Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> How to make this curtain wall? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Davor Raspopovic
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 01 Sep 2009
Posts: 64
Location: Podgorica

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:34 am    Post subject: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

Hi everybody, I want to ask what is the easiest way to make curtain wall like one on the picture below. The problem for me is because the wall is inclined for about 10 degrees (but thats not matter how much degrees, it is important that it is inclined) and i want divisions also inclined in plane of that wall. I scanned my sketch so i hope that you will understand my question.
PS. I must admit that i never used curtain wall tool before, but i used wall tool with columns and beams.



scan0003.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  107.49 KB
 Viewed:  1314 Time(s)

scan0003.jpg



_________________
iMac 27
OS X El Capitan
3,4 GHz Intel Core i5, 8Gb 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M 2048 MB
AC19
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:28 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

You should create the Curtain Wall in Section using the Boundary method.
You draw the boundary in Section and that's it.
Just make sure that you model the full surface as if it was standing upright. You will do the 10 percent slant later.



SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-01.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  33.04 KB
 Viewed:  1307 Time(s)

SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-01.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:35 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

In 3D you can edit the Curtain Wall and you can set the primary and secondary grid of the Curtain Wall to be at an angle other than 90 degrees.
Similarly you can move the whole grid to position it to the exact desired location.

Notice that in the little palette in the upper left corner of the 3D Window I switched on Scheme and turned off Frame and Panel to be able to easier manipulate the Scheme of the Curtain Wall.



SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-02.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  37.86 KB
 Viewed:  1312 Time(s)

SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-02.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:40 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

Now that the Primary Grid is at the correct orientation, go to the Section and measure the needed angle between the Primary and Secondary Grid.

Here I said the Secondary Grid should be parallel to the upper edge of the Curtain Wall.



SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-03.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  41.1 KB
 Viewed:  1344 Time(s)

SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-03.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:42 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

Now I go back to editing the Curtain Wall in 3D.
I use the Move Grid command to move a grid intersection point to the upper left corner of the boundary.



SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-04.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.48 KB
 Viewed:  1308 Time(s)

SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-04.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:45 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

No I go to the System Settings and set the exact distances between the Primary and Secondary Frame.


SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-05.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  44.06 KB
 Viewed:  1306 Time(s)

SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-05.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:49 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

Finally, I go to the 3D Window, select the Curtain Wall and use the Design\Curtain Wall\Curtain Wall Free Rotate command to rotate it 10 degrees.
First you have to define the Rotation axis with 2 clicks, then the rotation angle with another 2 clicks.



SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-06.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  84.01 KB
 Viewed:  1518 Time(s)

SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-06.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:56 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

On your sketch it looks like your Grids are not even parallel, like none of your Grid Lines are parallel.
In such a case you would have to draw the Frames one by one.



SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-08.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  41.96 KB
 Viewed:  1327 Time(s)

SlantedCurtainWall-NonOrthogonalGrid-08.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Davor Raspopovic
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 01 Sep 2009
Posts: 64
Location: Podgorica

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:06 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

Thanks Laszlo, really good tutorial. I understood the whole procedure, just i have the problem at the start. I don't know how to change default scheme, and put divisions the way i want, not to change and delete the panels which came with default scheme.
_________________
iMac 27
OS X El Capitan
3,4 GHz Intel Core i5, 8Gb 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M 2048 MB
AC19
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7911
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:18 pm    Post subject: Re: How to make this curtain wall? Reply with quote

Use the Frame Tool when editing the Curtain Wall in 3D.
Click anywhere on the boundary polygon of the Curtain Wall and it will start drawing a new Frame.
Click again anywhere on the boundary polygon of the Curtain Wall and a new Frame will be drawn between the two given points.
This way you can draw as many new Frames as needed.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> How to make this curtain wall? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy