, or be excluded from other Windows-only features. Mono will neither keep pace with MS releases, nor plug the gaps where patented technologies are coupled to .NET.

If Graphisoft implement scripting within ArchiCAD, I would prefer that it was based on an open, published standard.

_________________
Ralph Wessel
Cadimage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1456
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:36 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Ralph Wessel wrote:
peter_h wrote:
I'm a proponent of .NET as the best option - it's language-neutral (you can use C#,Basic,Python,Javascript,etc) and can be cross-platform (if the open source Mono implementation is used ).

You should never rely on proprietary frameworks if you intend to develop cross-platform solutions. If .NET was entirely open-source, it might be an option. Developers have repeatedly had to learn the hard way that Microsoft develops everything to be Windows-centric. There's nothing wrong with that, of course - why should they support a competitor? And if you intend to develop for Windows only, that's perfect.

But never rely on Microsoft to provide an equal experience on any platform other than Windows, and that includes technologies touted as cross-platform like SilverLight. It will not last. At some stage, platforms other than Windows will either be dropped, become subtly incompatible, or be excluded from other Windows-only features. Mono will neither keep pace with MS releases, nor plug the gaps where patented technologies are coupled to .NET.

If Graphisoft implement scripting within ArchiCAD, I would prefer that it was based on an open, published standard.


I agree on a open standard. Python is very successful as a scripting language for many 3D software (e.g. Softimage, Rhino, Blender). I hope they add scripting but not if it is a new proprietary language.

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
TMA_80
Active member
Active member

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 495
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:39 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

This wish is extremely important. it may bring a lot of "small useful tools" without the being prisonier of the add-on update cycle.

A scripting environment ŕ la Sketchup would be great.

_________________
AC12_20 |Win10_64bit|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
m_ziolo_86
New member
New member

Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

It would be great to change GDL inside objects to Python. GDL is hard to learn and there is no use of it outside of Archicad. That ceases me from learning it to improve my workflow.
_________________
Archicad 16, Win 8.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
andras
New member
New member

Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 40
Location: internet

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:48 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

I agree, All of the major 3D apps allows scripting or plugin integration via .net, nowadays python. Rhino is fantastic, and also provides free support on forum, Sketchup has also tones of plugins. Revit? Revit also, but I do not care with that.
_________________
Intel i7, Win 7 64bit, 4-8Gb Ram,
Since Archicad 5.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger   
peter_h
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Apr 2008
Posts: 190
Location: Wellington, New Zealand.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:53 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Mono (http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page) is cross-platform, open source, .NET development framework.

C# was developed by Microsoft within its .NET initiative and later approved as a standard by Ecma (ECMA-334) and ISO (ISO/IEC 23270:2006).

Both Revit and Rhino use .NET. This would make it more likely and easier to port already-existing scripts to ArchiCAD; and make more commercial plugins more feasible.

_________________
Pete,
Wellington, New Zealand.
Win7pro x64, AC 17 Student.
Intel Xenon E31235 Quad 3.2GHz, 6GB, 4 x multi-monitor setup, 3dconnexion SpaceExplorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Please consider that a scripting language developed for ArchiCAD would have to support both Windows and Mac.
_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> Script language for Archicad All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy