Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> Script language for Archicad Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
65%
 65%  [ 28 ]
Important (4)
23%
 23%  [ 10 ]
Average (3)
9%
 9%  [ 4 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
2%
 2%  [ 1 ]
Average: 4.49 points
Total Votes : 43

Author Message
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1453
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Take a look at Unity > mono framework with C#, Javascript and boo and running on iOS, Android, Mac, Windows, Linux, Windows Phone, Playstation, XBox, Wii, Webplayer, …

Or Python running on almost any platform and integrated into many CAD and 3D applications (Rhino, Maya, Cinema4D)

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
peter_h
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Apr 2008
Posts: 190
Location: Wellington, New Zealand.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:51 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Or maybe, if not an integrated scripting language, then at the very least, an API implemented using HTTP methods (e.g., GET, PUT, POST, or DELETE), i.e. a RESTful web service.
Then we could program and create GUIs in whatever language we want that can talk TCP/IP. Now if only we could find a language that does that... Rolling Eyes

_________________
Pete,
Wellington, New Zealand.
Win7pro x64, AC 17 Student.
Intel Xenon E31235 Quad 3.2GHz, 6GB, 4 x multi-monitor setup, 3dconnexion SpaceExplorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
peter_h
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Apr 2008
Posts: 190
Location: Wellington, New Zealand.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 3:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Also of interest: www.openbim.org/

"Written with open standards in mind, xBIM (eXtensible Building Information Modelling) is a free, open-source, software development toolkit that allows developers to create bespoke BIM middleware for IFC-based applications.

xBIM is a .NET toolkit, so developers can build everything from simple command-line applications, to extensions for Windows applications and Web services. An example of this would be: an “Add-In” for commercial BIM tools such as Autodesk Revit.
"

_________________
Pete,
Wellington, New Zealand.
Win7pro x64, AC 17 Student.
Intel Xenon E31235 Quad 3.2GHz, 6GB, 4 x multi-monitor setup, 3dconnexion SpaceExplorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
galfarragem
Guest
Guest

Joined: 16 May 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 3:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

I would go for Ruby (once Autodesk killed AutoLisp).
Can be the missing link between BIM packages. It's simple, OO is perfectly designed and open-source. Could boost archicad and BIM scripting community.

Sketchup -> Ruby API
Revit 2014+ -> Ruby API
Archicad 19+ -> Ruby API
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
TMA_80
Active member
Active member

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 495
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 5:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

We could imagine that a feature like the new multi-edit would long have been acheived from some scripters...
_________________
AC12_20 |Win10_64bit|


Last edited by TMA_80 on Sat May 17, 2014 10:17 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7770
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 6:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

TMA_80 wrote:
We could imagine that feature like the new multi-edit would long have been acheived from some scripter...


Interesting. I cannot imagine how this would be done without involving an extremely heavy development effort to product a scripting function... and such a script. To achieve multi-edit, as it operates in 18 in the 3D window, would be a complex API add-on... and I don't see any script language making that any easier.

Sure, it would be nice to have a built-in, approachable scripting approach vs having to code in C/C++ in the API... but I really don't see the high cost of creating such a scripting environment to pay off for GS in terms of sales... which is the bottom line. Wink

_________________
AC 20 US, Artlantis 5, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
TMA_80
Active member
Active member

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 495
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Hi Karl,
I'm not a programmer,so I could not answer... However, I could imagine what could be done as it is in the Sketchup World.

_________________
AC12_20 |Win10_64bit|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
galfarragem
Guest
Guest

Joined: 16 May 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 9:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

A scripting language would not boost sales but would for sure add value to archicad. This added value could make a diference in the long term. Sketchup, for exemple, would be much less powerful without ruby and probably some people that use it professionally would not use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
peter_h
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Apr 2008
Posts: 190
Location: Wellington, New Zealand.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:34 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

I think it's very short-sighted to question the benefits of adding scripting functionality to a modelling program. Here are some of the kinds of tools that get created when you have your platform open to enhancement via a scripting (C# in the case of Rhino & Grasshopper addons):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=4n8U-PGmhCk
http://vimeo.com/28227628
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEjwAyC2l_0#t=179

Here's something a little more esoteric (Python):
http://empython.blogspot.co.uk/

These are all pretty fancy, but as a simple, more practical example where ArchiCAD workflow could be improved, take a look at the "Selections" palette. Do you use it? Probably not, because it's a half-baked idea. Good in principle, but no doubt would have been replaced with something very useable, if we had access to a scripting system.

_________________
Pete,
Wellington, New Zealand.
Win7pro x64, AC 17 Student.
Intel Xenon E31235 Quad 3.2GHz, 6GB, 4 x multi-monitor setup, 3dconnexion SpaceExplorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1453
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:58 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Scripts, like GDL, are less dependent from the API version. Remember how many great and useful ArchiCAD addons have been abandoned each time a new ArchiCAD was released? I'm afraid of starting to rely on addons, as they deprecate each year and no guarantee of them being recompiled for a new release.

Scripting is for power users, to extend the workflow. It has done miracles to get AutoCAD and now Revit integrated into workflows.

They don't even have to,reinvent a language, as GDL might fit the bill. GDL as it stands is limited to a single object in isolation. With scripting you can automate processes, generate objects, integrate into workflows (eg steering Object generation from an Excel sheet), link to online sources or databases.

Currently the DevKit is what allows such extensions but is really hard to get into.

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> Script language for Archicad All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy