Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> Script language for Archicad Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
65%
 65%  [ 28 ]
Important (4)
23%
 23%  [ 10 ]
Average (3)
9%
 9%  [ 4 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
2%
 2%  [ 1 ]
Average: 4.49 points
Total Votes : 43

Author Message
Hmooslechner
Active member
Active member

Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 229
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Why not opening GDL for full scripting normal Archcad-Commands similar to Autocads former Auto-Lisp?

Then it would be the same if Archicad works on Win or Mac.

GDL as language is well known and exits within Archicad.

Just let GDL get access to the Data of other objects - for Example let GDL follow the Polygones of slabs or make it possible to create native walls or dimensioning with GDL - commands.

Till now- You create library objects with GDL. Why not Walls - Slabs, Roofs direct? Normal to edit after creating them?

_________________
AC5.5-AC18EduGer, Win8
http://hmooslechner.cwahi.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Kristian G
Active member
Active member

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 214
Location: Perth Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 3:42 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Hmooselechner

Have you had a look at accessories?
Objects can be tied directly to roof, slabs and walls the only problem
is Graphisoft don't maintain them directly themselves.
We do projects homes here and the accessories save us hours on each project.
Our group sold 1400+ homes in the last 12 months so that equates to HUGE
time savings for us and it keeps elements associated when changes occur to
projects!

_________________
| KRISTIAN GOODSELL |
| SUMMIT HOMES GROUP |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Olivier Gras
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 03 Mar 2008
Posts: 133
Location: Malmö

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:26 am    Post subject: Re: Script language for Archicad Reply with quote

Hi,
yes accessories are great and i'm making big use of it.
But it could be taken a lot further.
For example if your GDL accessory create beams and floors elements on your slab, or walls on the sides, it would be great to be able to export them as individual objects. Or at least be able to describe them as IFC entities for communication with other programs.
OK now when I write this I realize that it should be possible to generate IFC files directly from GDL objects.

_________________
"Il faut bien supporter quelques chenilles pour voir des papillons"
A. de St Exupery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> Script language for Archicad All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy